Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
317 Reviews
1234.753945
| 1 2 3...24 |
Write A Review
July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 9, 2011

I first joined Soldiers' Angels in Dec. of 2006 while my husband was serving on active duty. I wanted a way to give back to those like my husband who serve, and to find ways to support those around me... more

July 31, 2014

I have been with Soldiers' Angels since 2006 and have held a variety of positions throughout the organization in that time. What began as a way to give back to others while my husband was Active Duty has by far become the most rewarding choice I have ever made. The hands on nature of the organization and the sense of family and belonging that develops cannot be spoken enough.
As with everything changes occur and yet I've seen some of the most steadfast, loyal people I've ever had the pleasure to mentor and work with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 9, 2011

I first joined Soldiers' Angels in Dec. of 2006 while my husband was serving on active duty. I wanted a way to give back to those like my husband who serve, and to find ways to support those around me who were going thru a deployment around me even though I was not.
What started out as
something small has now gotten me thru some of the hardest times of my life. Soldiers' Angels not only supports those serving and their families but their volunteers as well. We all support one another. I have made many amazing bonds and friendships to last a lifetime and wouldn't change a single thing.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Positive responses from heroes

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none at all

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I have been disappointed since the new administration took over. It seems so much more impersonal now. When Cindy Glenn was in charge of emailing out soldiers as my group leader it was awesome. I have been doing this 6 years, I got my assignment each month I baked and mailed my package. Back in November everything changed. I was told they had disbanded the program. Then in a month we were told just the rules had changed. We had to rejoin the organization pay money to bake, and send a form in saying who we had baked for and what we had sent. Cindy said I was on a new team not hers anymore
When I asked to stay on her team I got a couple more soldier assignment, but I almost had to beg for them. I know it was not Cindy's fault I guess I was not on her list, but I never got assignments from the other leader either. Finally in May I gave up. I miss baking and feel bad each month, but I have been lost in the crack somehow. Pull me back up on solid ground and I will start participating again.
Frustrated in Lexington KY
Angel Baker ,
Karen Sparks

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Go back to the system that has work for the 6 years I was baking. My answers below reflect my frustration now, and what has happened in the last 6 months.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

Of the many veterans groups I've belonged to Soldiers' Angels is by far the most rewarding! I've worked with their Georgia group for several years now and the level of organization, productivity, and camaraderie among the volunteers is unmatched. I love that Soldiers' Angels has been able to transition so well with the times and redirect their efforts towards the veterans coming home and in the hospitals. I'm also glad to see their leadership and donation policies become more structured in recent months, but am sorry to hear that so many of their older members refused to see the merits of this change and resorted to slandering the org's efforts to rein in the undisciplined practices of the very members that are doing the complaining. Regardless, I see Soldiers' Angels having a very bright future and hope to volunteer with them for as long as I'm able!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...expand it's reach to more of the country! I have friends & relatives in other states that would love to do what I do in Georgia, but can't find a Soldiers' Angels group to work with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 29, 2014

I have been a loyal angel since 2008. I love the mission of supporting our troops and their families. However, the treatment towards former angels and team leaders by the new administration is very unprofessional and unorganized. The lack of communication regarding the teams and finances is unacceptable. This organization will not receive any more donations from me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire Amy Palmer

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

I've been a Soldier's Angel for 7 years and I love it. This is an amazing organization. It is a blessing to show love and support to our soldiers and let them know they are in our thoughts and prayers and our country is proud of them. I have met some incredible men and women serving our country and they are so grateful for the letters and packages. They can't believe a total stranger would take the time to boost morale and remind them of home and what they are serving for. I get so much joy back by giving to the soldier's through Soldier's Angels. SA does an enormous service to our country and the money and supplies donated to this non profit really make an impact. They are extremely fiscally responsible as a charity and I wouldn't invest my time and money with them if they weren't.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

I have been a volunteer with Soldiers Angels for 3 or 4 years. I love what the organization stands for, and the sense of joy I feel while doing my part (sending letters, postcards, packages, etc.) to brighten the lives of our brethren and sisters overseas who sacrifice so much for us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

I have been a Soldiers Angel since Aug 2007. I know that my letters and support has helped the moral of those whom I've adopted and I occasionally keep in contact with them after they return. You can donate but there's nothing like that one-on-one contact to keep it real. Some have family support and some do not. For those that do have a loving family to support them, I communicate that strangers do care too. I will end my letters with a salutation: "Take Care of the Mission – Take Care of your Comrades in Arms – God Bless you for a speedy return to family and friends. Feel free to share this letter – especially with anyone not receiving any mail because the Soldiers Angels motto is to β€œLet No Soldier Go Unloved."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If Soldiers Angels would close the warehouse because of the wasted postage rather than direct postage to the troops. Often SA will request items be shipped to a warehouse only to be sent out again. I pay and the warehouse pays. Money for shipping could be better spent.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 25, 2014

more

July 25, 2014

I learned about Soldiers' Angels through my older sister. For several years she had sponsored 4 soldiers, consistently sending them encouragement through packages, ecards and letters. When I got older I wanted to also shoe my appreciation for our service men and women and began sponsoring, as well as send weekly letters to various soldiers. I have immensely enjoyed the opportunity to reach out and say thank you for the sacrifice so many have given for our nation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014

more

July 13, 2014

In just a month of being a Soldier's Angel, I have sent over 100 cards and letters as part of the Cards Plus Team. I am already amazed and encouraged by fellow Angels. With as little as one letter a month, you can send some appreciation to someone in desperate need of uplifting words. Or you can choose to do more...whatever fits your lifestyle, schedule, budget, etc. I have days where I write for hours, and then there are times where several days or a week go by because I get busy. You can send cards/letters/packages to current service members both deployed and at home, to veterans celebrating a milestone, to family grieving the loss of a veteran, or to someone recovering from war injuries. We also support those who are caregivers for veterans. I seriously can't get enough of this organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The Cards Plus Team page is slightly confusing. It would be nice if there was a bit more organization in regards to reviewing the requests I've already selected, but I've found that keeping my own list going is working just fine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

I have been a member since 2004, and have found that taking a few minutes out of my week, it allows me to provide a smile to many deployed. It encompasses not only care packages but for some adoption of an individual who is in need of greater morale support, chaplains with supplies, medics with a break-away from their stress, K-9 teams with additional grooming supplies, treats and toys, Ladies of liberty with a touch of pink and magazines of interest, Wounded Warriors with encouragement as well as Fischer Houses, Ladies of Valor (care-givers from 9-11 and beyond) morale support, with our Bakers Team and Knitters, Birthdays and holidays are sweeter, Military families struggling with operating on "Hold" support and morale. Veterans in homes or Homeless, gifts, treats, care packs, This is for the on-going or the ONE-Time either in groups such as church or classroom, youth groups or companies as well. Quilters donate lap blankets for the immediate transport when belongings are left behind. If you can read, write, reach out and bring a smile, this is the organization that provides so many avenues. Making mail-call an event instead of a reminder of where they are. This is NOT a statement of politics just a reaching out from the heart.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more youth groups and classrooms aware of the opportunity to "Pay it forward", in a one time or ongoing adoption.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers