Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.96975
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 10, 2014

more

April 10, 2014

My first contact with Solutions for Change was in 2005, when they were still a small non-profit starting to make a difference in Vista. Founder Chris Megison became a student of Good to Great, and Solutions has followed. They are making a huge impact in North County, and are actually solving family homelessness for hundreds of families. Their figures show a 66% success rate for their 1000-day Solutions University program. How many non-profits will actually see their clients through a 2 1/2 year program successfully?! Graduates leave the program able to "get up, suit up, and show up!"
Their focus on Servant Leadership has infused the entire staff and many of the residents, and it's creating a great culture. Many churches and civic groups volunteer 1-2 days per month, and get to know/serve and cheer on the residents. Their gala events each October have developed some tremendous donations and corporate partners. Instead of coming "hat in hand" begging for donations, they are skillfully showing how giving will truly "impact" our community. Their giving campaign in 2009-2012 allowed them to acquire property at low cost, and the partnership with local cities is creating mutually beneficial solutions for cities and their low-income residents.
Solutions for Change is one of the best-run, most impactful charities I've been around.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Chris is such a champion for the Solutions for Change model, he sometimes alienates other orgs that serve the homeless population. I hope he maintains his passion and focus, but maintains a relationship with others who are trying to serve our community, too.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My church, Mission Hills Church in San Marcos, supports Solutions for Change - and so do I. I only donate to SFC as I know it will do to the benefit of the residence there. The changes that occur in their residence can only be considered the Hand of God! I am blessed in knowing them.
February 27, 2014

more

February 27, 2014

The transformation you see working with the residents is absolutely amazing. This organization is truly making changes in North County. There should be a "Solve It" team in every major city across the nation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 27, 2014

more

February 27, 2014

My time with Solutions has been marked by witnessing powerful transformations among the residents. The graduation ceremonies have been particularly rewarding to watch. Solutions truly does what they say – they SOLVE family homelessness. Our community is fortunate to have such a wonderful organization among us.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 27, 2014

more

February 27, 2014

The model that Solutions for Change offers is an asset to North San Diego County and should be implemented on a national level.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 14, 2012

more

December 14, 2012

Solutions For Change does something that many organizations talk about but few do, they actually deliver results. Those results can be found in the faces of the parents and children who Solutions helps, it is the look of hope, hope that their lives can be better. Hope that they can be self sufficient again with their dignity and pride intact.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Solutions for Change has the success that is rare in homeless programs. I have been involved with homeless programs for over 20 years and am very impressed with the program.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

All it takes is getting to know the little ones and you will immediately be drawn in. Solutions for Change is all about helping them and their families recover and regroup. Over the years I have seen the incredible success of Solutions University and I have been so encouraged at the work being done here. It is such a blessing to be able to be part of the solution to solving family homelessness. Please join us!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

December 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Solutions for Change has a way of jumping into your heart and not letting go! The impact they are having on the families and communities they serve is remarkable. I first learned of Solutions for Change 10 years ago and in those early years you just knew that they (the founders, Chris and Tammy Megison) were on to something transformative and powerful with their vision of solving family homelessness. Solutions for Change brings together all the necessary ingredients for change---hope, compassion, commitment and accountability--- while adding in the customized plan and support the families need to make lasting, permanent change. All this based on challenging homeless families to take responsibility for their own lives, and then providing the environment and time needed for families to acquire the skills, knowledge and resources to permanently solve their homelessness. Come see the transformative nature of this world class model for solving family homelessness for yourself. Call Solutions today at (760) 941-6545. You too will find it remarkable!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Solutions for Change is helping end homelessness in our area by providing resources, training and a complete Life Changing program. Their commitment to working within the community and with other organizations is both effective and refreshing to see. In the past 5 years since I first volunteered wtih my church to provide monthly meals to SFC residents I have personally witnessed the huge impact this program has on families. I am honored to provide any support I can and encourage others to learn more about Solutions for Change.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers