Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
428 Reviews
1234.789725
Write A Review
August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I have been a volunteer w/ SA for over 7 years. With the takeover I don't recognize this organization anymore. They seem to be financially driven as opposed to service driven.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I've been a Soldier's Angel for about six years now. I'm fortunate enough to still be in contact with three of the soldiers since they've come back home. What great people they are!
It's a great experience for me to send goodies and letters from home to hopefully brighten their day just a
little bit!
I hope to continue to adopt and support the troups overseas.


More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

I have been a volunteer with Soldiers' Angels for about 5 years, first on the card and letter-writing committee and later helping some at the warehouse when I moved to San Antonio. I have at this time also adopted 4 deployed soldiers and am preparing to adopt another as my current adoptee returns from his deployment. The satisfaction I get from helping our soldiers who do so much for us is a reward in itself, but also working with the amazing people who run this organization is a bonus! I love being an Angel!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been adopted by an Angel from this organization during my deployment to Afghanistan.

I have received lots of letters and cards from Angel's throughout the U.S., but the Angel I have had the most contact with is the one who adopted me. She has been absolutely fantastic. She
constantly encourages me when i'm having a rough time. She has sent me several things that I needed from the states that I couldn't get ahold of here.

And to be perfectly honest, My Soldier's Angel spoils me. She has sent me lots of goodies that pass the time quicker.

To anyone considering joining this organization: You have no idea how much it means to be adopted. The soldier's you adopt will appreciate you beyond words. Many soldiers don't receive a lot of mail from home. I am very, very close to my family but they rarely send mail none the less. You can be that reminder that we aren't forgotten. This feels like a forgotten war, and it's nice to know someone still cares about what we are doing here and what it costs.

To Soldier's considering asking for adoption: Do It. If you are adopted by an Angel you will have an extra source of motivation. If you are SPECIFIC in your adoption biography you will be adopted by someone with similar interests. I willingly admit to being a nerd. My SA noticed that and adopted me. We talk all the time about random nerdy things. It's awesome.

I forsee my Soldier's Angel and I being lifelong friends. I highly encourage Volunteers and Soldiers to give this program a try.

Two Thumbs Up/30 Rds OUT/5 STARS/A+

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not A Single Thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I was introduced to this phenomenal organization when I was looking to adopt a US soldier serving in Afghanistan; I have adopted 4 soldiers since then. There are soldiers that have made such an impact on me, personally, we intend to stay in contact after their deployments are complete. I have been able to write to many soldiers through Soldiers' Angels' various teams, and my Girl Scout troops have written many cards as well. The support we volunteers receive from the Team and Group Leaders help us support our remarkable soldiers. I am able to support our country's military service personnel, to assure our soldiers know they are thought about every day by a grateful nation. There's nothing like being an Angel!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Personally, I need to 'get the word out' about Soldiers' Angels in my area. More people need to know about this fantastic organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I love being an Angel! We have the greatest and most dedicated team of volunteers I have ever worked with. I love working with them and making new friends, while also serving our troops! It's a great program and a great group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

Soldiers' Angels is a great organization! I volunteer for them by transporting products for them to and from VA's and Soldiers' Angels volunteers. They really do great work! When I drop items off to the VA they are so happy to have them to serve our veterans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 9, 2011

I first joined Soldiers' Angels in Dec. of 2006 while my husband was serving on active duty. I wanted a way to give back to those like my husband who serve, and to find ways to support those around me... more

July 31, 2014

I have been with Soldiers' Angels since 2006 and have held a variety of positions throughout the organization in that time. What began as a way to give back to others while my husband was Active Duty has by far become the most rewarding choice I have ever made. The hands on nature of the organization and the sense of family and belonging that develops cannot be spoken enough.
As with everything changes occur and yet I've seen some of the most steadfast, loyal people I've ever had the pleasure to mentor and work with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 9, 2011

I first joined Soldiers' Angels in Dec. of 2006 while my husband was serving on active duty. I wanted a way to give back to those like my husband who serve, and to find ways to support those around me who were going thru a deployment around me even though I was not.
What started out as
something small has now gotten me thru some of the hardest times of my life. Soldiers' Angels not only supports those serving and their families but their volunteers as well. We all support one another. I have made many amazing bonds and friendships to last a lifetime and wouldn't change a single thing.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Positive responses from heroes

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none at all

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I have been disappointed since the new administration took over. It seems so much more impersonal now. When Cindy Glenn was in charge of emailing out soldiers as my group leader it was awesome. I have been doing this 6 years, I got my assignment each month I baked and mailed my package. Back in November everything changed. I was told they had disbanded the program. Then in a month we were told just the rules had changed. We had to rejoin the organization pay money to bake, and send a form in saying who we had baked for and what we had sent. Cindy said I was on a new team not hers anymore
When I asked to stay on her team I got a couple more soldier assignment, but I almost had to beg for them. I know it was not Cindy's fault I guess I was not on her list, but I never got assignments from the other leader either. Finally in May I gave up. I miss baking and feel bad each month, but I have been lost in the crack somehow. Pull me back up on solid ground and I will start participating again.
Frustrated in Lexington KY
Angel Baker ,
Karen Sparks

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Go back to the system that has work for the 6 years I was baking. My answers below reflect my frustration now, and what has happened in the last 6 months.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

Of the many veterans groups I've belonged to Soldiers' Angels is by far the most rewarding! I've worked with their Georgia group for several years now and the level of organization, productivity, and camaraderie among the volunteers is unmatched. I love that Soldiers' Angels has been able to transition so well with the times and redirect their efforts towards the veterans coming home and in the hospitals. I'm also glad to see their leadership and donation policies become more structured in recent months, but am sorry to hear that so many of their older members refused to see the merits of this change and resorted to slandering the org's efforts to rein in the undisciplined practices of the very members that are doing the complaining. Regardless, I see Soldiers' Angels having a very bright future and hope to volunteer with them for as long as I'm able!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...expand it's reach to more of the country! I have friends & relatives in other states that would love to do what I do in Georgia, but can't find a Soldiers' Angels group to work with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers