Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
339 Reviews
1234.769915
| 1 ... 11 12 13...34 |
Write A Review
June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

As a parent of a soldier who has been deployed I know what kind of an impact mail from home can have. Soldier's Angels helps every soldier get mail or something at least once during their deployment. They support and help the families of veteran's as well. Everyone likes to get mail and for a soldier to have his/her name called for mail call is so important. To let them all know we support them and think of them. Soldier's Angels protects our service members and gives them some very much needed support. Keep up the GOOD work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 22, 2014

more

June 22, 2014

I have been adopting deployed soldiers off and on for roughly ten years through Soldiers' Angels. I've enjoyed watching the organization grow and expand in programs to help our heroes. I've recently joined their Letter Writing Team, Women of Valor Team and served dinner to Veterans at our local VA with them. What an honor! I have so enjoyed the correspondence with our deployed soldiers and have gotten a couple of (unexpected) amazing things from them as a thank you.
As the daughter of a Vietnam Veteran, I know how important it is to support our troops. As long as there are soldiers and veterans to help, I'll be with Soldiers' Angels. Great organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Streamline reporting somehow ... possibly online. But I know computer programs cost money and there are other places for it to go right now. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 22, 2014

more

June 22, 2014

First I want to thank all of you out there that take part in this organization. I am a service member serving my second deployment. My first tour I found out about SA through a battle buddy of mine. So when I got the opportunity to get on the internet I signed up. With in a couple of weeks I was receiving letters and care packages. This program is such a moral boost for all of us service members. Its so nice knowing that we are thought about and have supporter back home thinking about us.
Mail and e-mails are a huge moral booster when you are away from home. This program helped me through rough times, knowing I am being thought about and someone took the time to write an email, letter or put together and care package for me. Words can't described how much us service members appreciate all of you that support us. getting your name called that you have mail, or opening your email and seeing someone out there is thinking about you does wonders for you when you are away from home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 21, 2014

more

June 21, 2014

I have been supporting soldiers since my brother joined the Army in 2011. Soldier's Angels is by far the best organization I have found that supports our soldiers. They offer great support for volunteers and are very organized. Not only do they support our troops, but they support the caregivers of wounded soldiers and families of fallen soldiers. Soldier's Angels has many programs to offer volunteers. From adopting a soldier to writing letters to baking cakes, there is something for everyone that wants to help. I can't say enough good things about this organization. They truly care about our soldiers.

Brandi

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 21, 2014

more

June 21, 2014

I have been supporting Soldiers Angels since 2007 and love Soldiers Angels. Not only do I support Soldiers Angels personally, I also organize scrapbooking events to raise money to donate as well. Money has been donated for postage for care packages, phone cards, and overall donations to help support our soldiers. Our group has also adopted several soldiers over the years and love the interaction with our adopted soldiers. Soldiers Angels has alot of awesome programs available for us to volunteer with and alot of resources for our deployed soldiers as well as wounded warriors. I am proud to support our soldiers through Soldiers Angels and it's great to have such a wonderful organization that really cares about our soldiers and their needs while serving our country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 21, 2014

more

June 21, 2014

I have been a member of Soldiers' Angels since 2009. I love it. I send out cards and letters every month and when times are better I adopt soldiers. I love being able to send love to those fighting for my right to do just that. It's touching when you get a return letter or merely a "thank you" through email from a soldier. I had one soldier send me a "thank from pulling me back from the edge" card. He had been in combat and was forced to kill a child that was trained to kill him. He said that for him it was heartbreaking because no matter how he looked at it, it was still a child and he couldn't imagine having to go through that again. He didn't directly say he was planning on ending it but he did say that it was getting harder and harder to cope with it and knowing that there were people out there telling him he did the right thing was extremely touching. We kept in touch until he was home. He met a girl who accepted everything he went through and they were married. Having a part in that made this whole situation worth it. I love this organization and I'm glad it's here to put us civilians in touch with the heroes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! The organization just gets better and better. I wish for more funding for the organization though. It's such an amazing organization and we all donate and help but there's only so much we can do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

Soldiers Angels was there for me during and after my time at Walter Reed Army Medical Center. The nicest Angel came into my life while I was surrounded by misery. Being wounded and surrounded by other wounded soldiers begins to wear on your being. My Angel cared enough to listen and hear what I was saying. She, on her own time, would take me on short field trips, in the DC area, to places like Target. It gave me the chance to shop in a normal setting for those items I couldn't get at the hospital. Not to mention I was able to see the real world. She kept up with me, which was a God send. Even after being seriously wounded the Army expects you to soldier up. Which is understandable to a degree. My Angel showed me the world outside of the hospital. She genuinely cared about how I felt. She was a true blessing. It didn't end there. After eventually coming home, the Soldiers Angels were still there. All of which are amazing people. They continued to keep up with me for years now. The amazing thing is, I'm not the only wounded soldier they do this for. I know many others from all over the United States that have their own Angels. Being Combat Wounded I'm Alumni of other veteran non profit organizations, however non of them give the one on one caring that Soldiers Angels does. I love my Angels. They've made a huge difference in my life, for the better. Thank you Soldiers Angels

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Recruit more Angels

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

I have been helping with SA for over 3 years. I have stuck with them through all the changes - even going through many team leaders (which is annoying and very sad). But their seems to be some issues with who leads what and power trips that need to be ironed out still! But I have a few leaders that I really like and love to work with that keep me working with and for them! I love helping with 2 of the teams they offer and choosing how much I do each month!!
I will say I dislike doing the paper work for the boxes - but I do understand why we have to. (Still dont make it fun! LOL.) And I dislike that the require a monthly payment - It is hard to suggest them now because many do not want to give out their credit card online. Heck, I don't like mine being out there, but I saw no other way to keep on helping without giving it to them....
I also was hurt and angered when I was rejected to be able to post about wanting to do something for the Afghan Soldiers (that are fighting right along side of our American troops). SA only does for AMERICAN troops. BUT do we realize that their is so many other countries on the same bases as we are, doing the same things we are doing, fighting and giving so we all can be safe and free? Why not love on them too!?
BUT for one perk, is when I brought an issue that I felt was dire to them that I felt could help the safety of their helpers and the mental health of our military.. They were right on talking about it and hearing me out and making a choice for the better of everyone! This was a perk, and a star for me!
I will continue to help with SA for one reason.... OUR TROOPS!! Because of the fact that we can love on the Troops that deserve out love and attention!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not to sure what to say here... we are all learning. But to many chefs and not enough Indians makes for a mess...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

I was fortunate enough to be able to help Soldiers' Angels this past week at the San Antonio VA. We stocked the break rooms with snacks, passed out homemade blankets to patients, and jackets as well! It was a great experience! I love what they do for vets of all generations. I wanted to cry after visiting one particular patient.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 20, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I was an active volunteer for over 7 years. I adopted soldiers sending month packages directly overseas, wrote weekly letters and made donations to the organization.
The past year the group asked for manatory reports on when you wrote and then charged a monthly fee. You had to keep your credit
card on file, couldn't pay a yearly fee.

Didn't matter how much you donated in the past.

At that point I became inactive in their system.
It unfortunate how they handled it.

I know support tell them thanks and until they all come home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Come up with a one time yearly fee to support administrative expenses that you can cancel.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers