Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
81 Reviews
1234.975315
Write A Review
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been involved with SFC for 4 years now and am still floored by the transformations that the families that go through the program experience - it changes the course of their lives and the lives of the children. I'm so proud to be associated with such an incredible organization and love to share SFC's story to others whenever I can.
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

One of the staff members came to help recruit volunteers at our mercy fair. She was so poised and professional that I never would have known that she was a graduate of the Solutions for Change program. Once a homeless mom, she now manages the aquaponics farm at Solutions for Change. Such amazing stories come out of this program and our church is privileged to be a partner and send volunteers and financial support regularly.
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I discovered Solutions for Change about 4 years ago. When I went on a tour I was absolutely dumbfounded at what I learned. I have been an advocate of the homeless for years and have served on boards and volunteered but this is the most effective non-profit I have ever encountered. The innovative quality and the ever evolving methods to solve family homelessness insure the ongoing success of this incredible organization.
October 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I came to Solutions in December 2012. It was a sad time in my life as I had just become a homeless, single mother of 2 kids under the age of 10. Solutions took us in and from there I have grown and blossomed from a helpless victim of abuse and abandonment to a woman that is confident, secure, safe and a survivor. Solutions has been a big part in my life these last 2 years. All the staff, donors, residents, volunteers and mentors are amazing people with big hearts. I am nominating Solutions because they deserve this and any and all recognition. Thank you Solutions. I am blessed to be a part of this great nonprofit. Sincerely, Lucia Dillard
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Solutions for Change is an amazing non-profit with a very innovative approach to solving family homelessness. They combine counseling, workforce development, social enterprise, education and affordable housing to create a safe and supportive environment where families learn to thrive. It's inspiring to witness the amazing transformation in these families as they develop the skills, knowledge and resources to permanently solve their family's homelessness.
April 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My first contact with Solutions for Change was in 2005, when they were still a small non-profit starting to make a difference in Vista. Founder Chris Megison became a student of Good to Great, and Solutions has followed. They are making a huge impact in North County, and are actually solving family homelessness for hundreds of families. Their figures show a 66% success rate for their 1000-day Solutions University program. How many non-profits will actually see their clients through a 2 1/2 year program successfully?! Graduates leave the program able to "get up, suit up, and show up!"
Their focus on Servant Leadership has infused the entire staff and many of the residents, and it's creating a great culture. Many churches and civic groups volunteer 1-2 days per month, and get to know/serve and cheer on the residents. Their gala events each October have developed some tremendous donations and corporate partners. Instead of coming "hat in hand" begging for donations, they are skillfully showing how giving will truly "impact" our community. Their giving campaign in 2009-2012 allowed them to acquire property at low cost, and the partnership with local cities is creating mutually beneficial solutions for cities and their low-income residents.
Solutions for Change is one of the best-run, most impactful charities I've been around.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Chris is such a champion for the Solutions for Change model, he sometimes alienates other orgs that serve the homeless population. I hope he maintains his passion and focus, but maintains a relationship with others who are trying to serve our community, too.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 10, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

This program has been a God send for my son and his family. I cannot believe what a difference it has made and how grown up and responsible for the first time in there lives. The kids a thriving and their family is finally becoming independent, self reliant, drug and alcohol free and contributors to society! They will soon (1-2 years) be totally off assistance. It is the best thing to have ever happened to the 4 of them. THANK YOU SOLUTIONS!!!
March 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My church, Mission Hills Church in San Marcos, supports Solutions for Change - and so do I. I only donate to SFC as I know it will do to the benefit of the residence there. The changes that occur in their residence can only be considered the Hand of God! I am blessed in knowing them.
March 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been meeting different people who work here and i love all of them they are so nice and cheerful and so much fun to be with. They stand for a great cause too and that something else that makes them great

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything they are running this perfectly

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 6, 2014

more

March 6, 2014

At this location i worked with various people who all have there own thing to say and all have talents that allow us to work with each other. Because there are few people it's easy to talk and get to know each other. The work that is done involves working with hydroponics and we learned about how to grow plants and take care of the systems and the fish involved. All and all it is a great place to see how we can help the environment and each other.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers