Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
340 Reviews
1234.770595
| 1 ... 12 13 14...34 |
Write A Review
June 20, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I was an active volunteer for over 7 years. I adopted soldiers sending month packages directly overseas, wrote weekly letters and made donations to the organization.
The past year the group asked for manatory reports on when you wrote and then charged a monthly fee. You had to keep your credit
card on file, couldn't pay a yearly fee.

Didn't matter how much you donated in the past.

At that point I became inactive in their system.
It unfortunate how they handled it.

I know support tell them thanks and until they all come home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Come up with a one time yearly fee to support administrative expenses that you can cancel.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

I love this organization. You can do as much or as little as you want. They have multiple teams you can join along with adopting a deployed soldier. Being able to help one of our heroes by sending letters and packages is one of the highlights and they are always so grateful, it is truly humbling. If you can't afford to send boxes and letters all the time, they have teams where you can select a name of someone who just signed up and send them a letter (or a package). So you truly control how involved you get.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are bringing out a new database that will select the branch, sex, etc that you want. I think they should have had it out sooner.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

I love being a volunteer with Soldiers Angels. There are various teams to be on to meet your volunteer needs. There are opportunities to become group leaders, advance your skills, and time to how at your own pace to volunteer as you need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

Soldier's Angels is a great non profit organization. It takes a lot of want to to do what they do. It takes very special people to keep up with all they do. They care through and through.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

All talents are welcome at Soldier's Angels whether it is sewing, baking, letter writing, making cards or packing a box of goodies/needed items. Soldier's Angels allows you to participate at a level that you are comfortable with. That could be adopting a miitary person and sending a letter once a week and a package once a month to sewing a blanket for Operation Top Knot, or sending birthday cards for the Card Plus Team. I've been a volunteer with Soldier's Angels for 7 years and during that time I have made new friends, shared joys and difficult times with many Soldiers, sent out more letters and birthday cards that I ever thought was possible and I am proud to say that several of the Soldiers that I supported while they were in Iraq contacted me 1 or 2 years later when they went to Afghanistan and asked me to support them again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

This is a great organization with lots of different things you can do to support our troops. From letter writing to adoptions there is something for everyone. I am proud to be a volunteer for this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

Through Soldiers' Angels, we are showing our military how much we appreciate what they are doing for us. I joined this organization in 2008 and have officially adopted several service members sending them monthly letters and packages and have also sent numerous packages and letters to "unofficials." I have been on the Angel Bakers Team, sending home-baked goodies, and have also sent countless birthday cards, thank you cards and letters. Words cannot describe my feelings when I receive a "free mail" or an e-mail in reply to a letter or card I've sent - for them to do that after a very long and busy day leaves me speechless. They are so appreciative that a stranger would take the time to write to them. Sometimes I have tears in my eyes when I read their replies, especially when I know that some of them receive no support from family members and that gives me even more incentive to write and write and write.

I am still in contact with some of the soldiers I have supported since 2008. I treasure their friendship and continue to support them even though at this time they are not deployed..

Being a member of Soldiers Angels is a very rewarding and satisfying experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Recruit new members!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

We of Main Street United Methodist Church in Bay St Louis, MS, have supported, and continue to honor our soldiers in many ways through the leadership of Soldier Angel Jeanne "Granny" Graeser. Her enthusiasm has lead us to correspond with men and women in the military, provide Christmas cards and gifts for deployed units, sponsor fishing trips, lunches and parties for veterans, including disabled veterans at the VA Hospital in Biloxi, and those on active duty. (In fact, we have a "Gumbo Party" planned for July 28th at our church.) Our goal is to let the soldiers know how much we care about and appreciate them! Through the support and encouragement of Soldiers' Angels, we can make a difference in our world!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

I am the mother of two daughters and one son who have all served in the Air Force. I was so glad when I found Soldiers Angels, so that I could give to our troops. I send as many cards to them as I can. I know from experience that not all of the troops get mail from home. This organization is doing such wonderful work to help support all of those who are serving their country. Most people will not even know what the soldiers go thru on any given day and being part of Soldiers Angels is a way for me to say thank you. The people who run Soldiers Angels are top notch, awesome people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes necessary

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

Leslie and Soldiers' Angels have made a great contribution to the morale and support factor of our Military. While on deployment to the South China sea performing presence and patrol missions one of the best things that can happen is receiving a pallet of mail via the helicopter. Every Sailor onboard received a handwritten letter from Leslie herself. This was a very thoughtful gesture and demonstrated that there a very good, outstanding patriots who still support the missions that we undertake as a military. Soldiers' Angels is an organization that deserves serious kudos. A sincere thank you to you and your organization.

-Chief Petty Officer C. Callirgos, USN

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers