Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
421 Reviews
1234.795725
Previous | 1 2 3...29 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I've been a volunteer with Soldiers' Angels for over a year now and I send out anywhere from 30 to 60+ cards a month to deployed soldiers and veterans. My greatest joy is getting my mail or opening my email and seeing something from a soldier saying how very much they appreciate the letters and care packages they receive from our angels. I often hear that the soldier was having a rough day and then got several cards/letters from angels right then when they needed them most. Thank you to all the volunteers and to those who donate cards, supplies, items, money to help us continue reaching out to our soldiers who are giving up so much to serve our country.
October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been with Soldier's Angels for many years. I was a little skeptical when some changes were implemented recently, but I now understand why changes were needed. I feel this organization is so organized and well run. They have a primary objective and it is simple...they serve our soldiers. Sending out cookies, adopting soldiers, mailing cards, etc. They are an outstanding organization and I am both proud and humbled to be a member. I hear so many people say they wish they knew something they could do for our military. I confidently tell them, check out Soldier's Angels.
October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a new volunteer from the Great State of Tennessee. My Soldier is also from Tennessee and that is fantastic. After writing for a few months, I asked her why she wrote for an Angel Pen Pal and she told me that she was ordered to by the Commander as she had not heard from her family in quite a while and was depressed. She is now hearing from her Mom again and so she now has two families in Tennessee who Love her. Thank you Soldiers Angels for allowing us Angels to make such a huge difference in a Soldier's life.
October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Since the new leadership took over at Soldiers Angels and instituted a "pay your dues or you can't be on a team" policy, I am no longer an active angel. I prefer my money go directly to the services offered to the troops, not to try to balance a poorly run budget and the upcoming planned salaries for the SA leadership. As a volunteer we were asked to pay our dues AND to pay for the postage/gifts we sent to the troops and their families.
October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Soldier's Angel for years now and have had the fortune of supporting our soldiers who have been all over the world. I feel that this in addition to supporting Wreaths Across America Houston, this organization allows anyone to make as big or small of a difference as they can. I appreciate this organization in that they do all the leg work in finding soldiers who want to participate and provide us with guides in our journey to make the difference we want to make.
October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I'm not sure who benefits more in Soldiers' Angels, the soldiers I write to or me. I have been a verified angels for almost 3 years and it has been a wonderful experience. We don't always hear from our soldiers regularly; however when we do, they are so excited about receiving the letters and the boxes it is most gratifying. Homemade cookies bring cheers! And I often hear how my soldiers share what they find in the boxes. What special people our soldiers are!
October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Soldier's Angel for just over a year now and I'm on my sixth soldier (they keep getting redeployed home ... a very good thing)! I have enjoyed the interaction with my "adoptees", "friending" some on Facebook and continuing to keep in touch with them as they return home and return to their families. Supporting those who serve in the military is so important. They have pledged to keep our nation safe and we owe them so much. Being able to support the military on such a personal level is a wonderful feeling.

I had planned on spending part of my time as a volunteer when I retired, but since an early disability retirement prohibited my actual performance of activities such as working at a senior center, driving for Meals on Wheels or some other form of volunteer work that required physical work or stamina, this group allowed me to fulfill my wishes to be able to give and share with others.

I found a quote today that sums up my feelings:
The best antidote I know for worry is work. The best cure for weariness is the challenge of helping someone who is even more tired. One of the great ironies of life is this: He or she who serves almost always benefits more than he or she who is served.
- Gordon B. Hinckley
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I have been a Soldier's Angel for about 6 years. This has been a very gratifying endeavor. I have had the honor of becoming friends of several of these heroes, and have been able to keep in touch after their deployment. I was also able to host some of these brave men and women in our home. One wonderful example was being invited to a graduation for one of my Soldier/heroes at the ceremony for her becoming an security expert to protect US.
I am proud to be able to help these heroes, with letters and small reminders of how proud we are of their service.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I began working with Soldiers' Angels Germany in 2006 and am happy to say that I still am. I visited the hospital in Germany and saw the impact of what we do. I am also involved in many of the other teams: OTK, Veterans Support, adoptions to name a few. The feedback I have received lets me know that this Organization is important to so many people.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I've been adopting soldiers since 2009! I'm on my 13th soldier. I used to write to 'any soldier' through 'Operation Dear Abby' when I was in college. I have friends and family and now children of friends who serve (served) in the military. I wanted a way to Really/ Actually help the men and women who serve our country. I am very happy to be a part of Soldier's Angels because I feel that they are a REAL organization; meaning I Trust them and Trust that the monetary donations that I make are Truly going where SA says they are going and though each of 'my' soldiers hasn't been able to write to me, I trust that the letters and packages are going to soldiers who need the support, encouragement and goodies I send. The soldiers I have heard from tell me how 'every little bit helps' and 'it makes them feel good to know they are thought of by us here in the States'. I value my freedom and love the USA and am happy that with SA I have a way to Actually Tell and Show my appreciation and thankfulness Directly to The People who are Serving our country!
Previous | 1 2 3...29 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers