Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 28, 2013

more

April 28, 2013


From classic quartets by Haydn, to pop music by Lady Gaga, this group has it all! I have been privileged to experience South Beach Chamber Ensemble's musicianship from the streets of steamy Miami to cool summer evenings in Central Wisconsin. With a vision of creating music to enrich the
world, the insightful Michael Andrews, Director of SBCE, has successfully merged his traditional background in classical music with today's unconventional styles. The result of this melange is magical.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

The SBCE plays carefully selected culturally inspiring classics from both the masters and from lesser known up and coming composers from all over the world. As a board member for over 10 years I have seen the transformation of the audiences, from older seasoned lovers of classical music to now include the young hipper set. Michael Andrews, the musical director always provides an exciting story on the origin of the music being played that expands the audience's appreciation of the magic of the music.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

Its a real delight to have groups like South Beach Chamber Emsemble preserving and promoting beautiful music for all generations.. I hosted a benefit concert last year at my house and hope to able to do so for many more years to come... Nydia Pichardo

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

Every year for the last four years, I have hosted a benefit concert of the South Beach Chamber Ensemble at my home. Each year, their appearance is more beautiful, inspiring, intimate, and wonderful than the year before...and I wonder how that can be possible. Friends, neighbors, and guests I've never met before fill my house in thrall. The variety of their programs, the musical pleasure and enthusiasm -- not to mention virtuosity -- they share has been a privilege to support, and I plan to continue in perpetuity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

Every summer a number of us get to part of the support for an extension of South Beach Chamber Ensemble's work in Wausau, Wisconsin. Some of the members of the South Beach Chamber Ensemble come to Wausau each summer and gather a few other musicians from Wisconsin to perform under the name of "South Beach Up North." There are a series of sometimes three, sometimes four performances of chamber music. These are done in different spaces around the city and with different combinations of instruments. The effect is to brighten up the whole city and the area. Members of the group always appear with an interview and a performance on Wisconsin Public Radio and that enables their work is heard more widely in the state.

Wausau is basically the central city in Central Wisconsin. This summer activity has had huge influence and it is indeed bringing South Beach up north!

My gratitude is unending as is that of so many other residents who long for live music that shows classical music is very much alive and speaks to all. The concerts mix more popular things as well as more esoteric things. Together with the energy spent by the organizers and the musicians the response is easily high enough to sustain the return of "South Beach Up North" each summer.

This extension is a gift from South Beach to Central Wisconsin and reflects extremely well on South Beach. A number of us in Central Wisconsin wish we could pay South Beach back!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

South Beach Chamber Ensemble brings wonderful music performances to the public in Miami and Wisconsin. They also provide a chance for musicians to perform great chamber music literature and work with composers on new pieces. I am one of those composers. They have supported my music for string quartet with multiple performances and commissioned one of my biggest works, for piano quintet. I attended performances in Miami and at their summer festival in Wisconsin. I met audience members who were inspired by SBCE concerts and I was inspired by the enthusiasm and musical quality of the musicians.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

I have attended many performances by this group and I have always been impressed by the quality of musical presentation and how well received the group is by those attending. The South Beach Chamber Ensemble seems to fill a special niche in the arts in Miami and deserves recognition.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

South Beach Chamber Ensemble is everything a music ensemble should be:
1- Artistically proficient in classical music. They play challenging Beethoven late quartets and Bach with equal sensitivity and brio.
2- Not afraid to take chances. They were one of the first ensembles to do a pop-up
music event, which can be seen on You-tube... I was so proud when a friend in London sent it to me without her knowing that it had taken place in Miami.
3- Forging forward with new music. I had never sat before at a performance which was the premiere of a musical composition, which was exciting to experience, to see World Premiere on the program.
4- Searching for new audiences and ways to approach them. SBCE partnered with pupeteers to create a new work called Mozart Meets Lady Gaga, performed for an audience of all ages at a high school, with sets done by the students at the school.
5- Bridging communities. SBCE plays in South Florida most of the year, and in the summer they play in Wisconsin. They have also played elsewhere in North and South America.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

I have had the opportunty to see this extraordinary and talented group perform. I believe it is important to recognize those who dedicate themselves to the arts in the field of endeavor of classical music performance. I plan to attend more of their performances and support this group. The South Beach Chamber Ensemble's performances around town helps create an interest in classical music and promotes and preserves this genre of music. I highly recommend attending their performances.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I've watched this group perform on multiple occasions as well as performed with them myself! The members are wonderful to work with and each bring something incredible to the table. Their performance inspires those who watch and listen. It was an honor to get the chance to play with such talented members of the community, especially because of all they do to add to our community as a whole!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers