Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 28, 2013

From classic quartets by Haydn, to pop music by Lady Gaga, this group has it all! I have been privileged to experience South Beach Chamber Ensemble's musicianship from the streets of steamy Miami to... more

September 29, 2014

It would take me far more than a minute or two to write about what a fantastic ensemble this is! I have experienced numerous concerts by these fine musicians and have appreciated every one. And, they've all been different! From traditional quartets, to puppet shows, to Rachmaninoff vocal music, they can do it all - they've even "popped up" at Whole Foods! One thing is for sure - you will never be bored when you experience South Beach Chamber Ensemble.
April 28, 2013


From classic quartets by Haydn, to pop music by Lady Gaga, this group has it all! I have been privileged to experience South Beach Chamber Ensemble's musicianship from the streets of steamy Miami to cool summer evenings in Central Wisconsin. With a vision of creating music to enrich the
world, the insightful Michael Andrews, Director of SBCE, has successfully merged his traditional background in classical music with today's unconventional styles. The result of this melange is magical.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

SBCE provides an artistic opportunity for all ages not only for the wonderful music you will hear but for the story behind the composers and the history of the times when the music was written. There are also numerous partnerships with other artist and community sponsors that bring enjoyment as diverse as poets, other musicians, puppeteers along with the SBCE. I have been to every outdoor concert in Wausau, WI and to several in Florida which continue to bring me much satisfaction, delight and peace. I especially enjoy the South Beach Up North pop concert and look forward to hearing them again next summer. You will not be disappointed!
September 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 7, 2013

Every summer a number of us get to part of the support for an extension of South Beach Chamber Ensemble's work in Wausau, Wisconsin. Some of the members of the South Beach Chamber Ensemble come to Wa... more

September 19, 2014

This review concerns the summer activity of the Ensemble in Wausau, Wisconsin. The programming there is under the name, "South Beach Up North." Every summer for the past ten summers, great music has been brought to Central Wisconsin.

This year I noted two things: First, the importance
of live music. My former wife was a musician and she stressed the importance of live music. I took her at her word, but it is only over time that I have begun to see this for myself. Live music - real players performing in real time - brings life to music as nothing else can. I found this out in a backwards way when after one of their exquisite concerts I realized I had no recording of a certain 19th Century composer they had performed. Sadly I found that on a recording the pieces did not have the life that this group gave it; I am sure the performance by the professional group on the recording was very good. But live performance has a dimension that cannot be matched by recordings. So now I just take in the live music and get fired up and deeply appreciate the fact that is live! Secondly the range of what is programmed is fulfilling. Whether it is strictly classical or some mix with other styles I find going to program is having a full meal! And that is also very satisfying.

I would like to mention one other thing. In one of their performances the group always includes area high school musicians. This is not only enjoyable for the audience, but also it does wonders for young musicians and helps ensure a future in which we continue to have performing musicians.

April 7, 2013

Every summer a number of us get to part of the support for an extension of South Beach Chamber Ensemble's work in Wausau, Wisconsin. Some of the members of the South Beach Chamber Ensemble come to Wausau each summer and gather a few other musicians from Wisconsin to perform under the name of "South Beach Up North." There are a series of sometimes three, sometimes four performances of chamber music. These are done in different spaces around the city and with different combinations of instruments. The effect is to brighten up the whole city and the area. Members of the group always appear with an interview and a performance on Wisconsin Public Radio and that enables their work is heard more widely in the state.

Wausau is basically the central city in Central Wisconsin. This summer activity has had huge influence and it is indeed bringing South Beach up north!

My gratitude is unending as is that of so many other residents who long for live music that shows classical music is very much alive and speaks to all. The concerts mix more popular things as well as more esoteric things. Together with the energy spent by the organizers and the musicians the response is easily high enough to sustain the return of "South Beach Up North" each summer.

This extension is a gift from South Beach to Central Wisconsin and reflects extremely well on South Beach. A number of us in Central Wisconsin wish we could pay South Beach back!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

Every year for the last four years, I have hosted a benefit concert of the South Beach Chamber Ensemble at my home. Each year, their appearance is more beautiful, inspiring, intimate, and wonderful than the year before...and I wonder how that can be possible. Friends, neighbors, and guests I've never met before fill my house in thrall. The variety of their programs, the musical pleasure and enthusiasm -- not to mention virtuosity -- they share has been a privilege to support, and I plan to continue in perpetuity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers