Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
123.0445
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Need to take care of their employees. Not the directors the actual people that do ALL the hard work that are told there are freezes on raises yet directors get raises (One director even boasted about getting a raise when employees were informed months earlier of the freeze). Employees are expendable, very sad. No room for career growth. The people in the trenches are great and are dedicated to the clients, management is another story.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 11, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I would never recommend anyone to work there. I was hired part time and was doing full time work in my department (of course volunteer) while supervisors were trying to find someone with a Masters Degree to do the same thing that I was doing. Their reason for not hiring me, "I haven’t been with the company long enough to apply for the position" BUT I WAS DOING THAT JOB! It was also an extremely hostile environment, I never felt comfortable and my bosses would go to me and openly admit that she was gossiping about me to staff. All because I asked someone what would happen if my company phone breaks?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Worked with Youth

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Why spend the money on such a ridiculous policy. Hire who’s already doing the job. I should've sued because I had proof that I was volunteering my time: hence not getting paid for hours that I worked. A word of advice: if any company who says they're providing services to better their clients in return treats their employee like trash, best bet is to stay away.

January 8, 2011

more

January 8, 2011

I have over 18 years in working with at-risk in education (teacher, coordinattor and Assistant Principal). In my opinion, this is one of the top social service organization in country and led is by a group of people that are true visionaries in the field. They are smart, dedicated, have high integrity and very hard working. They deliver on their promises and produce outstanding results. They care about people and care about getting results. I highly recommend them without reservation.

My direct involvement with SBCS goes back a few year to 2006. At the time I was working as the After School Program Coordinator and a short time later as the Assistant Principal at Granger Jr. High School. Back then, Granger was a typical low performing inner city school: low test scores, apathetic/unmotivated students, unsafe campus (gangs, drugs, bullying, fights) and high absenteeism (lowest student attendance rate in the district). Many teachers were unhappy with the school and some had lost hope in our students.

From 2003-2006 we designed and continued to develop and implement the framework of a new type of academic program that was based on making homework and tutoring mandatory. Our test scores increased all three years so we knew we were on to something good but also understood we had a long way to.

Despite the progress, we were dissatisfied with the level of service we were receiving from our community partner (well known non profit in the area). After many meetings over two years trying to hash out the issues we had with them, we finally concluded that this agency was just not motivated and too set in their ways to improve their level of service. Our goal was to turn our school around and had lost patience working with an organization that was used to getting district contracts due to their political connections instead of the quality of service.

We looked round for an agency to partner with a good reputation in our area. We interviewed several but came away most impresses after meeting with Mauricio Torre and Xavier Martinez from SBCS. They listened to our frustrations and seemed to really understand our needs. We were cautiously optimistic as we entered into a trial MOU agreement to have them coordinate our after school program. From the very beginning both of these gentlemen produced on all their promises and went beyond the call of duty to make the partnership succeed.

Under this partnership with SBCS, Granger's academic scores soared (API score increased from 604 to 698). GJH was transformed from a dysfunctional/low performing school to one of the top schools in the state (2010 recognized the highly coveted Schools To Watch designation). A couple of years later SBCS was hired to implement the same program at National City Middle School (NCM). Test scores improved immdeiatley.

Many other schools in the district took notice and have since entered into contracts with SBCS to provide similar academic intervention programs for them. I now work at a high school in the district and one of the first things I did was to consult with SBCS to hire staff and implement a similar academic support and intervention program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As noted above, the test scores at Granger (and later at National City Middle) soared as a result of our partnership with SBCS.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand this program and offer their academic support services to all the school districts in the county.

July 22, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
July 22, 2010

Leaf & Cole LLP is the independent CPA firm that conducted South Bay Community Services’ (SBCS) audit and 990 returns as of and for the year ended June 30, 2009. As the managing partner of Leaf & Cole, I regret to share that we inadvertently marked the box on Schedule J stating SBCS paid for the use of a private residence, which is not the case. We have made the appropriate correction and have submitted an amended 990 with the IRS. We regret any inconvenience. Steven W. Northcote Managing Partner Leaf & Cole, LLP

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Audited Financial Statements

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers