Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.971435
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered at the Soi Dog shelter in Phuket several times over the last four years. The staff and volunteers do an incredibly selfless, compassionate and professional job on a shoe-string budget, caring for all the street dogs and cats that come through the doors every day. Without Soi Dog, these animals would remain untreated and on the streets, without anyone to help them. Those animals that can fend for themselves are treated and when recovered, returned to their territory on the streets. Those that will not be able to fend for themselves are put up for adoption. Soi Dog also operates an island-wide sterilisation and vaccination programme for stray dogs and cats, and to date has sterilised and vaccinated over 71,000 animals, which is over 70% of the stray population. By 2015, the stray population will be officially under control. This has societal benefits in the way of significantly less strays on the streets, but also clearly benefits for animals themselves; fewer strays means less suffering and pain. Soi Dog will then embark on the same programme in Bangkok, where there are an estimated one million strays. Soi Dog also runs educational programmes for children and local communities, teaching how to properly care for dogs and cats. And Soi Dog has almost single-handedly put an end to the illegal dog meat trade between Thailand and Vietnam. At its height back in 2011, an estimated 500,000 dogs were illegally smuggled from Thailand through Laos and into Vietnam each year, destined for the dog meat restaurants of Hanoi. This figure is now down to a few thousand a year, and falling all the time. It is to me quite incredible that such a small organisation is making much a big difference to the welfare of dogs and cats in Thailand and increasingly other parts of South East Asia. Soi Dog seems to tackle those big issues that others don't want to touch. It's just an incredible organisation.
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I came to the shelter in Phuket to volunteer at the beginning of the year. I am still here. It is the most rewarding thing I have ever done and the dogs at the shelter will make your day, every day. The work done here is vital, and the staff carry out their jobs well. The site is bright and clean, which is good for us volunteers and staff, but more importantly, means that the animals are well taken care of and get what they need. They have a great chance of a new life here, and that is why Soi Dog is so great.
September 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have followed this rescue for over a year and finally last month I had the chance to visit them. They were exactly what they advertised themselves as and the volunteer experience was so worth it. The staff are friendly and they care deeply about the animals they rescue. The animals are well taken care of and loved. Seeing how bad it is in Thailand as the strays are in the thousands and they are heartbreaking to see everywhere. It was so depressing to see, but going to Soi Dog helped me to cope with it, as I realized that these animals were not alone. This foundation doesn't just rescue them. They pick up the strays, fix them and re-release in order to cull the population. They keep all animals that are wounded or wouldn't be able to survive on their own. They work with the government in stopping the Illegal Dog Meat trade and are currently housing over 1500 dogs that were rescued from those trucks. I also fell in love with a puppy while I was there, and I've since adopted her. Soi Dog was amazing at helping to arrange everything to have her fly here to Canada with a flight volunteer so she could have her forever home with me. I work with a lot of rescues, but what Soi Dog does far exceeds all of them. They deserve to be recognized and funded! Xx
September 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I read about Soi Dog Foundation online and decided to research the organization to see if it was a worthy cause to support. What I found was impressive. The dedication and efforts by the founders and by the volunteers and staff who help rescue abused and neglected street dogs is impressive. And the successful and positive impact Soi Dog has had on victims of the dog meat trade is nothing short of amazing. The organization's spay/neuter program is reaching record numbers and there is even hope that the population of street animals will be under control soon. I am happy to be part of the international volunteer base helping Soi Dog reach its goals and rescuing and rehoming dogs to loving families.
September 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I heard about Soi Dog Foundation a few years ago and was amazed at the work they do. I decided that I had to go to Thailand and volunteer at the shelter. I volunteered at the shelter for a week and it was an amazing experience. Soi Dog does such great work at taking care of the stray cats and dogs. They also take great care of the volunteers as well. I was happy to be able to be able to take a dog to Canada to their new home as well.

I have also fund raised for this organization to help raise donations to support the great work they do (sterilizing stray dogs and cats, sheltering those abused and injured and stopping the dog meat trade).

I enjoyed my experience at Soi Dog so much that I am already planning my next trip there next year!

Keep up the great work!!
September 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first saw the horrors faced by dogs in Thailand and other areas of South East Asia in 2010, and I was shocked and horrified. Tragically most people around the world are not aware of what's going on there, including the mass populations of stray dogs, and the illegal dog meat trade. It was then that I heard about Soi Dog Foundation and the amazing work they are doing to better the welfare of cats and dogs there, to eliminate the stray dog population, educate the public, and fight the dog meat trade.
There aren't enough words here to express the depth of my gratitude to everyone at Soi Dog for the work they are doing for the dogs. The world is a better place because of them, and their dedication is outstanding. I am now a volunteer for Soi Dog and it is my belief that we will be able to change how some people in Asia think about dogs and that they will come to appreciate dogs for the special souls that they are. Without Soi Dog Foundations work, HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS of dogs would suffer deaths of agony and torture beyond most people's comprehension. Please support them and their cutting edge work to make this world a better place for mans best friend. Thank you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

July 23, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

During my first holidays in Phuket back in 2007 I've heard about Soi Dog Foundation and just went there for a short visit. I have expected to see one of this sad shelters but what I saw was far away from sad. This shelter and their dedicated work meets western standard and they really care about the animals and do everything possible to help the neglected and abused street dogs and cats. The shelter is well cared and managed. I was so impressed by their work that I decided to come back to volunteer at their shelter during my next holidays. Since then I usually spend twice a year my holidays in Phuket to volunteer at Soi Dog Foundation. Their work is really outstanding and exemplary! A great place to visit and also to support!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have helped raise funds for Soi Dog Foundation for almost 2 years. I visited their shelters in Thailand in November of 2013. I was impressed with their work to help both the street dogs in Thailand as well as the dogs rescued from the illegal meat trade. This organization has an efficient spay/neuter/vaccination plan to systematically eliminate the street dog problem in all of Phuket. They have already played a major role in eliminating rabies in Thailand, which is something other countries in the region have not been able to do. They stepped in to combat the illegal dog meat trade and are now caring for over 5000 dogs rescued from an unthinkable fate. I can not say enough good things about Soi Dog. Their spending is efficient and responsible. The founders, staff, and volunteers love what they do and are true heroes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think this organization could extend its reach and serve as a model for other groups doing similar work around the world if they had the funding for more staff in additional locations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

July 7, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

I volunteered here for 4 days and couldn't leave! I stayed for 6 weeks in the end. It was the most rewarding experience of my life and cannot recommend Soi Dog enough. It was bigger than I had imagined and so clean. All the staff are wonderful people and they all love the cats and dogs. Forget the other attractions on Phuket - this is the best one :-)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask more people to volunteer :-)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with many animal welfare organizations over the past 25 years. Soi Dog Foundation is, by far, the best I have encountered. The founders, staff and volunteers are smart, dedicated and incredibly responsive. If I could give them 10 stars, I would!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers