Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
428 Reviews
1234.789725
Write A Review
June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

There are probably hundreds of groups supporting our brave Warriors afar and here at home, but when I found Soldiers' Angels in 2005, I knew it was the place for anyone who felt it their heart that they could make a difference. It was the place for me, and I remain dedicated to our Hero's through Soldiers' Angels, to this day.

It was in 2005 that I read a story in our neighborhood newsletter that was written by a Soldier who had redeployed. He spoke of the obvious increase in the morale of the troops that were deployed by his side, and how receiving and sharing the items he received in the goody box his mom sent to him, helped him through some pretty tough times. My heart sank when he mentioned that there were so many troops that did not receive care packages or communication from the folks back home. That was it.....I signed-up to be an angel.

I support Soldiers' Angels efforts with my heart and soul. They have come-up with, or shall I say re-mastered, a masterpiece! Every step is orchestrated to perfection. The "angel" protocol is clear, which makes it easy to volunteer as I have, for one or many of the teams (Adoption Team, Letter Writing Team, Card Plus Team, WTLC Team..just to name a few) created to help our sentinel's here at home and afar. It is very clear that all members of Soldiers' Angels hold the privacy of anyone who signs-up for a little help from an angel, in high regard. The system is built with that in mind. None of us want to be de-winged, so it's easy to follow the rules.

Each teams area Team Leader encourages, and offers helpful tips, which creates an atmosphere of a welcomed accountability. I embrace any step and procedure that will help us make the lives of those serving, and those who have returned home, a bit easier. My Team Leaders are responsive to my requests and to my concerns, which further encourages my involvement and loyalty.

I can't say enough about the ease in which I can quickly order a quick first-time package for someone I've adopted, through the online Angels' Store. The number of items in the store is evolving month to month from where it was a few months ago, and has always offered at the very least, something I can send right away to let the recipient know how important they are to us.

Lastly, the lasting friendships, letters I've received, and emails that continue, from some of the brave Warriors I've adopted or sent letters to over the years, encourages me to continue to do what I set out to do: to make a difference in the lives of the brave men and women who selflessly defended and continue to defend the freedom I enjoy each minute of each day. And to let each one that is introduced to my life, know that they should never doubt their importance.

Thank you Soldiers' Angel, for being the tool to me being able to help :o)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It's obvious that our Warriors' work around the world is not going to come to an end anytime soon, so I would like to see the Angel's Store replenished to its previous level, in order to fully support our troops. I would like to see the selection of items and care packages, although better than it was, increase.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I started volunteering for Soldiers' Angels this year and I must say that this is a fantastic organization and I am happy to encourage others to volunteer and get involved, too. Everyone is so friendly and you can feel the love radiating off the staff; love for both their jobs and for the service members they aid. If you're looking to support the military either through donations or volunteering, Soldiers' Angels is the organization you need to get involved with!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

My young daughter and I have been Soldier's Angels since about 2009 and have primarily been part of the TLC portion, in which we make homemade cards, letters and send words of encouragement to all branches of service who are in need! We personally have made and sent literally hundreds of cards all over the world! We also have been the personal Soldier's Angel to a specific female soldier, in which we sent personal letters, and boxes of anything she needed while she was deployed in Afghanistan...this nonprofit organization has been one of the most fulfilling commitments our family has had the opportunity to be a part of! We joined as members when my husband was actually also an active duty Marine, and thus we have been blessed to see the benefits of this organization, we have had several friends (fellow Marines my husband knew and worked with) who have been blessed by their generosity! Sometimes just a small bit of love, encouragement, support and/or appreciation makes all the difference to a lonely, homesick, PTSD affected, or needy service member!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I have been a HAPPY member / volunteer of Soldiers' Angels since 2004.

First my family & I started out by adopting deployed troops and then in 2007, I was blessed and honored to be a part of the Soldiers' Angels Veterans Support Team and volunteer for the PTSD Recovery Program at the Menlo
Park Veterans Hospital (it's part of the Palo Alto VA)

Since 2007, Soldiers' Angels has supported our Team's work with the PTSD Program, which serves countless Vets...and that includes Vietnam Vets, Gulf War Vets and Troops returning from Iraq & Afghanistan.. (and the numbers are growing every day!)

Soldiers' Angels have supported the PTSD program with multiple Big Screen TV's & Wii & Game Boy Systems, so the Vets who are living on-campus during their 3-4 month program can INTERACT with each other while playing Sports Games, instead of isolating themselves.

Over the last seven years, Soldiers' Angels has sent ENDLESS supplies of backpacks, socks, boxers, undershirts, tons & tons of sorely needed toiletries, duffle bags, beanies, hand-made quilts, pajamas, hand-made pillow cases, shower sandals, PTSD Workbooks, puzzle books etc to our Veterans.

Also, Soldiers' Angels sends us monthly financial donations to finance and feed 55-60 folks at our bi-monthly Dinner events that we hold every month! These events are a huge morale-booster for our PTSD Vets...plus it's a refreshing change from the Chow Hall grub and it's a great time to celebrate monthly birthdays with gift bags and also with games & prizes that always puts a huge smile on their faces.

When we hold our bi-monthly events at the Menlo Park VA, it is common for a Veteran to approach me and tell me how Soldiers' Angels had sent his unit or base tons of much-needed & morale-boosting care-packages!
Also, so many have told me with tears in their eyes, that a member of Soldiers' Angels "adopted" them individually and sent them care-packages throughout their entire deployment.

I am so blessed and proud to be a small part of Soldiers' Angels. I am so thankful for the compassion and generosity that Soldiers' Angels shows our Military men and women who have given and sacrificed so much to ensure our Freedom!

I am fully and thankfully aware that there are many wonderful Patriotic Organizations that support our Troops & Veterans, but I have to say that in my humble opinion, Soldiers' Angels ranks very high on the list.

Thank you Soldiers' Angels for the amazing support and love that you provide for our precious men & women of the U.S Military!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change that I pray for is that MORE Americans would join Soldiers' Angels or any Organization who will support our Troops and Veterans! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

Thanks to Soldiers' Angels I have been able to volunteer alongside a fabulous group of people. Everyone that I have had the pleasure of working with has such a generous giving spirit. Also, the heroes we have been able to serve deserve more than I could ever give.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I am a volunteer who lives in Canada. I have family who are American (I am Canadian). I have found that the Soldier Angels organization is very good and wonderful. I have been lucky enough to be part of this wonderful organization and get to meet (online) some wonderful people who have become my friends Not only do they help the men and women in the military but they help other people whenever anyone ask . They provide morale support, whether it is via letters, emails or phone calls, or even through projects like baking a cake, or sewing blankets. Some of my contacts whom I have found through Soldier Angels have said that they are so honor and thankful for the support that Soldier Angels has provided to them. I am happy to continue to be part of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I have had many experiences volunteering with Soldiers' Angels. I have seen first hand the difference they make in the lives of those they serve. I have not met one volunteer or staff member who doesn't absolutely live what they do and who they serve. They truly give from the heart. I plan on volunteering and donating for years to come. They make volunteers feel extremely welcomed and an integral part of the team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

My experience and time with Soldiers' Angels has been rewarding beyond measure. This wonderful non profit serves veterans of all eras equally. They work tirelessly at their mission trying to make the lives of service members, veterans, and family members better in any way they can. They have many teams and programs to accomplish this task. They value their volunteers and offer many ways to get involved. They are a remarkable group of people who have great passion for what they do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
June 26, 2014

I joined Soldiers Angels several years ago when I saw an interview on the news. The group has done some pretty amazing things and I am so impressed that this was all started by one loving mom. The point of the group is fully expressed in their motto "May no soldier go unloved". This group allows me to do something for the men and women that put their lives on the line so that I can be free and raise my kids in a free nation. Writing letters or sending care packages doesn't seem like much in the grand scheme of things however those soldiers that don't get their names called regularly at mail time experience the difference and the benefits of the volunteers with this group. Every time I reached out to someone within the organization they got back to me very quickly and were willing to take the time to provide me with the answers and the help I was looking for. This is truly a great organization and I feel blessed to be apart of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
June 26, 2014

I've been with Soldier's Angels for nearly two years now and I love being part of this remarkable group! The volunteers and administrators are exceptional and the friendly, interactive and supportive environment and network makes this already rewarding endeavor even more so. You feel as if you are truly part of something special (and we ARE!)

I've received letters and notes from service members that I've supported that have left me in tears. Knowing my efforts - even seemingly so small - have had such an impact on those I write to and support is rewarding beyond measure.

JOIN SOLDIER'S ANGELS and embark on one of the most fulfilling journeys of your life.

Karen Schweiger

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers