Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.827595
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I am Zubaida Tahiri from Afghanistan. I have heard a lot about the activities of SOLACE and always see the posts that is shared in social media. I appreciate their support for kids in Afghanistan.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

My husband and I started the Solace LA branch and feel like we are helping to make change in the world one child at a time. When the news is reporting on all of the crisis in the middle east and I start to feel overwhelmed I think of the children we have brought here and how their whole world view has been changed. They know us and our love for them and I can only believe that it will make a lasting impact on our world. I'm grateful for all the Solace does to help those who cannot help themselves. It has blessed us, our children and all who have been involved in Solace!
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

• Hello Everyone!!!
My decision to volunteer at the Solace for the Children is the most wonderful experience I’ve ever met with in my life. I have chosen Solace for volunteering because I believe that helping the children would be a great opportunity that can give people the capability to
think broad about feelings of those people who suffer from illnesses or some serious sicknesses. This experience has been wonderful. I think that people who have the ability to help should help. Thinking about these kids conditions and sometimes they made me feel that I even forgot that they were sick with all the funny things they do every day.
Volunteering at the Solace means the world to me. Honestly I was really happy working at Solace; my duty was to fill the forms of applicants. These kids need all the help they can get. So by writing this experience, I would encourage you all to try to start volunteering at Solace. It will change you in so many ways. This was an amazing experience! And a big thank to the entire team of Solace!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

In a world of billions, progress is made in small steps, helping one child at a time in the case of Solace for the Children. Over the years, that has amounted to hundreds of children whose lives would be much worse - or even over - without the help and medical intervention of Solace. The mission of peace through health care is noble, and the lasting effects may never be known in my lifetime, but this international effort has to be making a difference. It would be even greater if the numbers could be magnified through increased donations. Solace would not exist without the dedication of a small group of people led by Patsy Wilson and her vision. Everyone can make a difference, and Solace is proof. The pictures of the successful medical procedures and the smiling faces of the children say it all.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

In Aug 2012, I started to be a volunteer for solace for the children. My main responsibility was to work with children and help them with physical therapy in Afghanistan office. However, it wasn’t the only thing that I was doing. I also helped to fill application for new patients. Actually, this was one of my favorite parts, because I would see the patients, talk to them and see their families. The hope inside parent’s heart was incredible. The innocent smile on children’s face was pure. I learned how to be hopeful, respect, love, and help people.
In 2013, I got the chance to travel to the USA and bring some of those children with me. I stayed with them in hospital, talked to them, and was the one they could trust. My experience in Solace is one of my favorite chapters of my life. Every single step that I took for those children, reflected in my life. Those children, families, and love inspired me.

Zahra
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Solace for the Children is a quality organization from top to bottom. They facilitated the rescue of a child I cared for in Afghanistan during my military tour that would almost certainly have perished. Their efforts have changed lives in so many wonderful ways. For each donor they provide significant feedback and wonderful updates on the cases they select for receipt of donation if they are directed. Cannot say enough about their work.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

We are a current host family that has been hosting a child for 5 months. Typically children only stay a few weeks in the summer, but a few children, like our host daughter, come for extended care. Our family has 4 children, and one of my daughters uses a wheelchair. My daughter plays wheelchair basketball, which is how we met our host daughter the first time she came to America through Solace. When we found out she was coming back, we applied to be her new host family. Over the past 5 months we have learned so much from each other! My children's world has been broadened. Besides just learning about and connecting with another culture, they have developed a genuine sibling relationship with our host daughter. Instead of having an awkward "visitor" experience, the kids integrated her right in- which was probably a good thing, since sometimes children with disabilities get treated differently, whether it is in a good or bad way, by other people. Our host daughter has been encouraged by having a "sibling" with a disability, and they have been able to do lots of things together. My other kids are used to living with someone in a wheelchair, so they automatically adapt what they are doing to modify activities. Our house is completely accessible, so she has been able to work on daily life skills, and problem solve for how to adapt to her environment when she gets home. My kids have learned a little Farsi, and you can often hear them singing to a CD of songs in Farsi that we found for our host daughter. I homeschool, so despite the fact that the children on medical visas aren't able to attend school, we have all been able to work together on schoolwork anyway. I truly believe that people have to know how much you care before they care how much you know. If we are trying to help children and their families learn how to care for and manage their health conditions, they have to understand that we care about *them* more than we care about the strict imparting of knowledge. You can see this in the families that host, and also in the volunteer staff at Solace. To accomplish as much as they do, it is amazing what percentage of the work is done on a solely volunteer basis. If you donate to Solace, you know your money is not padding the pockets of a big CEO, it is really being used to help children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Hello Everyone! I am Assila Afsharzada a former volunteer at Solace in Kabul, Afghanistan. Working with such an organization was a privilege for me. I experienced life-changing events with Solace Children. Seeing all those kids’ smiles and happiness made my days. All of them were a blessing for me. I hope anyone who is able to help this organization in any way do her/his best to give a hand. Those innocent children, who are born disabled or get injured during bombings, must not suffer from an illness that is curable. I believe these kids’ health and education are essential for a better Afghanistan.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Working as a volunteer at Solace was an opportunity in a difficult time. I was experiencing severe anxiety at the time, which I thought was the worst condition a person might face. Working at solace was the best treatment I could get.
Within few first days working at Kabul office we received
the children who were returning from the summer program. Seeing them, I could never imagine they had any problems before. Even their families were stunned. I eventually learned that some of those children had suffered from severe health problems. I would never guess how bad their situations were while talking to them. Their hearts were full of hope and joy and they were passionate to share it.
Spending one year I realized how Solace changes the lives of such children and brings back joy to their families. Working at Solace made me confident to help and taught me to enjoy it. I believe many others who have been involved at solace feel the same and the collection of this feeling is strong enough to change the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Hello,
This is Alireza Waheedi. I am really blessed being part of Solace. In 2013, I began working with Solace as a volunteer. Shortly after, I had the opportunity to work as Administration and Finance Officer. Thereby, I got more involved with the incredible job Solace was doing for the needy
children and their families. I was witness of the transformation of fearful and desperate eyes into hopeful and grateful eyes. It was very difficult for me to see parents, whom their beloved ones were suffering from hard diseases and they were unable to do something for them, either because of poverty or lack of medical equipments. I have heard many of these families, telling me their only hope is Solace with God’s grace. Although I live in Germany now I love to continue my contribution with Solace. Anyone who reads this, be aware that Solace incredible work is needed in Afghanistan, both in the area of education and health and of course their contribution to peace building. Solace brings hopes and change lives.
Thanks
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

1. Host an information event for your friends and neighbors. 2. Organize a group activity for a group of visiting children. 3. Pack 10 humanitarian bags. 4. Prepare a meal for a host family while their host child is in the hospital. Volunteer