Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.523815
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 25, 2014

more

July 25, 2014

A friend from Sri Lanka told me about SOS Children's Villages. I'd wanted to make some kind of contribution to the world's needy children and this organization seemed to be one of the best. Last year my husband and I signed up and requested to help a deserving female child in Africa. We were assigned a four year old from Mozambique. She appeared shy in her photo and I can't wait to see how a year at one of the villages has changed her. Her birthday is in October, and we will again make a special contribution to a fund which is kept just for her, so that when she is ready to leave SOS Children's Villages she can go to college or start a business or some other good purpose. We hope to follow her for many years, and although we'll probably never meet her photo is displayed with our family's. It's simple, and not expensive to help change a life....just do it. Eileen Crivelli

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I worked at SOS Herman Gmeiner International College (HGIC) in Tema, Ghana for one year. I taught English to students who came from all over the African continent to study at the school. The SOS mission drove the educational system and the students were SO PROUD to be a part of the program.

While teaching at HGIC, I also lived in the SOS Village. I loved the joyful and protective environment that gave each child a place to grow and thrive.

I continue to donate monthly to the organization, and I keep in touch with many of my former students from HGIC who are now attending universities in three different countries.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand its educational system to more countries.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 21, 2014

more

June 21, 2014

My name is Jenna. I have had the privilege of helping sponsor a villiage in Gambia. I have been overjoyed getting letters and emails with pictures and updates on the villiage. I searched and found one lady on facebook. I am not quite sure how often, or regular she is on the internet. I could see how the community incorporates arts and education, and had water and food. I could not be more thankful for the opportunity to be apart of this growing and evolving community. I always wanted to have a purposeful path. And I have in turn received a feeling of being part of a burgeoning world and being part a family in another country far away from South Texas. I have spoken on the phone to the people in DC involved in SOS and they could not be nicer. And the people in the community are full of such love and strength and commitment to a larger purpose.
Looking forward to seeing the SOS grow and continue help our children grow.
XOXO

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2014

more

June 19, 2014

I helped SOS Children's Villages India (Kolkata) spread the word about their work and efforts toward helping children without a family find safety, security, home, family, joy and a future!
Their work is remarkable and I truly believe in their model where a child is able to grow up in a family
unit, and is able to receive care and affection in addition to basic necessities of life. I vote for SOS!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

June 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a an SOS Child in Bethlehem - West Bank. SOS provided me with everything necessary to grow and build up my future. Now I am a Lawyer who tries to defend children in my country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would call Issa Akkawi founder of Children's Villages extended family (A Family without boarders) to arrange with him getting any experiences come out of Former SOS Children and dedicate them to be a good example to FBC & FS in any SOS program.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

SOS is the best home for the child who have noone in this world. It provides such a good home for a child, let him feel a family, educates him and take care of their needs. It does all the things which is necessary for a child to rise in his life. It had changed life of thousands of childs. It is the best. I have no words to describe how much effort it has done to help a child in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

SOS family based child care is a unique way of supporting children who are in need for care and protection. I have worked with SOS India, 23 long years (1989 to 2012) to testify and guarantee its output. I am still a sponsor with SOS India and I am happy with the sponsor communication system of the organisation. Be part of an international quality Child Care Programme. Best wishes - Santhiraj Kolengaden

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

I was introduced to this charity in my childhood in Germany, and have continued my support wherever I lived (UK & USA). The SOS idea of providing a home with a mother and siblings is unique, as SOS is very culturally aware, relationship based, and does not stipulate any religious affiliation. These factors have become very important to me as I entered the child care field and gained a better understanding of what makes children thrive. Once married, we decided to sponsor a child. That was more than 25 years ago. We were provided with details of a 10 year old Tibetan boy living in India. We saw him grow into a young man and succeed in gaining a college education until he aged out of the system in his twenties. We formed a bond through letters back and forth and considered him part of our family. We continued our sponsorship with a new child from Kenya and added another from Bolivia. We have come to the conclusion that taking an interest in children who are disadvantaged by the economic circumstances of their country of birth, and being able to play a small part in providing a loving home and an education for them, is a rewarding experience without equal. Being able to meet some of these children in the future, would be the icing on the cake.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

Help children's in all aspects will help to all of us live in a better planet

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Impact more people rayon the globe by a documental in CNN etc

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 11, 2014

more

January 11, 2014

I gave a donation to SOS Children's Villages four years ago. The next year my financial situation had changed and I didn't continue. I received a notice later thanking me very much for my on going donations! I called several times before I could speak to the person that was in charge of my account, and told them that I had not authorized use of my credit card! Needless to say, I was unhappy with this and told them to remove my information from their data base, which they said that they had.
I have never stopped getting mailings from them and just received a letter thanking me for my 2013 donation and asking me to donate again. I DID NOT DONATE LAST YEAR AND IF THEY TOOK IT OUT ON MY CREDIT CARD I AM MOST ANGRY. Their contact phone # has too many numbers in it and of course does not connect to anything . Forgive me if I sound suspicious , but this smells of Fraud or at best very bad management . i am continuing to try to make contact in person!
Patrick Williams

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have this 501-C3 audited

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers