Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.96975
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
April 10, 2014

more

April 10, 2014

My first contact with Solutions for Change was in 2005, when they were still a small non-profit starting to make a difference in Vista. Founder Chris Megison became a student of Good to Great, and Solutions has followed. They are making a huge impact in North County, and are actually solving family homelessness for hundreds of families. Their figures show a 66% success rate for their 1000-day Solutions University program. How many non-profits will actually see their clients through a 2 1/2 year program successfully?! Graduates leave the program able to "get up, suit up, and show up!"
Their focus on Servant Leadership has infused the entire staff and many of the residents, and it's creating a great culture. Many churches and civic groups volunteer 1-2 days per month, and get to know/serve and cheer on the residents. Their gala events each October have developed some tremendous donations and corporate partners. Instead of coming "hat in hand" begging for donations, they are skillfully showing how giving will truly "impact" our community. Their giving campaign in 2009-2012 allowed them to acquire property at low cost, and the partnership with local cities is creating mutually beneficial solutions for cities and their low-income residents.
Solutions for Change is one of the best-run, most impactful charities I've been around.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Chris is such a champion for the Solutions for Change model, he sometimes alienates other orgs that serve the homeless population. I hope he maintains his passion and focus, but maintains a relationship with others who are trying to serve our community, too.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 10, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

This program has been a God send for my son and his family. I cannot believe what a difference it has made and how grown up and responsible for the first time in there lives. The kids a thriving and their family is finally becoming independent, self reliant, drug and alcohol free and contributors to society! They will soon (1-2 years) be totally off assistance. It is the best thing to have ever happened to the 4 of them. THANK YOU SOLUTIONS!!!
March 17, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

March 17, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

Im a great ful mother of 3. This program gave me the tools and guided me to succed in this thing we call life. I was so broken before coming into solutions for change, i had followed my moms footprints and stayed in a toxic relationship because thats what i knew was chaos from early childhood, drugs and dv. Coming into here i learned a new way of life, i found people who cared about me and my family and wanted to help me brake my familys cycle. Im now a positive part of our community. I went through the change this program offers and now im greatful to say i get to help guide others through the same change, i now work with solutions for change in reaching out and helping others make the change happen.
I have been a resident at solutions for change since 2011 im now a graduate of the program and continue to work with them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My church, Mission Hills Church in San Marcos, supports Solutions for Change - and so do I. I only donate to SFC as I know it will do to the benefit of the residence there. The changes that occur in their residence can only be considered the Hand of God! I am blessed in knowing them.
March 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This program helped me change my life for the better, I did all the work they as they helped direct me in the right way to go. Mine and my teenagers life is a dream come true now. Thank you Solutions for change!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been meeting different people who work here and i love all of them they are so nice and cheerful and so much fun to be with. They stand for a great cause too and that something else that makes them great

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything they are running this perfectly

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 6, 2014

more

March 6, 2014

At this location i worked with various people who all have there own thing to say and all have talents that allow us to work with each other. Because there are few people it's easy to talk and get to know each other. The work that is done involves working with hydroponics and we learned about how to grow plants and take care of the systems and the fish involved. All and all it is a great place to see how we can help the environment and each other.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been associated with Solutions for Change for a number of years. I have been honored to see the great transition that is effected in the lives of the Solutions families, ending their homelessness permanently. Solutions for Change gives a beautiful gift of new life to hundreds of children and their parents.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer the time I have spent working with the people that are a part of the program have made me realize that no matter what kind of background they all have everyone is given a second chance to become self sufficient as well as reunite and or strengthen families all while eliminating homelessness that is a big problem for a lot of these families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Actually a lot of what I have seen doesn't require change but simply a lot more help from the community to keep it a float and working to solve homelessness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 4, 2014

more

March 4, 2014

I'm a student from High Tech High and we have an internship program that us seniors take on for a hole semester and I choose this organization because its a fun community to work in and everyone respects one another. Its a place were I can learn so much from the company and that's something I've never got from any kind of internship before. This is a place were you would love to come back to, to volunteer. :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I were to make changes to the company I would donate money to the organization for future growth. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers