Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.916675
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Sonrise provides an incredible place for volunteers to interact with their organization, horses, and children with development or physical disabilities. They make it so easy to volunteer your time, their training is great, and they provide ample opportunities that best fit your schedule, needs, skills, and passion. An incredible nonprofit with a very generous staff who cares about their volunteers, their horses, and most importantly the kids they work to serve!
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

This organization is run by caring, generous, thoughtful and selfless individuals that truly care about the children, horses, and volunteers. I am fortunate to be a part of it and look forward to watching it grow even more!
October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

SonRise is an amazing organization!! My daughter is very lucky to be a part of their program! The volunteers and the horses bring such joy to the kids! This organization is a blessing to many and I am thankful and grateful for all that they do. I love SonRise!
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

I attended a fundraiser for SonRise at Charles Wilhelm’s ranch four years ago, and after meeting the staff and watching the children on horseback, I knew right away that I wanted to be a part of this wonderful organization. I volunteer on Wednesdays as a ranch hand and as a sidewalker when we travel to Alma Preschool, Dublin Elementary, and George Mark Children’s House where the children can meet, groom, and ride the mini horses. It’s truly heartwarming to watch the children interact with the horses and to hear their teachers describe how even their non-verbal students “talk” for days after the minis visit. SonRise provides many services for special-needs children, and as a bonus, they rescue horses in need as well. I’ve seen firsthand just how compassionate, committed, and dedicated the SonRise families and staff are, and I’m proud to be part of this caring community. As a retired teacher, I give SonRise top marks for excellence in giving from the heart! :^)
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

SonRise is a wonderful organization that my daughter has been lucky to be a part of for over 4 years. She's gained so much through this program and it's volunteers. I don't know where she'd be without it. Everyone is so generous and caring.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

As a volunteer for several years, I have seen wonder in the eyes of ill children, smiles on the faces of those who have known sadness and pain and the thrill of accomplishment. Son rise has put happiness in the hearts of children and profound joy in the lives of their parents. Sonrise volunteers (and their well-trained horses) strive to add a little sunshine into the lives of those less fortunate - it truly is a wonderful, caring non-profit organization. Sylvia Coburn
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I have been a volunteer, donor and board member at SonRise for a number of years. I never cease to be amazed at the positive impact that horses have on special needs kids. The well trained volunteers and staff make it all work. It is a place where I can see and feel the difference my support is making in kids lives.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

Having recently retired, I was in search of a volunteer experience that would not drain me of all my time and energy. I was also highly selective in choosing a non-profit that served both the target population and the community in a kind, humane and obviously beneficial way. SonRise has lived up to my needs, standards and expectations. The blending of children with special needs and horses trained by people who deeply care about forming and sustaining relationships is magical.

My first experience with the "Traveling Tails" program sealed my resolve to maximize my volunteer opportunities with SonRise. As a neurological physical therapist, I bring unique skills and contributions to the children I encounter. My lessons in natural horsemanship are serving to facilitate my developing relationships with the SonRise horses. I am confident that I am in one of the best and most creative nonprofit organizations around serving children with special needs.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

Their mission is to "make a positive difference for youth living with social, emotional, or physical challenges, including terminal illness. Participating children develop confidence, integrity, and responsibility through mentoring and peer relationships centered around the care and enjoyment of horses." Sonrise Equestrian Foundation is doing just that, every week, every day. I'm so proud to be associated with this organization. When I saw the smiles on the faces of some of the developmentally challenged students when they mounted the mini horses, I knew what extraordinary people had created Sonrise!
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

For the past 6 plus years, our family has been on both the giving and receiving end of this extraordinarily uplifting program. Using horses to work with these precious children provides much needed hope and radiates an amazing amount of joy. Everyone gets blessed. It’s genuine, powerful, and healing.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers