Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

To whom it may concern,
My name is Waheed and I used to be a volunteer in Solace for more than a year. I believe the most precious gift before everything is life itslef and I can confidently say lives are revived and changed in the most positive way in Solace for the Children. I experienced in
several ocassions that beautifully spirited kids who were affected by war in one way or another would regain and recover from the worst possible health conditions which is the most humane outcome imaginable. I really appreciate the efforts made by the ones behind this organization and that these efforts are 'indeed' life.changing.

Sorry for spell and gramatical errors since I wrote the above post by my phone.

Love
Waheed
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

In early 2013, I started volunteering for this wonderful community in Afghanistan, aiming to be an assistant in building peace in a foundation of health. I started with teaching music, specifically violin, to the Peace House's students. In the meanwhile, I have been helping Solace through working as volunteer coordinator scheduling volunteers for office tasks as well as peace house courses. Solace has been such a great and honorable experience of my life and I really appreciate the work that they do and the achievements that they have had since their startup in Afghanistan. They really are a source of practical and visible service for Afghan children, and building trust and peace among the people and I, in my turn, appreciate the job of people who have initiated this great house of care for Afghan Children. Also, thanks to all those people who are behind this cause.
September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

I am working as a volunteer for Solace for the Children since 2011, my first trip was to Jacksonville FL, USA, that we brought 15 ill children for medical treatment. Now I am preforming my duties as an Interpreter/Solace Ambassador for peace in Los Angeles, California. First of all I would like appreciate Solace for its humanitarian supports and thank all American families who are involved with Solace team. The children who have been cured by Solace efforts would not ever forget Solace’s profuse and extra ordinary ministration and services, and Solace is being the cleverest way to reach the bridge of Peace and happiness between Afghans and Americans. I believe that there are thousands of American families that feel fortunate and pleased to support Solace with its wonderful objective. We all will defiantly try our best to help those who are in need and wait for its virtual compensation and reward from God.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

My wife and i hosted a young girl named Hila in 2010. The experience was wonderful and she continues to inspire me with her strength, hope and desire for peace. Solace For The Children is an incredible organization building Peace on a Foundation of Health for the children of Afghanistan. A non-profit that provided over $2 million in services with a mere budget of 200,000. Where else can your donation be so impactful? Please join me in supporting an organization that is focused on grass roots efforts for healing wounds and changing hearts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

I was a volunteer interpreter for Solace from 2011-2012 in Jacksonville FL. The impact that Solace has in life of the Afghans and the Americans are great. My family get to know about Solace from a US. Air Force adviser that worked with my father who is in the Afghan National Air Defense. I started to comprehend about Solace's mission (Building Peace on Foundation of Health) more, as I get to know people from America. There are people in Afghanistan that don't like the Americans, and it's the same thing in United State, But my point is that Solace is trying to build peace between these two culture based on true love, care, health and this really motivates me be a better person in my own life and life of many others. I think Solace should be supported by the people of United State, or in another word, More communities and other world organizations should support Solace's mission to make this one the few non-profit organizations that is making world a better place to live. I learned this from Solace: "No matter what color we are, what we believe, or where we are from, we can just simply use Love as a tool to build peace and hope."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My family is blessed to have the opportunity to host Solace extended child. Making the decision to host on a long-term basis was not easy. We have 5 children of our own and life is busy. A lot of time and prayer went into the decision. We had many concerns. How would we communicate? Would she go to an American school? Would she like us? Would we like her? The Solace community guided us through all of our questions and waited patiently for our “yes”. We knew that in the end we would be helping to save this young girls life. Little did we know that she would be the one to change our lives.

Our host daughter contracted polio as a baby and was never treated. As a result she came to us with severe scoliosis. She has been through several surgeries including one that lasted 10 hours and involved 3 surgeons. Before her surgery she was in bed 80% of the time due to extreme pain. Thanks to Solace she now has a chance at a normal life. The medical care that this child needed is simply not available in Afghanistan. She would have surely died a slow and painful death.

As an Afghan girl she was never afforded the opportunity to receive an education. This is a gift that she does not take it lightly. She has worked hard and caught up & even passed many children in our American school. I was so concerned about the influence that she would have on my own children. I was correct. This young lady has definitely influenced my kids. They now understand so much more than they did before. They understand how blessed they are to have the opportunity to go to school, to always have food on the table, to be able to walk down the street and not have to worry about a bomb killing them or a member of their family. They understand the blessings of basic medical care and what can happen when you don’t receive it. They also understand the meaning of love and family.

This child was not born to us but she will forever be a part of our family. The day will come when she will return to her homeland and while it will be sad for us I know that she will return stronger, healthier and educated. She wants to make a difference to the women & children in Afghanistan and thanks to Solace she will be strong enough to do just that.

When we began this process we just wanted to make a difference in one child’s life and in the end she has changed each of us for the better.

I can’t begin to say how much we all love the Solace for the Children community. We consider them all part of our family and are so very grateful to them for changing our lives. I feel certain that because of Solace for the Children our host daughter will have a wonderful and positive impact on many other lives in the future. I would encourage everyone to somehow get involved in this organization and watch how it changes your lives forever. Solace is a true example of “In giving that we receive”.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching my host daughter and my Marine son (currently on deployment in AF) communicate and learn about each others culture. My host daughter told my son that he could call her family for anything he might need. That is true peace!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to bring Solace to more communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

August 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am hosting an interpreter in Jacksonville, Fl. Abed Arian has been a blessing to me. He has a great ability to see people as they are inside and he is not influenced by money or good looks. I am involved in Solace because of my daughter and son-in-law, Sara and Bryan Coker. But then I developed a passion for Solace because of the tireless work of the volunteers, host families who provided homes, and the Doctors who provided care and treatment.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of Solace for the Children in hosting an interpreter. And I have seen the results in surgery, dental, heart, and orthopedic which give these children longer and more healthy lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At this time, I have no suggestions for changes to this organization

July 14, 2011

more

July 14, 2011

Sometimes a child's needs cannot be met in six weeks. Our family has been blessed to host a child through a series of surgeries and therapy. Solace and the medical community have been there to support and guide us. Our Afghan child has been amazing - resilient, positive and inspiring. She is an ambassador of hope for Solace and Afghanistan. My children call her their sister.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Watching children arrive in the United States full of hope and anxiety and seeing them leave happy and healed. The Solace way is to incorporate these visitors into loving homes where they feel like family. Solace also brings interpreters with the children. These young adults have been bright, articulate and compassionate caregivers for the children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I hope Solace can continue to grow and change lives of the children, the communities they visit and the people they tell about their stay when they return home.

July 14, 2011

more

July 14, 2011

Our family hosted a child for the first time this summer. Our child had dental and orthdontic needs and was served by some wonderful dentists and an orthodontist who all volunteered their time and seemed to love being a part of the program. The administrative volunteers who coordinated the medical and dental communities, the fun activities, the interpreters, the travel arrangements, the respite families and all of the other support provided to the host families were phenomenal. It made being a host family much easier to know all of the "details" were taken care of so that we could focus on our child's needs for love and emotional support. It was challenging at first to find foods my child liked to eat, and to communicate with each other due to the language barrier, but as the days went by, it became easier as we each learned important words in the language of the other and as we learned to gesture and demonstrate more. There were also "apps" (of course-- there's always an app) on my daughter's Ipod that helped with some translations. My 11 year old was so important to the process-- since our child was very modest, but was comfortable with another child showing her how things worked in the bathroom, for example.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My 11 year old learned about being a servant and having empathy. Sometimes, especially in the first week, our child would rebuff my daughter's efforts at kindness, so she had to stretch herself to be loving and kind. She learned that our role was to provide love and a safe home and if her "giving" was not returned in kind, this was not "about us" and our needs, but was about us serving another. To quote my daugher, "sometimes people who are harder to love, need the most love." Great life lesson!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I was very impressed with all aspects of the organization. It would be nice to somehow make a way to encourage relationship with the kids and their families beyond the 6 weeks. We were told to not make any promises about seeing them or communicating with them after this time. That was hard for all--since we all grew to love our "families"and wanted to be able to communicate again somehow. I think it would help further the organization's purpose of building peace .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 13, 2011

more

July 13, 2011

For the second consecutive summer, our family has hosted children from Afghanistan in our home. It continues to be a positive, peace-building initiative that brings together many in our community — from the medical providers and supporting businesses to families spanning a wide range of religious and cultural backgrounds. It has been a life-changer for our family, and the children experiencing American life and medical treatment in our country.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the way our children see the world and the positive changes in health shown by the children visiting our home

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people to participate

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers are needed within established Solace Communities to sponsor or organize group activities. Another great help would be gather simple otc family medicines to be packed and returned to a wider group of children and families in need of help. Volunteer