Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
March 20, 2013

more

March 20, 2013

We adopted a beagle a week or so ago, and we LOVE him. We were told that the dog was not quite house trained, and when we brought him home, he instantly settled in, and he hasn't shown any signs of not being properly house trained. It was great how the SOS Beagle people wanted to make sure that we could handle the dog, and told us everything that could've possibly been a issue. We also have a cat, so we wanted to make sure that he got along with the cat. The SOS Beagle people matched us up with a perfect dog, and he is amazing with cats. SOS Beagle has been so nice to us, and they found us the best dog to fit our needs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2011

more

September 16, 2011

My husband and I are volunteers with SOS Beagle Rescue and have adopted 3 beagles from SOS...Lacey in 1995, another Lacey in 1998 and our most recent little joy, Jenna, who came to us this past March after our second Lacey died from renal failure at age 15.

Linda Forrest, who is director
of SOS Beagle Rescue is a true miracle. She has devoted her life to rescuing hundreds of beagles. From my experience this rescue is run like a well oiled machine. When someone wants to adopt there is a strict adoption process i.e. extensive background checks of the person's home and references. If that person is interested in a specific dog and Linda does not believe that dog would be a good fit for that home she is not afraid to tell the client that. She has a knack of placing the right dog with the right home environment. Her paramount concern is for the dog to be happy and safe in a new home.

When a dog is adopted out that dog has been temperament tested/kid friendly/cat friendly tested. Each beagle has been seen by a vet and has been given a clean bill of health. If a medical issue does arrive those issues are dealt with before that dog is put up for adoption.

This rescue has an incredible group of dedicated volunteers who support Linda in any way they can. When you deal with someone like LInda and see her fierce dedication it is easy to want to be involved in the rescue.We do various events throughout the year and being with like minded people who simply LOVE Beagles is so much fun. Linda organizes each event, gets the volunteers together, brings 2 or 3 dogs up for adoption, sets up tables of items to sell to support the rescue and we all just have a blast! It's all about BEAGLES!

In today's world, it is reasonable to be skeptical of charities/rescues as there as so many disreputable organizations. But SOS Beagle Rescue is an organization that you can trust. Linda's dedication to this incredible breed is amazing! Her main goal is to make sure each dog is happy in their new home. When a family adopts their picture is taken and placed on the website. Seeing the smiles on their faces is what it is all about. I am so happy to be a small part of SOS Beagle Rescue!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Volunteering

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of a thing!

September 7, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
September 7, 2011

My husband and I have owned a Beagle that we rescued from the Humane Society for 14 years (since 1997). Shortly after adopting Pete, we became intereste Beagle Resue. SOS Beagle just happened to be the site we came upon when doing research in the beginnings of the Internet. We were immediately impressed with thier thoroughness, diligence and loving care they take with all of their rescue dogs as well as the people who are seeking them out as a potential aveneu to adopt a dog. We have been regular monthly donors for over 10 years and SOS always sends us a very nice thank you letter at the end of the year along with our tax information. They religiously send us pictures of Beagles we are "sponsoring". They have always kept us up to date with any changes, improvements, etc. in their organization.

The care they take with the animals in their care is remarkable. With vaccinations, medication, surgury, training, etc.

And they are also very diligent and careful about who they let adopt and have a very rigorous system in place to match the correct owner to the correct dog.

We recently put in an application to adopt a Beagle so that when our 16 year old dog is no longer, we will be able to help them as soon as possible and adopt a dog that is right for us. Their screening and application is impressive. They called our references within a day and approved our application within 3 days.

SOS is one of only 3 charities that we donote to on a regular basis and I am proud to do so!

Robbie Young

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

making monthly donations as well as appying to adopt a dog through them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a single thing.

September 7, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
September 7, 2011

I remember the first time I saw SOS Beagle online. They were featuring a very old beagle who had been left in a cemetary for dead. He was blind. He had tumors and trouble walking. I think all they really knew was that he was geriatric and didn't have long to live. The information started off something like this, "not sure who is going to want such an old guy..." He was a cross-post at SOS Beagle for another shelter. But SOS Beagle took the time to show compassion and to reach out over the internet - just a voice in the darkness for this one little creature among the many homeless beagles and dogs that they foster and place in homes. It takes great courage to face such tremendous odds without knowing that anyone is even listening.

I took Homer home with me a few days later. He lived over a year and a half with my other two beagles - Henry and Harry.

I was impressed by the level of concern SOS Beagle had for the placement of beagles. It felt like adopting a member of your family - as it should. I was further impressed with how they get beagles from one shelter to another - using a car pool chain of volunteers that must have involved countless hours of planning and coordination. All to move a little creature to a permament home.

I think this kind of dedication and perserverance in an organization is highly commendable.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

beagle adoption

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers