Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.758625
Write A Review
March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

I have had the pleasure of serving with the south suburban PADS for over 15 years. The comraderie among the volunteers has enriched my life with friendships and the joy of serving together. I am always amazed at the diversity among the guests and it has completely changed the way I view the homeless population.There are of course the stereotypical individuals who wrestle with alcoholism, drugs, and mental illness, but their humanity and value surpass their condition. I have had some deep, thought provoking conversations with the guys over the years and I look forward to the sundays that I serve. The"regulars" are considerate and protective of the volunteers and they are heartfelt in expressing their gratitude. PADS has allowed me to feel blessed, even as I am a blessing to others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

I have volunteered for PADS but this is the first year I am acting as the site manager for our parish's PADS program .It is a very rewarding experience to assist the homeless with food, shelter and fellowship. It is very edifying to see so many from the parish working together to make it all happen each week. I always invite those providing the evening meal to stay and enjoy a meal with me and our guests. Our pastor often joins us as we pray together and enjoy each other's company. It is a wonderful way to practice the corporal works of mercy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

As a volunteer with PADS, 4th winter season now, I find that the services offered continue to grow. Insuring that our guests have a shelter nightly is a goal; as it is hard enough to make it to a shelter, and knowing where you will lay your head is one less chore. Having multiple sites in a certain radius is a great idea! The Sock-it-to-Me program, insuring that guests have clean, 'dry' socks in the winter really touched my heart, as we take these things for granted when we open a drawer filled with socks! Toiletry bags, bag lunches, TVs at the site, showers, the PAD itself, are all creature comforts needed to help one stay hopeful that tomorrow is a new day and change comes with hope. I have enjoyed my volunteer tenure with PADS, and this year I recruited 20+ new volunteers to form add'l teams - we plan to stay as long as we're needed. - M. White

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

I'm amazed at how committed and reliable the people who volunteer for South Suburban PADS are month after month. Church groups help but the PADS staff makes it all happen and the homeless people who count on PADS for a place to sleep in the winter really appreciate these services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

I am a board member and a volunteer. It is the joy of my life to see the men and women who would otherwise be without housing, without food and without clothing come into our shelters. We have also bought into the notion that to end homelessness we must put people in a home. to that end we will shortly provide housing for 77 families. I have never been around such dedicated and committed staff, board and volunteers. There is something about being a part of good works.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

As a social worker, relative of a person in need of shelter and volunteer I have had three experiences with South Suburban PADS. In past years I have referred many clients in my professional work there, at one point in time sent one of my own relatives there, and over the past few years have volunteered at a site my church hosts. Having gotten to know several of the individuals we host at our site has enriched my own life, and that of my adult children (who also volunteer). Two of my adult children lost jobs during this down turn in our economy and their involvement in SS PADS not only gave helped diminish their "pity, poor me attitudes" but gave them the chances to hear the stories of others who have fallen on difficult times. Also, South Suburban PADS has been an exemplary organization in meeting the many needs of those who are challenged by mental illness. Having a family member with mental illness has made me "ultra-aware" of services that are available and SS PADS does a really good job with these individuals, coming directly to a site to meet with them and assisting in overseeing other services for them. The counselors have been professional, compassionate individuals!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

I feel great giving back to my community. As a cancer survivor, I am truly grateful to God for sparing my life, so whatever I can do to help someone else, I am going to do just that. As a volunteer of PADS, I feel that I am making a difference in a life, just by listening to our homeless guest and when I bring candy each week, their faces light up.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

We have had many encounters with South Suburban PADS over many years. We have prepared and served meals, volunteered in the shelters, volunteered in the office, donated countless socks, tee shirts, sheet sets, blankets, toiletry items, games and school supplies. Every experience has been a far greater gift to us than it was to the clients we helped. The staff is friendly and professional, I suppose the best review is that we continue to support SS PADS in any way we can. It is always a surprise to see the number of young adults who have found themselves in this position. Many are educated but lack family support to allow them to get on their feet after graduation, especially with school loans. Many work, but cannot afford to live on their own.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

South Suburban PADS is an inter-faith program providing shelter and supportive services to homeless persons. As a volunteer I feel valued and my time is used wisely and has an impact. Most importantly I see the program has significant impact on many of the homeless persons lives. Policies and procedures are effectivly communicated to the volunteers & guests. The program and sites are run professionally and organized. Guests are treated with dignity and commpassion within all levels of the organization. I've seen countless woman and children arrive at the shelter with no resources and no plan for the future. As the weeks go by I see these same woman getting jobs, entering into educational programs, and securing housing for their family. Words can not express what it's like to have a six year old child enthusiastically tell you that he moving into his own house. PADS has made a significant impact on the lives of many in our community & I am honored to be a volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

I have been a volunteer for the last two years with South Suburban Pads. We work the second and fifth Mondays of the month. First I buy all the groceries needed for dinner, lunch and some of the breakfast foods. That evening I help serve the foods or hand out clothing or toiletries. I've gotten to know some of these men, I see them daily as I go about my errands around town. Many have just had a number of bad breaks with no where to turn. Some have been in horrible accidents. Some may not have the mental capcacity to live on their own. I see them look out for one another, I see their caring and concern. I see how much their interaction with us means, I see their smiles and the need for conversation. I know how much the nurse, the social workers and all of us mean to these fellas. It's more than a hot meal and a place to sleep. I hear their" thank you." One man said," You are spoiling us!" For me, it feels so good to give back, our family has been very fortunate. I enjoy my work and time with these men, as do the other volunteers. Pads is a great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers