Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 28, 2013

From classic quartets by Haydn, to pop music by Lady Gaga, this group has it all! I have been privileged to experience South Beach Chamber Ensemble's musicianship from the streets of steamy Miami to... more

September 29, 2014

It would take me far more than a minute or two to write about what a fantastic ensemble this is! I have experienced numerous concerts by these fine musicians and have appreciated every one. And, they've all been different! From traditional quartets, to puppet shows, to Rachmaninoff vocal music, they can do it all - they've even "popped up" at Whole Foods! One thing is for sure - you will never be bored when you experience South Beach Chamber Ensemble.
April 28, 2013


From classic quartets by Haydn, to pop music by Lady Gaga, this group has it all! I have been privileged to experience South Beach Chamber Ensemble's musicianship from the streets of steamy Miami to cool summer evenings in Central Wisconsin. With a vision of creating music to enrich the
world, the insightful Michael Andrews, Director of SBCE, has successfully merged his traditional background in classical music with today's unconventional styles. The result of this melange is magical.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2014

more

September 28, 2014

I have been invited to perform with SBUN for the last two summers. It is wonderful to have a space to perform pieces that were meant to be played in a smaller ensemble. Chamber music enables for more intimate discussions during rehearsals; and therefore, more meaningful performances. I have also developed friendships with my fellow musicians at SBUN Michale, Sarah, Cindy, and Ken, among others. It was through music that these friendships were nurtured.

I am so glad people in Central Wisconsin get to experience this type of music making during the summers. SBUN fills an artistic niche needed in this community. I hope we are able to reach greater audiences. I look forward to many more years of exciting music making at SBUN.

Oscar Soler
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I am so happy and honored that SBCE has chosen to play my string quartet, "Short Stories", and that their ensemble members have played it so beautifully. They have performed "Short Stories" a number of times, several times in concerts and several times in collaboration with other organizations: Puppet Network and the Miami Beach Senior High School's Academy of Visual and Performing Arts, for the show "Fantasma"; and with Dance Now!

It means a great deal to a living composer not only to have his music included on programs of a vibrant ensemble like SBCE but also to have them appreciate the music enough that it becomes part of their repertory.

Thank you, and Bravo! I look forward to more collaborations with you.
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

SBCE provides an artistic opportunity for all ages not only for the wonderful music you will hear but for the story behind the composers and the history of the times when the music was written. There are also numerous partnerships with other artist and community sponsors that bring enjoyment as diverse as poets, other musicians, puppeteers along with the SBCE. I have been to every outdoor concert in Wausau, WI and to several in Florida which continue to bring me much satisfaction, delight and peace. I especially enjoy the South Beach Up North pop concert and look forward to hearing them again next summer. You will not be disappointed!
September 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 7, 2013

Every summer a number of us get to part of the support for an extension of South Beach Chamber Ensemble's work in Wausau, Wisconsin. Some of the members of the South Beach Chamber Ensemble come to Wa... more

September 19, 2014

This review concerns the summer activity of the Ensemble in Wausau, Wisconsin. The programming there is under the name, "South Beach Up North." Every summer for the past ten summers, great music has been brought to Central Wisconsin.

This year I noted two things: First, the importance
of live music. My former wife was a musician and she stressed the importance of live music. I took her at her word, but it is only over time that I have begun to see this for myself. Live music - real players performing in real time - brings life to music as nothing else can. I found this out in a backwards way when after one of their exquisite concerts I realized I had no recording of a certain 19th Century composer they had performed. Sadly I found that on a recording the pieces did not have the life that this group gave it; I am sure the performance by the professional group on the recording was very good. But live performance has a dimension that cannot be matched by recordings. So now I just take in the live music and get fired up and deeply appreciate the fact that is live! Secondly the range of what is programmed is fulfilling. Whether it is strictly classical or some mix with other styles I find going to program is having a full meal! And that is also very satisfying.

I would like to mention one other thing. In one of their performances the group always includes area high school musicians. This is not only enjoyable for the audience, but also it does wonders for young musicians and helps ensure a future in which we continue to have performing musicians.

April 7, 2013

Every summer a number of us get to part of the support for an extension of South Beach Chamber Ensemble's work in Wausau, Wisconsin. Some of the members of the South Beach Chamber Ensemble come to Wausau each summer and gather a few other musicians from Wisconsin to perform under the name of "South Beach Up North." There are a series of sometimes three, sometimes four performances of chamber music. These are done in different spaces around the city and with different combinations of instruments. The effect is to brighten up the whole city and the area. Members of the group always appear with an interview and a performance on Wisconsin Public Radio and that enables their work is heard more widely in the state.

Wausau is basically the central city in Central Wisconsin. This summer activity has had huge influence and it is indeed bringing South Beach up north!

My gratitude is unending as is that of so many other residents who long for live music that shows classical music is very much alive and speaks to all. The concerts mix more popular things as well as more esoteric things. Together with the energy spent by the organizers and the musicians the response is easily high enough to sustain the return of "South Beach Up North" each summer.

This extension is a gift from South Beach to Central Wisconsin and reflects extremely well on South Beach. A number of us in Central Wisconsin wish we could pay South Beach back!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

They are music in my world and their performances are heavenly! Please don't miss an opportunity to experience their music.
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

As an organization bringing art to the people of our beloved Magic City we always strive to break barriers and find that cutting edge where chamber music becomes accessible. We love to collaborate with other arts organizations and we love hearing back from our audience. We've been here for over 17 years and continue to grow and develop. We want you to come play with us - as volunteers, donors, general public, contributors (other organizations, performers, anything that creates an intra-disciplinary experience for our audience) and this is our mission: to bring the joy and beauty of music in all its forms into your life.
August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I have been an admirer and fan of the South Beach Chamber Ensemble since its beginnings. My enthusiasm has only increased through the years. This group does not limit itself to traditional classical music but embraces other trends from acclaimed composers that are known and liked in our community. Always keeping the high standards of experienced musicians trained in classical music. This Ensemble serves music lovers by performing in different areas of our region, and they do it with joy and excellence.

Silvia Sarasua.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not really.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

The South Beach Chamber Ensemble presents quality programming that is accessible to all audiences. It has been an honor to have the opportunity to perform and collaborate with them the past two years.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

The most sublime chamber music you'll ever hear. Their music is diverse and inspiring!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers