Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.965525
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

During my first holidays in Phuket back in 2007 I've heard about Soi Dog Foundation and just went there for a short visit. I have expected to see one of this sad shelters but what I saw was far away from sad. This shelter and their dedicated work meets western standard and they really care about the animals and do everything possible to help the neglected and abused street dogs and cats. The shelter is well cared and managed. I was so impressed by their work that I decided to come back to volunteer at their shelter during my next holidays. Since then I usually spend twice a year my holidays in Phuket to volunteer at Soi Dog Foundation. Their work is really outstanding and exemplary! A great place to visit and also to support!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered here for 4 days and couldn't leave! I stayed for 6 weeks in the end. It was the most rewarding experience of my life and cannot recommend Soi Dog enough. It was bigger than I had imagined and so clean. All the staff are wonderful people and they all love the cats and dogs. Forget the other attractions on Phuket - this is the best one :-)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask more people to volunteer :-)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Soi Dog is an amazing organization. They are doing such incredible and important work in Thailand with the stray dog and cat population and in working diligently towards the ending of the Dog Meat Trade.
What I particularly love about them is that they are so hands on making a difference. Most
of the senior leadership donates their time and are not paid. As a result, operational expenses are kept to a bare minimum and the majority of donations received are put directly into service on behalf of the dogs and cats in Thailand. They have grown so much over the years and this growth has not diminished their more personal relationship with donors, volunteers and supporters. Unlike other large multinational animal aid organizations, they are scrappy, down to earth and actually doing the work themselves. A wonderful, amazing organization worthy of support. And their successes are incredibly powerful and meaningful. Truly an action-based animal organization with heart and perseverance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Soi Dog foundation is truly non-kill shelter with a team of non paid volunteers that help save lives 365 days a year. Volunteers are not limited to the shelter, there are also overseas volunteers that work for free generating awareness and helping gather donations.
Soi Dog has been fighting
to stop the illegal dog meat trade for years and thanks to their efforts a big progress has been made getting the attention of political leaders, world class celebrities and international animal welfare organizations.
Soi Dog allocates over 90% of their donations straight to take care of the dogs, allowing only a minimum percentage to pay expenses. All volunteers are non paid workers.
In the last 10 years Soi Dog has done a significant improvement on cats and dogs lives in Thailand reaching the amazing number of over 50,000 animals sterilized and many thousands more rescued from the streets. Soi Dog also has a global adoption network that helps dogs get their forever homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Soi Dog Foundation is an outstanding organization run by volunteers. Having sterilized over 50,000 dogs (and cats) they have helped to ease the problem of overpopulation. They work tirelessly to improve the lives of the many neglected, abused and injured street and beach dogs. They help to feed and care for the thousands of dogs which have been rescued from the dog meat traders and are active in the fight to stop this barbaric trade.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first visited the Soi Dog Foundation shelter in Phuket in October 2011 and I was instantly hooked and have now volunteered on three occasions. They are a wonderful organisation who does all they can to help the dogs and cats of Thailand. Their activities range from rescuing animals from neglect, cruelty or disasters (such as the Bangkok floods on 2011), sterilising the street animals, treating and housing those that need it and fighting the dog meat trade.

As a volunteer at the shelter I was able to bring joy to many of the animals by taking them for walks, grooming them or by just spending time with them. I feel the role of a volunteer at the shelter is an important one. It gives these animals the opportunity to trust people, which in turn increases their chances of adoption. I really felt that I was making a difference. You also develop some favourites and for me these were the old dogs. Most of them have lived on the streets their entire lives and it's wonderful that Soi Dog Foundation provides them with a place to live, food and medical care in their twilight years. It is so beautiful to be able to watch them relax in the knowledge that they are safe and loved.

I am very proud to be a part of this amazing organisation and plan to be involved for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Since moving to Phuket I have become aware of the terrible suffering of street dogs and cats. I think that the work that Soi Dog Foundation do to help these poor animals and the sterilization program is very worthwhile. I am proud to support the work that they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found the Soi Dog Foundation seven years ago on my honeymoon and I have been supporting them ever since. I have become more and more involved as the years go on and have visited the shelters in both Phuket and Bangkok. This group has done the most amazing job with the funds they have and with the great volunteer system they have all over the world. I love that even the top members of the foundation do not take a salary so that each dollar raised really goes to the dogs and not administrative fees.
I have seen these wonderful volunteers in action and highly recommend you to visit soidog.org to learn more about the organization. They have made such a difference for the dogs and cats of Thailand!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I honestly wouldn't change a thing. I have never been so welcomed and involved with a group before Soi Dog. I haven't seen anything I disagree with in all the years I have been supporting them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great organisation working on many levels. Probably one of the most effective in South East Asia,
Wonderful dedicated people - not afraid to tackle the bid issues such as the dog meat trade while still focusing on the the very important issue of sterilization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The highest level of rescue organization focused on help neglected and abused cats and dogs can be, Need more proof? Just Google Soi Dog Foundation and see it by yourself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers