Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.973685
Write A Review
November 14, 2014

more

November 14, 2014

I just started donating to Soi Dog Foundation after I heard about them and read their stories on facebook. They do so much for animals that otherwise would be used in the illegal dog meat trade in China, Vietnam, Thailand, and other countries. Thank you Soi Dog Foundation everywhere.
July 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have helped raise funds for Soi Dog Foundation for almost 2 years. I visited their shelters in Thailand in November of 2013. I was impressed with their work to help both the street dogs in Thailand as well as the dogs rescued from the illegal meat trade. This organization has an efficient spay/neuter/vaccination plan to systematically eliminate the street dog problem in all of Phuket. They have already played a major role in eliminating rabies in Thailand, which is something other countries in the region have not been able to do. They stepped in to combat the illegal dog meat trade and are now caring for over 5000 dogs rescued from an unthinkable fate. I can not say enough good things about Soi Dog. Their spending is efficient and responsible. The founders, staff, and volunteers love what they do and are true heroes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think this organization could extend its reach and serve as a model for other groups doing similar work around the world if they had the funding for more staff in additional locations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have worked with many animal welfare organizations over the past 25 years. Soi Dog Foundation is, by far, the best I have encountered. The founders, staff and volunteers are smart, dedicated and incredibly responsive. If I could give them 10 stars, I would!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We were lucky to be able visit Soi Dog when we were in Thailand. It is run by John and Gill Dalley, an amazing British couple who went to Thailand to retire, and instead ended up working 24/7 for 10 years, to help the homeless dogs and cats. In addition to sterilising over 50,000 dogs in Phuket, they have eradicated rabies. They also run a mobile clinic, responding to help requests from many other areas. They later started a shelter in Bangkok. They helped hundreds of dogs during the floods. As if all this were not enough, they run a rescue operation to save thousands of dogs who have been kidnapped with the aim of shipping them over the border to be sold for meat as part of an illegal operation. After saving them, they house and feed them - thousands!!!! Their volunteer vets are the best in the business. Every penny that is donated is spent directly on the animals. They are now in the process of requesting permits to build a hospital. It doesn't get better than this.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 31, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have recently adopted a Soi dog from Phuket Thailan named Hero. Her was severely abused and had mange. Soi Dog workers are Angels sent from God!! Hero arrived safely from Phuket to Maine USA. Hero is the most precious dog and so loving. SOI dog made the adoption process so easy! And they sent 3 months of Hero, s medicationwith him. Very pleased with Soi Dog!!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful organization that is fighting horrific abuse of animals in Thailand and Vietnam where dogs are left to bleed to death and physically abused. In addition there is a growing dog meat trade where dogs are stuffed together in cages and land on the chopping block. (you can find this article in CNN -June 2013).

Please support them as they are fighting hard and your funds will go for a good cause. I have seen that they do not have any paid staff which means that the money goes not to salaries but to the animals and the operating expenses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give them more funds.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Soi dogs has an Amazing reputation and they deserve it. I have been fortunate to meet them many years ago &adopted a dog when I was in Phuket on holiday and can only praise their work !
These people are really great so if you want a dog you know where to go and if you want to sponsor a dog(or
more) you will definitively know that your money is well spent.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Great charity where you really get 'bang for buck'. Many dogs are in strife around the world, but Thailand has some very specific problems - and unique opportunities for fixing them.
Soi Dog targets Phuket, an island with a relatively easy, solvable street (soi) dog problem. All it needs is a
little money (from you) and the love and care of the Thai and foreign workers doing their best with the local dogs.
Their main program seems to be capture, treat, neuter and release. This is proven to be the most humane method of helping street dogs.
In addition, they rescue injured animals, treat them and have amazing success. You can sponsor such animals and watch with regular updates as they are brought back from abused, skinny and broken to lovable rogues!
Finally, Soi Dog is also involved with trying to stop the illegal dog meat trade where dogs are rounded up, thrown into crates (live) and smuggled over borders for food. The treatment of the animals up to slaughter is completely barbaric with not even a shred of compassion.
For less than a buck a day sponsoring a dog, you can have an enormous impact. I also send them additional gifts when needed (and I can afford it), for example, when the floods hit Thailand recently.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been fortunate to sponsor several dogs; it is most rewarding to see a dog changed by care, medical attention and love. The SoiDog people are to be admired for their dedication and selflessness
and are so deserving of support. Any amount donated, large or small, is used for the good of
the animals and makes such a big difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This is one of my favorite charities. through their website you can see exactly where your money is going. They are helping the dogs and cats of Thailand that have no voice of their own and no laws to protect them. It truly is amazing the work they do on the budget they have.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers