Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
149 Reviews
1234.677855
| 1 2 3...15 |
Write A Review
April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

This organization totally supports our troops, by sending letters, cards, care pkgs, and 100% total support. We are truly love what we do without question.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My son, SFC Richard J. Henkes II was KIA on 9-3-2006 in Mosul, Iraq. The first year I was overwhelmed with cards and letters from Soldier's Angels and was thankful for the messages of love I received. I was surprised the next year to receive continued letters and cards on my sons anniversary date of death. Again, to my amazement, I have received cards and letters from these wonderful volunteers every year for 10 years. When I receive a card from a Soldier's Angel, it makes me feel that someone is there thinking of me and my loss. I would never have rated them as low as I see on your website and I thank all of them for thinking of me and my son.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 22, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 22, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Upon reviewing your rating of Soldiers' Angels I would conclude that the only reason that this charity is rated lower than others competing for similar causes is centered in 2 categories. The Pimary Revenue Growth and the Program Expenses Growth are both down significantly since the respective numbers of two years ago. Although this is an indication that they have not been successful in raising funds the numbers show that their efficiency has improved over this period. It is unknown if this was a strategic decision by the charity or not. In any event they had a perfect score in Transparency and when adjusted for the lower overall numbers this seems to be a fine charity. Most impressive is that the founder is not compensated at all! I will continue to give to this charity in spite of your mediocre rating and would suggest that those doing research on charities through Charity Navigator dig into the numbers and not just look at the "star rating" given.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been an angel with Soldiers angels for about 5 years now. I love this organization and what it stands for! Our motto says it all" may no soldier go unloved."

One day after seeing another Michigan soldier killed in action, I said to myself what can I do to help overseas? So I went
to the internet and typed in helping soldiers and "Soldiers Angels' popped up. After reading about them, I decided to become an angel on the spot. I do not know anyone personally that is serving but I am thankful that I am able to do a little bit to maybe put a smile on someones elses face! I have adopted many of soldiers over the past 5 years and I am proud to be an Angel. I would recommend this organization to anyone and I have.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2011

I am a volunteer for Soldiers' Angels now for over 7 years...it is one of the BEST organizations for military support I have seen yet. I absolutely LOVE what we are able to accomplish through our org... more

December 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Soldiers' Angel for 8 years now, and I get giddy each and every time I get a piece of mail from one of the Heroes I have written to, sent a package, or even just said THANK YOU to!!! I cannot imagine NOT being an ANGEL and having the extended Soldiers' Angels Family behind me at all times!!! THIS is one of the BEST things I have ever done in my life!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2011

I am a volunteer for Soldiers' Angels now for over 7 years...it is one of the BEST organizations for military support I have seen yet. I absolutely LOVE what we are able to accomplish through our organization, including taking care of our Veterans, Gold Star Families, Wounded Warriors, etc. THANK YOU for allowing me to give my review! Kim Wagner- Fall River, MA

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the feedback I receive from the Heroes I have supported

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOTHING! Perfectly blended with the most wonderful administration!

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2011

. The friendships and people you meet along the way is a priceless gift. I enjoy being part of this team effort! more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Soldiers angels was started by Patti -Patton Bader when her son was in Iraq lacking necessary supplies. She started sending packages to his unit and friends got involved adopting soldiers and it has grown Nationwide. I have been a volunteer since 2006 and It's become my passion volunteer job. I am currently a State Capt. and Community Network Coordinator and oversee Vermont. There are so many teams and ways in which you can support our military and their families through this organization. Soldiers Angels has allowed us to support our local veterans and Guard soldiers who don't have a base large enough for support and housing. People tend to forget we have soldiers still fighting insurgents and dangerous situations around the world. Until they all come home we are here to support them, their families, and their pets.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2011

. The friendships and people you meet along the way is a priceless gift. I enjoy being part of this team effort!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The greatest reward is getting a letter of thanks from a soldier or someone who benefited from my/state efforts. Hearing from Patti Patton Bader directly when I have a question or idea makes the organization real and personal. Knowing you made a difference in someone's life is the "fuel" for the passion

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change the way money and effort of fundraising is handled and allow states to keep a percentage earned to fuel other fundraisers and costs associated with fundraising.

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I joined Soldiers Angels in September 2012. It was one of the best decisions I have ever made. I have enjoyed every moment of it from writing letters to sending care packages. It is always exciting to walk to the mailbox and find a letter from my adopted soldier! My soldiers deployment will end soon and I definitely will be adopting another one. My soldier did say he would be deployed again soon and if I was able if I could still be his angel. So when he is deployed again he will continue to be my adopted soldier. I have had so much fun doing it and I will most definitely adopt more soldiers in the future. So far my experience with SA has been wonderful and I would recommend SA website to anyone who wants to be more involved with supporting our troops!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I adopted a solider last January. It is one of the BEST things I have ever done. Writing letters, and putting together packages was so much fun! You don't realize how many things you have sitting around that could come in handy or make another smile. For example, I sent my solider newspapers-keeping him up to date with the Summer Olympics. I sent magazines that family members had already read. Candy and snacks that I received as gifts...all went to my solider. My sister is a teacher and her class made cards for my solider :) I usually purchased items to put in the care packages...but I just wanted to give some examples of item that you have sitting around! Be creative: I made a fleece blanket for him, my mom made a christmas stocking which I sent. When I received a letter from my solider and I could not have been happier to know that he received the packages! I would HIGHLY recommend adopting a solider. My solider is coming home in December-I will be adopting a new solider! I was getting wrapped up in my own world....this was a good way to remind myself of the world around me. GO ADOPT A SOLIDER!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I joined Soldiers' Angels only 5 DAYS AGO! I wanted to do something to thank the brave men and women in the military who sacrifice so much. A friend told me about Soldiers' Angels and after reading about them online, I realized it was exactly what I was looking for. So... I became a lifetime member, was given a mentor who answered all of my questions and adopted a soldier who has 2 care packages being sent through the online Angels store. I then emailed him to let him know that care packages were on its way and wanted him to be more specific about things he really needed. I received a reply the next day with his special needs and a huge thank you to this organization! He went on to say, "Military deployments are hard on us and our families at home as well. I am so happy there are places and people we can reach out to bring a little more comfort to our job out here. Thank you for your caring support and prayers." I dropped to my knees and cried. This American Hero was thanking us when he was the one who deserved all the thanks! Needless to say...a third care package with his specific needs was sent out today and I will keep him and his family in my prayers until he returns home. I became so fired up that I joined the letter writing team and will begin next week writing letters to soldiers so they know we are here to support them through out their deployment AND when they return home. Last but not least I signed up to adopt-a-family for the holidays. I can't wait to receive my family's wish list and shower them with love. Yes! All of this has happened in only 5 days!! I can't wait to become more involved and have more heartfelt stories to tell. For now...I am so grateful to have found Soldier's Angels so that when I rest my head at night I know this organization with all its volunteers will make sure no soldier feels unloved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I've been a member of Soldiers' Angels since 2004 when our oldest son was deployed the first time. He's presently on his 3rd. His first two were really hard deployments and what Soldiers' Angels did for him and his unit was just amazing. I will be forever in their debt. I have been a member of several teams and adopted numerous soldiers during my time with SA. I've been the team leader for the "Evoice Team" since it's inception. I've come in contact with may people over the years from donars, volunteers, members, and soldiers, sailors, airmen, mariens, and coast guard SA supports them all. They are of course only as good as the volunteers that run the orgnaization and the amount of donations they receive but even in the hard times SA finds a way to show the military that they are loved. God Bless Soldiers Angels. MikeS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers