Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.913045
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

This organization is run by caring, generous, thoughtful and selfless individuals that truly care about the children, horses, and volunteers. I am fortunate to be a part of it and look forward to watching it grow even more!
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

I attended a fundraiser for SonRise at Charles Wilhelm’s ranch four years ago, and after meeting the staff and watching the children on horseback, I knew right away that I wanted to be a part of this wonderful organization. I volunteer on Wednesdays as a ranch hand and as a sidewalker when we travel to Alma Preschool, Dublin Elementary, and George Mark Children’s House where the children can meet, groom, and ride the mini horses. It’s truly heartwarming to watch the children interact with the horses and to hear their teachers describe how even their non-verbal students “talk” for days after the minis visit. SonRise provides many services for special-needs children, and as a bonus, they rescue horses in need as well. I’ve seen firsthand just how compassionate, committed, and dedicated the SonRise families and staff are, and I’m proud to be part of this caring community. As a retired teacher, I give SonRise top marks for excellence in giving from the heart! :^)
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

As a volunteer for several years, I have seen wonder in the eyes of ill children, smiles on the faces of those who have known sadness and pain and the thrill of accomplishment. Son rise has put happiness in the hearts of children and profound joy in the lives of their parents. Sonrise volunteers (and their well-trained horses) strive to add a little sunshine into the lives of those less fortunate - it truly is a wonderful, caring non-profit organization. Sylvia Coburn
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

Having recently retired, I was in search of a volunteer experience that would not drain me of all my time and energy. I was also highly selective in choosing a non-profit that served both the target population and the community in a kind, humane and obviously beneficial way. SonRise has lived up to my needs, standards and expectations. The blending of children with special needs and horses trained by people who deeply care about forming and sustaining relationships is magical.

My first experience with the "Traveling Tails" program sealed my resolve to maximize my volunteer opportunities with SonRise. As a neurological physical therapist, I bring unique skills and contributions to the children I encounter. My lessons in natural horsemanship are serving to facilitate my developing relationships with the SonRise horses. I am confident that I am in one of the best and most creative nonprofit organizations around serving children with special needs.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

Their mission is to "make a positive difference for youth living with social, emotional, or physical challenges, including terminal illness. Participating children develop confidence, integrity, and responsibility through mentoring and peer relationships centered around the care and enjoyment of horses." Sonrise Equestrian Foundation is doing just that, every week, every day. I'm so proud to be associated with this organization. When I saw the smiles on the faces of some of the developmentally challenged students when they mounted the mini horses, I knew what extraordinary people had created Sonrise!
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

For the past 6 plus years, our family has been on both the giving and receiving end of this extraordinarily uplifting program. Using horses to work with these precious children provides much needed hope and radiates an amazing amount of joy. Everyone gets blessed. It’s genuine, powerful, and healing.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I had the opportunity to serve with SonRise Equestrian Foundation for 1 month. During that time, I saw how big of an impact this organization has on their community. Every volunteer I met was a selfless and kind individual, who gave of their time and energy to help those who truly need it. I had the opportunity to be a sidewalker during their riding lessons, and get to know the children and see how the connection with the horses and volunteers has changed their lives, as well as hearing the parent's stories of where their child has come from. I was one of the volunteers for their program with for children with social and emotional difficulties, and over my time there I was able to develop a relationship with several of those children, in an atmosphere that was fun for them and safe, free from bullying and the chaos of life. I also participated in Travelling Tails, during which they bring their pony and miniature horses to locations to meet children, including a camp for children with chronic and terminal illnesses, and George Mark's Children's home, a hospice and respite care center.
In between programs, the volunteers continue to give of their time and energy, whether it's cleaning the stables or the grounds, making sure the horses are taking care of, doing office work, or mailing newsletters to keep the public updated on what is happening. I truly believe this is one of the most valuable organizations that exists, and I was proud to serve with them.
June 17, 2012

more

June 17, 2012

it was fun working with the horses and learning how to ride and take care of the animals@ sonrise.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

The very first day I volunteered with SonRise Equestrian Foundation, I knew I was a part of something incredibly special! I have never worked with both horses and challenged children before. My first session I worked with a girl with autism and watching her interact and connect with the SonRise horse, Teddy, was an unforgettable experience. This young girl, who showed no emotion upon her arrival, was smiling and laughing while riding Teddy. She responded to verbal commands from the volunteers, and truly connected with her horse. I have seen this connection over and over between the SonRise kids and the horses, and every time its wonderful to experience. SonRise is a truly blessed foundation, with amazing volunteers working so hard to help make a positive difference in these kids' lives. I only wish we were able to help more kids!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

Being recently retired, I was looking for a new opportunity to stay active, become involved with the horse world, and do something meaningful. When a former co-worker told me what a difference that Equestrian Therapy has made for his physically challenged son, I decided to look in that area. My wife mentioned to me that she knew of Sonrise through church and had been favorably impressed with the founder when they had met. I signed up to volunteer through the website and was soon contacted for an orientation. At this point, I have only worked as a volunteer for a few months, but I can say that Sonrise has fit the bill for me on every count. I am privileged to work on a ranch respected for its training methods and with people that care tremendously for both children as well as the horses that enable this fantastic approach to therapy. It seems to me that the values of the organization are well represented by the staff I have worked with, and I feel lucky to embark on a new challenge with such a group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers