Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.85
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

My daughter has struggled with many issues, including dyslexia, a mood disorder, depression, a major family loss, social issues, and more. On her first day at Sonrise she met other kids with the same issues and finally felt that she could be around people who understood what she goes through. A 10 year old doesn't understand their diagnosis, they just feel terrible and misunderstood. The only time she felt happy was around animals, so Sonrise has given her not only the chance to care for animals, but to also be with peers who understand her, while the staff offer so much more. She often comes home with small awards, that boost her self confidence, for example, she was given a horse puzzle because she was the hardest worker that day.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

My daughter has type 1 diabetes and was accepted into the Team Equine program at Sonrise. It has helped her gain confidence and she has made new friends. She loves the time she spends there and the staff that volunteer are WONDERFUL positive role models.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 17, 2012

more

June 17, 2012

it was fun working with the horses and learning how to ride and take care of the animals@ sonrise.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

The very first day I volunteered with SonRise Equestrian Foundation, I knew I was a part of something incredibly special! I have never worked with both horses and challenged children before. My first session I worked with a girl with autism and watching her interact and connect with the SonRise horse, Teddy, was an unforgettable experience. This young girl, who showed no emotion upon her arrival, was smiling and laughing while riding Teddy. She responded to verbal commands from the volunteers, and truly connected with her horse. I have seen this connection over and over between the SonRise kids and the horses, and every time its wonderful to experience. SonRise is a truly blessed foundation, with amazing volunteers working so hard to help make a positive difference in these kids' lives. I only wish we were able to help more kids!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

Being recently retired, I was looking for a new opportunity to stay active, become involved with the horse world, and do something meaningful. When a former co-worker told me what a difference that Equestrian Therapy has made for his physically challenged son, I decided to look in that area. My wife mentioned to me that she knew of Sonrise through church and had been favorably impressed with the founder when they had met. I signed up to volunteer through the website and was soon contacted for an orientation. At this point, I have only worked as a volunteer for a few months, but I can say that Sonrise has fit the bill for me on every count. I am privileged to work on a ranch respected for its training methods and with people that care tremendously for both children as well as the horses that enable this fantastic approach to therapy. It seems to me that the values of the organization are well represented by the staff I have worked with, and I feel lucky to embark on a new challenge with such a group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I was introduced to SonRise through a dedicated volunteer a couple of years ago, but this spring I decided to volunteer my time helping with a rescue horse. I began going out to groom and hand walk Molly a few months ago. My experience at SonRise has been wonderful. I feel that the organization has its mission and purpose clearly in mind in everything they do and decision they make. They keep safety a priority, as well so as a volunteer I have learned how to be more effective without being nervous I will do something wrong. I am not a big "joiner", because many times I have found that petty motives can take over in group dynamics, but this is not what I have found at SonRise. I have learned so much about horsemanship from the other volunteers and the Executive Director, Alana and how to give my time and energy to an animal that needs someone. The Executive Director and volunteers are warm, straight forward, and welcoming! When I volunteer at SonRise I feel appreciated and needed and that I can make a difference . I feel as though I am in therapy when I volunteer there! I have become healthier, happier and enjoy knowing that I am learning more every time I volunteer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

We work with disadvantaged youth who may also have physical and mental handicaps. Our therapy is through the use of horses some that may have come from similiar backgrounds as the children.We teach them horsemanship and with this comes more self confidence .It's a wonderful enviroment and i am a better person because of SonRise Equestrian Foundation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

This organization not only helps children who are suffering from disabilities, but gives them strength, hope, and a sense of belonging. Everyone is treated equally and with unconditional love. It is amazing seeing the joy on a child's face light up when riding a horse, or even brushing a horse. This volunteers here are diligent, committed, and full of love for SonRise. The experience here at SonRise is like no other. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

The staff members and horses at Sonrise have positively influenced my children's lives. As twins, they struggled with competition between each other. They now provide encouragement to each other when riding. Their self confidence has grown and anxiety has decreased. They look forward to all activities at Sonrise. I am so appreciative of what Sonrise has done for my family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I served as a Summer intern for SonRise spending 40+ hours a week. What an amazing experience.

The volunteers are some of the best I have ever met, always positive, always ready to learn, and always giving their all for SonRise, the horses, and most importantly the children. They are
always working hard to make SonRise the BEST it can be day in and day out.

The clients served are of the greatest variety of any of the places I have had the opportunity to learn from. Yet the horses are prepared for anything that comes at them, whether the day involves just grooming, games, or actual riding lessons. These horses are some of the most well-trained horses I have seen working at a therapeutic riding facility.

The mentors are incredible. I had the opportunity to observe each of them and the connections they were able to make with the students as well as the horses. I was always impressed with their ability to assess and adapt games and lessons to each students abilities, encouraging them to grow and try new things, stretching their current limitations.

I would recommend SonRise to any one looking for a wonderful group of people to welcome them, horses with the biggest hearts I have ever seen, and the chance to learn and grow around horses.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This organization never failed to help their students. In just three short months I was able to spend there I saw students progressing not only in their riding skills, but in their comfort levels, their ability to communicate, their ability to trust, their willingness to complete tasks, and their love of the horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help SonRise buy their own facility so all their programs could take place at one location. They are lucky to have people willing to share their land and space with them, but someday it would be wonderful if they had their own space to share with others.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers