Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
149 Reviews
1234.677855
Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
January 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I was a volunteer with SA until all of Patti's crazy stuff started. Deleting posts on the SA facebook site, because she didn't agree with what was said. I posted and asked questions, and I was deleted within 5 minutes, and banded from the site. Also with the $1.00 per month for the 175,000 volunteer angels, was way out of line. SA wanted to have your credit card info on file, so they could charge every month. Or you could pay for the year in full. With all of this happening SA has lost a host of many volunteers that were making a difference in a soldiers life while being deployed. The last time I looked at the SA website, there were over 1600 soldiers waiting to be adopted for some help. If Patti and her crew, hadn't been so very mean and spiteful these soldiers would be adopted and receiving the support and love.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I was a volunteer with this organization for several years. I was on the Letter Writing Team, the Chaplain Support Team and had adopted soldiers whom I spent thousands of dollars on, not to mention hours of love and support. Then Ms. Patton-Bader wants to charge $1 from 175,000 people? Supposedly to weed through and eliminate those who are inactive. She disrespected and treated her thousands of active volunteers with absolutely no regard. Her website she still quotes Soldiers Angels as having over 175,000 volunteers. If she had that many volunteers - she wouldn't have over 1,600 soldiers waiting to be adopted. A week before she made the $1 "donation" MANDATORY, she sent out emails begging for $30,000 for postage so they could mail out care packages that were sitting in the warehouse waiting to be mailed because she didn't have postage money. Then after many of us were ousted because we voiced our concerns and opinions - we were INVOLUNTARILY blocked from any and all forums, teams, etc. She "ousted" me - then had the nerve to send me a letter asking for a $250 donation? She has a "special" donor who will match donations at January 5. Who is this special donor? Those that are "Team Leaders" who have been team leaders for years who are having to undergo background checks in order to remain as Team Leaders? WTF???? And at this point - who believes anything she has to say - she is far from credible. Most of her "testimonials" are YEARS old. She is shady - she always has an excuse - not an answer. She is in way over her head and doesn't have a clue about running a non-prof. She has destroyed it. She has destroyed the spirit of volunteerism. Nepotism runs rampant within her organizational structure. She does not list her paid corporate employees on her official website. Those have been removed. This woman and her shady staff throw up smoke screens at every opportunity; they are not forthcoming in the least. Noone should have to pay to volunteer, and if you are not getting the kind of donations in order to retain your non-prof status - then you are obviously mis-managing your organization. She's quick to place the blame; doesn't want to hear any opinion that doesn't agree with her convoluted way of thinking. The truly sad thing is that she has HURT SOOOOO MANY volunteers and the ones to truly suffer are the soldiers that were being extremely well taken care of by her army of volunteers. Good luck Ms Patton-Bader .... you're going to need it because your organization is imploding. I am glad to be out. I want to retain my credibility and reputation among the other angels, volunteer organizations and most importantly the troops.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close the doors!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love the idea of Soldiers' Angels. I was a verified angel. I had a soldier to whom I was sending letters and packages this fall. I don't recall receiving any emails requesting money to continue being an angel. All of a sudden, packages and letters I sent were being returned without explanation. When I tried to sign onto their website to find out what was going on, I had been blocked. It turned out that it was because I hadn't paid them. Well, I can't pay when I don't know there's a fee. They didn't even have the courtesy to contact me to tell me that they assigned my soldier to someone else. All that money and time I spent on packages and cards...down the drain. Their reasoning for the fee is to weed out people who are looking for relationships. I reluctantly paid the fee and have been assigned a new soldier. I was only willing to do this because my daughter wanted to help soldiers and we're doing this together. If it wasn't for her, I wouldn't do this again. The way they handled things left a nasty taste in my mouth. It was unprofessional. Yesterday, I received an email about being part of a "team" that I didn't know I was part of. I had never received any emails from a team leader. Today I received a letter from her demanding that forms be completed and sent back in less than 24 hours. I do enough for them! I'm not filling out some useless forms so that they can brag to who knows who about how many letters and packages are sent to soldiers, and how much money I've spent on the packages. It's ridiculous and insulting. I am so done! I will happily spend my time volunteering for an organization that appreciates and respects me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove the volunteer fee, improve communication with volunteers, respect volunteers' time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

To the lady that loves SA, great. Just think about the 175,000, yes 3 zeros!, x $1.00 a month manatory
payment x 12 months and then check out their website and click on Financials and see how much these
people are paying themselves.
I volunteered and did what ever I could to
support our troops. And the soldier(s) appreciated what I did.
I didn't do it for Patti and was suspended from SA when I joined another group. Which basically told me that I could only donate to Patti's cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 9, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

They are now charging you to be a volunteer after you already pay to send your own care packages, postage, and time. and they also have Amy Palmer helping them with finances who was co founder of operation home front and was recently fired when $36K of goods that was suppose to go to military families went missing. NO volunteer should have to pay. I have been a member since 2006 and now no more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 31, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

I started with this organization several years ago and have enjoyed writting to our men and women serving overseas. It is sad to see this "non-profit" organization decide to charge volunteers $12/year to volunteer. If you do not pay the fees, you are removed. Very sad.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Learn to appreciate their volunteers and stop treating them unkindly. Now they are charging volunteers $12 a year to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

WOW ...what not to say about this great non profit...started by a Mom... Patty Patton-Bader when her son was deployed. From that first group of ladies that helped write letters and send packages to deployed....the ranks of volunteers have grown from all over the world. I had adopted 8-10 deployed soldiers over the years...have sent 100's of signed xmas cards for the stockings, sent many one time boxes until a soldier would be adopted by his own angel. This non profit is 150% for our deployed, their families and our wonderful veterans. I now help at the local VA to get much needed personal hygiene items, cards, small gifts, etc for our Veterans. Would highly recommend anyone that wants to help the veterans...to try this group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am not involved in upper decision making policy...so I would have no idea if changes needed to be made...but I would love to see more funding for groups like this from big corporations, schools, etc to help them...to help the military, their families and the veterans. They give so much for the USA...they deserve a hand up.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have "adopted" two soldiers through Soldier's Angels, and organized groups to write letters to soldiers to show them our appreciation. This organization is effective and provides many people with ideas and resources to get involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2013

more

August 17, 2013

This is a great organization to work with. I have enjoyed my time helping our soldiers. My family has also signed up and we are participating as a family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2012

My wife and I got involved with Soldiers Angel's about ten years ago.Our son was a Marine and did three tours back-to-back in Iraq. As reitred US Army, I wanted to do something for the Troops that we... more

June 5, 2013

Soldiers Angels notifiy us of the pending problem with forward bases not getting a hot meal. Those who serve in these forward bases didn't even get breakfast. They provided a mailing address so people in the midwest could send them brekfast items to eat. They provide us information to be able to send packages or just kind words from Home to lift up their spirit. They are willing to help on the homefront to assistant Military families with all kinds of problems that they face. They are truly Soldiers Angels in time of need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

My wife and I got involved with Soldiers Angel's about ten years ago.Our son was a Marine and did three tours back-to-back in Iraq. As reitred US Army, I wanted to do something for the Troops that were in Iraq and Afganistan. I became involed with airport home comings and send off of the miltary from the Quad Cities. I also got involed with Funerals of local troops. The Soldiers Angels provided us with pins and coins to give to the Moms, Dads, Wifes, and anyone that was having a hard time handling the deployment.Our first funeral was a very young 19 year old MP. To allow us to be able to comfort her with a pin at the loss of their loved one. They help with send Christmas packages to the troops. They have assisted units when I would tell them no o9ne is sending them package. My son carried his Solders Angel pin during his deployment. At night, my wife and I would clucth our pins to our hearts and pray that Tim would be okay. Thank you Soldiers Angels for giving me a chance to help out our miltary and their familes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers