Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
149 Reviews
1234.677855
| 1 2 3 4...15 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I remember when I was deployed to Iraq in 2004, Soldiers' Angels sent me care packages. Being more than three thousand miles away from home, it was really nice for an organization to show someone they cared. I had two angels while on my deployment and will never forget the things they did for me. I truly do appreciate all they are doing and have done for me. Thanks a lot.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

This is a very rewarding cause supporting our deployed military. You may think you are helping a military member but the rewards you get in return are amazing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I learned about Soldier's Angels when my son died in Iraq in 2011. Members of their card team send our family cards and letters to encourage us through those difficult days after the funeral. I wanted to do something to honor the memory of my son so I decided to adopt several soldiers through Soldier's Angels. I write my adopted soldiers and Marines upbeat letters and emails --plus I send them monthly care packages. I want each of them to know that people back home think about them and we appreciate their sacrifice to serve in our country's military. I am glad I am a Soldier's Angel and I hope to keep "angeling" as long as there are soldeirs we can adopt!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

Awesome opportunity to make a new friend and support someone who needs you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I have been fortunate to be a Soldiers Angel now for quite a few years. Through soldiers I have written, families that I acted as the Christmas Angel and adopted soldiers I have sent packages to -each is so appreciative of the recognition and assistance that it is humbling. I am the one who is impressed with their sacrafices and those of their families. I have completely enjoyed my experience with this charity and look forward to being touched by so many more. Thank you Soldiers Angels for giving me the opportunity to give back!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 13, 2012

more

October 13, 2012

I've been a Soldier's Angel for a little over a year. I started out adopting a soldier, then I joined the letter-writing team. Since then I've volunteered at a homecoming, deployment, toys for tots, baby shower for military moms, National Guard drill, etc. Every Angel I've met has been so dedicated that they inspire me to want to do more. The reputation of Soldier's Angels is very good and so very well-deserved. I have a number of pen-pals who are deployed service members I've written to as part of the LWT, who've written back to tell me how they got heard about Soldier's Angels. They always talk about a battle buddy who got a package, a card, a letter and so they signed up as well. some were just looking around the internet and didn't really expect anything to come of it when they signed-up and suddenly they're adopted, remembered and supported. When the call goes out Soldier's Angels answers, and answers the need big time. I've seen it time and time again. I am proud to wear my Soldier's Angels shirt and "advertise". This is an excellent organization who has stayed true to its goal and stated mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

Barbara I understand your fustrations but there is no reason for the organization to open their books to you when it is online already. Additionally if you read the reasons as to why we received the low ratings you might have a different opinion of Soldiers' Angels. They are a true non-profit whose CEO does not take a commission. Look at WWP or Operation Homefront, they are reaping the benefits from exploiting Veterans and are not supporting as many Veterans and Service members that Soldiers' Angels is supporting. Its a shame that people like you look at money as the determining factor on how a great an organization is instead of the work it actually succeeds in completing. Basically your mis-informed and under educated on this issue.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I'm also a donor. I've been involved with SA since about 2005, writing letters and sending packages, purchasing items through the Angel store, and donating money, plus other activities. When SA started getting poor ratings from the BBB, Charity Watch and Charity Navigator for business practices and finances, I watched with interest as to what their response would be. Instead of 'fessing up and promising to clean house or do better, SA's leadership has been hostile to anyone who questions them, preferring to wrap themselves in the US flag and claim anyone who'd dare challenge them doesn't love soldiers. They've been unprofessional, demeaning, and totally dodged the issue of financial misconduct. I'm done with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a 100% disabled veteran and due to the economy, my daughter and her three children have moved in with me. Last Christmas, they gave me an angel who literally brought tears to my eyes as we opened the packages! I am praying I can use them again this year as my situation has not changed. I was so impressed, grateful and appreciated each and every smile that came from my grandchildren's faces as they opened their gifts. Thank you so much for such a great Christmas and for not forgetting the veterans as well as the active troops!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 13, 2012

more

August 13, 2012

I am an Angel and I have been volunteering for quite awhile. My life has been touched in many ways through this organization. I have many letters from the soldiers I have sent letters, birthday cards, and care packages. Through this organization I have helped many Marines, Sailors, Airmen, and Soldiers but in reality they have helped me more. Helping all these troops have helped me heal from the loss of a loved one. It keeps my spirits up and keeps me connected to the friends of my lost love one. FREE MAIL is the best type of mail. I have made many friends within the organization. The troops have become like family and you know you have made an impact in their life when they call you personally to let you know they are going to be a father. I have made friends with several military wives. I send directly from my house to them. It is a pleasure to belong to such a great organization. i have heard from most of my service members I have supported except for maybe two service members. Sometimes they do not have time to write while deployed but I receive thank you letters or post cards once they return home. I love being a Soldiers' Angel.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers