Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
424 Reviews
1234.787745
Write A Review
November 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 12, 2011

SOLDIERS ANGELS WISCONSIN CNC AND STATE "ACTING" LEADER: Before Soldiers Angels, I was a Registered Nurse for our Veterans. My back was injured and pain took over. Eventually, the pain became "managed... more

November 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have also left Soldiers Angels Organization because they demand payment to be a part of their charity. No way should someone HAVE to pay to be able to send a package to a Soldier or help in other ways. I will say what is great about Soldiers Angels isn't the organization but rather the individuals who are involved and who have never seen Soldiers Angels Executive Board up close and personal. I DO NOT recommend this organization. I have served as a Registered Nurse to our Veterans. I believe 100% in our Veterans but would rather see the monies go 100% to our Veterans and Soldiers. I am a firm believer of some charities but will NEVER endorse this one after what I have seen and experienced first hand. Please DO help our Veterans and Soldiers but do it through organizations like the DAV and serving our Veterans first hand at the VA Hospitals. Your help for our Veterans and Soldiers not an Organization is desperately needed!
February 12, 2011

SOLDIERS ANGELS WISCONSIN CNC AND STATE "ACTING" LEADER: Before Soldiers Angels, I was a Registered Nurse for our Veterans. My back was injured and pain took over. Eventually, the pain became "managed" and I began missing my Veterans. Because of the back damage, I couldn't go back to work caring for them. I did an internet search and looked at all the organizations. I knew there were many to pick from. I picked Soldiers Angels because they have so many teams. You can do anything from sending a card to adopting a Soldier on a "one to one basis". Also, they don't stop with just the Soldiers. I also organized ice cream socials in two of our VA Hospitals. Our Veterans "love these" per their own words. This gives them something to look forward to all month. I also love the fact that they give backpacks to the wounded in the battlefield and also backpacks for the VA hospitals. This December, we raised over $500 for that endeavor. We will be hosing another event in May for the same purpose. I've talked to the returning Soldiers who tell me that they keep these backpacks with them in the field and use them on the injured soldiers as they need them. They couldn't thank Soldiers Angels enough. I could also talk about the many soldiers I've been blessed to adopt. One adopted me and became my Son. I've been very blessed through my involvement. I write letters and am a letter writing team captain. I know the Soldiers LOVE the letters they receive, it's a taste of home. It's a honor and privilege to do all I can for our Soldiers and Veterans. Soldiers Angels has enabled me to continue care giving for those who give even up to their lives for us. How can you possibly say thank you to an organization that great? I need some words that haven't been invented yet to be able to do that! I'm very grateful and honored to be part of Soldiers Angels.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the faces of my many smiling Veterans who LOVE the ice cream socials and are so blessed by them. Also, I've experienced how much our Soldiers love Soldiers Angels by the many letters I've received. I have heard back from our Medics who received Christmas goods and I know how grateful the Medics are also for the backpacks. This organization is the greatest in the many ways it helps from providing shower goods to new Mothers to providing backpacks to the Wounded and the Veterans in the Hospitals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to help this organization at a national level become more organized. That seems to be their biggest challenge. For example, they need a way to let the State leaders know when new Angels have joined to their state.

October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I am a clinician that works with a group of veterans that recieve the benefits of our local Soldiers Angels group. The organization is incredible thorough, flexible, and passionate. They provide bi-monthly meals with so much left over food that the veterans in this residential program can eat this for several days rather than the hospital food. Beyond the experience of a wonderful homecooked meal they also provide basic essentials like shirts, socks, and soap, but the what they provide are much more fun like scented soaps and clothes with fun logos. The veterans all enjoy their time with these volunteers. These volunteers prove to our veterans that "normal people" care about them, no matter what their history is. As a staff member working with these volunteers, I know I have very little to worry about. They work hard to work within the framework of our program as well as providing their service with care.
June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

Our VA Medical Center in Canandaigua, NY just received a VERY generous donation of premium ground coffee that has been disbursed to a variety of inpatient and outpatient programs. This will assist a HUGE number of Veterans that are participating in recreational programs, groups and a variety of therapy. Some of the programs directly benefiting include our Vet Center, Recreation, Homeless Program, Chaplain Service, Veterans Transition and Recovery Center, Adult Day Health Care and PTSD.

We are so grateful for this amazing and generous donation!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2014

more

June 18, 2014

The fact that this organization is driven by volunteers is what has impressed me. These amazing people truly have a heart for the military, and reach out personally to find out what they need and then find the resources to meet that need. Especially with all the news about the underserved veteran population, this is a stand out with their ability to go a into the VA hospitals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2014

more

June 18, 2014

Fantastic organization. Our Soldiers Angel's rep, Leslie Scott, is phenomenal. Bundle of energy with boundless enthusiasm. Always there when we have a vet or family that needs assistance. She is so good, that we had some groups come together to honor her.
Keep up the great work. We need
everyone in the fight.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 5, 2014

I started out as a volunteer with Soldiers' Angels a decade ago and have witnessed some amazing acts of kindness, compassion, and generosity from this organization. They have filled needs for the deployed that no other organization have and are spearheading new programs for the veterans at home. A wonderful group to be a part of!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 1, 2014

more

May 1, 2014

I love this organization. Soldiers' Angels provides aid and comfort to all soldiers, veterans, and caregivers. They help everyone not just post 9/11. "May No Soldiers Go Unloved" is my favorite saying.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 29, 2014

I love Soldiers' Angels and the amazing work the organization does. I think it's about time the organization put some necessary structure in place. The organization had great heart but lacked structu... more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love Soldiers' Angels and the work the organization does. I'm proud and honored to be a part of it! The changes made recently have made a difference in the organization and really made is a better place for all of us to volunteer.
April 29, 2014

I love Soldiers' Angels and the amazing work the organization does. I think it's about time the organization put some necessary structure in place. The organization had great heart but lacked structure. Patti wanted to do too many things for too many people and didn't take the time to run a business. I'm so excited to see the organization focusing on VA Medical Center support. It's greatly needed!
October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

Barbara I understand your fustrations but there is no reason for the organization to open their books to you when it is online already. Additionally if you read the reasons as to why we received the low ratings you might have a different opinion of Soldiers' Angels. They are a true non-profit whose CEO does not take a commission. Look at WWP or Operation Homefront, they are reaping the benefits from exploiting Veterans and are not supporting as many Veterans and Service members that Soldiers' Angels is supporting. Its a shame that people like you look at money as the determining factor on how a great an organization is instead of the work it actually succeeds in completing. Basically your mis-informed and under educated on this issue.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2010

more

May 21, 2010

Soldiers' Angels is not just any non profit: Each Angel has a true compassion to make sure that every Soldier in the United States have someone who cares for them. We not only adopt individual Soldiers but we also conduct larger events for them as well. Currently will be at LZ Lambeau Field welcoming all Vietnam Veterans Home in Wisconsin. Would write more about this fantastic secure organization but need to arrange more boxes and a few letters must go out for mail call so No Soldier Ever Feels Unloved! Thanks to Director Patti who is non stop making sure with all of our Teams and Events and Boxes keep us going and inspire to get up early & stay up late manning our Angel Posts. We understand how hard our Soldiers in all branches work hard to keep US safe and the little extra we do means so much. As a woman love the fact they address the needs of Women Soldiers and hats off to the Ladys' of Liberty Team.. I know the work you do is incredible. Wing-tip-to-wingtip One of Many Beloved Angels to our Soldiers. Angel in WI

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The faces of all Women and Men Soldiers who see our shirts or know we step in to assist and make their day. One of the best is the hugs we get if they know we are Angels..Director Patti is fantastic and all of the Angels are fantastic

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers