Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.902445
Write A Review
December 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I really thought that when you show pictures of hundreds of dogs crammed into crates off the back of trucks, that you help these animals get a fresh start. Do you actually rescue those animals or do you pick up strays, fix them up and put them back on the street? I'm a bit confused by your ads and your most recent comment to one other viewer that you give vet care, sterilization and then just put these animals back out in "their home" area. The individuals picking up these strays to torture and kill for meat will just pick these animals right back up. So this makes absolutely no sense. I've purchased billboards, but to what avail if those dogs aren't the ones actually being rescued and found homes for.
December 11, 2014

more

December 11, 2014

I follow Soi dog and cat stories on Facebook in the USA. Loving and compassionate people in the midst of heinous behavior by others. Soi Dog is on my list of many animal shelters for charitable donations for the service they provide to these voiceless innocents. I will never in my lifetime understand how anyone could harm, much less not tend to an innocent cat or dog. Also, if you do not have pay pal or want to use your charge card, there is an address in San Fran to send a check via snail mail
December 6, 2014

more

December 6, 2014

I am interested in adopting a dog from Soi Dog. If one has been listed as ready for adoption, does that dog remain at Soi Dog until it is adopted or will it be released back into the streets. The dog's name is Mabel. Also, does your organization ever help with travel expenses for the dogs. I noticed some had 50 percent which had been donated, etc. Please reply.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am puzzled. This organization helps these poor dogs get healthy only to put them back out on the street again where they will inevitably be caught and probably end up being killed for meat. Why do you just release them????
November 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

How the human race can allow this to happen is beyond me, but thankfully we have selfless people who help these beautiful, but pityful creatures live some kind of normal life. I am seriously considering adopting one of these beautiful dogs and have just set up a monthly payment (albeit small) to help pay for medication etc.

Keep up the good work Soi dog foundation
November 14, 2014

more

November 14, 2014

I just started donating to Soi Dog Foundation after I heard about them and read their stories on facebook. They do so much for animals that otherwise would be used in the illegal dog meat trade in China, Vietnam, Thailand, and other countries. Thank you Soi Dog Foundation everywhere.
September 19, 2014
20 people found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2014
20 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered at the Soi Dog shelter in Phuket several times over the last four years. The staff and volunteers do an incredibly selfless, compassionate and professional job on a shoe-string budget, caring for all the street dogs and cats that come through the doors every day. Without Soi Dog, these animals would remain untreated and on the streets, without anyone to help them. Those animals that can fend for themselves are treated and when recovered, returned to their territory on the streets. Those that will not be able to fend for themselves are put up for adoption. Soi Dog also operates an island-wide sterilisation and vaccination programme for stray dogs and cats, and to date has sterilised and vaccinated over 71,000 animals, which is over 70% of the stray population. By 2015, the stray population will be officially under control. This has societal benefits in the way of significantly less strays on the streets, but also clearly benefits for animals themselves; fewer strays means less suffering and pain. Soi Dog will then embark on the same programme in Bangkok, where there are an estimated one million strays. Soi Dog also runs educational programmes for children and local communities, teaching how to properly care for dogs and cats. And Soi Dog has almost single-handedly put an end to the illegal dog meat trade between Thailand and Vietnam. At its height back in 2011, an estimated 500,000 dogs were illegally smuggled from Thailand through Laos and into Vietnam each year, destined for the dog meat restaurants of Hanoi. This figure is now down to a few thousand a year, and falling all the time. It is to me quite incredible that such a small organisation is making much a big difference to the welfare of dogs and cats in Thailand and increasingly other parts of South East Asia. Soi Dog seems to tackle those big issues that others don't want to touch. It's just an incredible organisation.
September 18, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

I came to the shelter in Phuket to volunteer at the beginning of the year. I am still here. It is the most rewarding thing I have ever done and the dogs at the shelter will make your day, every day. The work done here is vital, and the staff carry out their jobs well. The site is bright and clean, which is good for us volunteers and staff, but more importantly, means that the animals are well taken care of and get what they need. They have a great chance of a new life here, and that is why Soi Dog is so great.
September 15, 2014
10 people found this review helpful

more

September 15, 2014
10 people found this review helpful

I have followed this rescue for over a year and finally last month I had the chance to visit them. They were exactly what they advertised themselves as and the volunteer experience was so worth it. The staff are friendly and they care deeply about the animals they rescue. The animals are well taken care of and loved. Seeing how bad it is in Thailand as the strays are in the thousands and they are heartbreaking to see everywhere. It was so depressing to see, but going to Soi Dog helped me to cope with it, as I realized that these animals were not alone. This foundation doesn't just rescue them. They pick up the strays, fix them and re-release in order to cull the population. They keep all animals that are wounded or wouldn't be able to survive on their own. They work with the government in stopping the Illegal Dog Meat trade and are currently housing over 1500 dogs that were rescued from those trucks. I also fell in love with a puppy while I was there, and I've since adopted her. Soi Dog was amazing at helping to arrange everything to have her fly here to Canada with a flight volunteer so she could have her forever home with me. I work with a lot of rescues, but what Soi Dog does far exceeds all of them. They deserve to be recognized and funded! Xx
September 11, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

I read about Soi Dog Foundation online and decided to research the organization to see if it was a worthy cause to support. What I found was impressive. The dedication and efforts by the founders and by the volunteers and staff who help rescue abused and neglected street dogs is impressive. And the successful and positive impact Soi Dog has had on victims of the dog meat trade is nothing short of amazing. The organization's spay/neuter program is reaching record numbers and there is even hope that the population of street animals will be under control soon. I am happy to be part of the international volunteer base helping Soi Dog reach its goals and rescuing and rehoming dogs to loving families.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers