Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.965525
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

During my first holidays in Phuket back in 2007 I've heard about Soi Dog Foundation and just went there for a short visit. I have expected to see one of this sad shelters but what I saw was far away from sad. This shelter and their dedicated work meets western standard and they really care about the animals and do everything possible to help the neglected and abused street dogs and cats. The shelter is well cared and managed. I was so impressed by their work that I decided to come back to volunteer at their shelter during my next holidays. Since then I usually spend twice a year my holidays in Phuket to volunteer at Soi Dog Foundation. Their work is really outstanding and exemplary! A great place to visit and also to support!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have helped raise funds for Soi Dog Foundation for almost 2 years. I visited their shelters in Thailand in November of 2013. I was impressed with their work to help both the street dogs in Thailand as well as the dogs rescued from the illegal meat trade. This organization has an efficient spay/neuter/vaccination plan to systematically eliminate the street dog problem in all of Phuket. They have already played a major role in eliminating rabies in Thailand, which is something other countries in the region have not been able to do. They stepped in to combat the illegal dog meat trade and are now caring for over 5000 dogs rescued from an unthinkable fate. I can not say enough good things about Soi Dog. Their spending is efficient and responsible. The founders, staff, and volunteers love what they do and are true heroes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think this organization could extend its reach and serve as a model for other groups doing similar work around the world if they had the funding for more staff in additional locations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered here for 4 days and couldn't leave! I stayed for 6 weeks in the end. It was the most rewarding experience of my life and cannot recommend Soi Dog enough. It was bigger than I had imagined and so clean. All the staff are wonderful people and they all love the cats and dogs. Forget the other attractions on Phuket - this is the best one :-)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask more people to volunteer :-)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with many animal welfare organizations over the past 25 years. Soi Dog Foundation is, by far, the best I have encountered. The founders, staff and volunteers are smart, dedicated and incredibly responsive. If I could give them 10 stars, I would!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

I have worked for years in animal welfare and this is one of the most well thought out and well run shelters I have ever visited. Soi Dog has done so much for the street dogs and cats of Phuket and further afield, not only through their rescue work but through their very important spay and neuter programme, which has seen a massive decline in stray animal numbers throughout the island. In addition, they frequently run mobile sterilisation clinics further afield, to help reduce animal population numbers in other areas of Thailand.
They are also making huge strides in their fight to end the illegal dog meat trade and funding shelters that house thousands of dogs rescued from being skinned and boiled alive.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

Soi Dog Foundation breaks the mold, they are brave and inspiring.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

If you visit Soi Dog, you will see dogs barking happily, running and playing, or sleeping in their shaded areas, volunteers walking dogs, children learning how to take good care of animals, and vets performing sterilizations and other surgeries. It is a happy scene because the dogs and cats are well-cared for by the dedicated volunteers, housed in large pens and well fed. It is a wonderfully inspiring place.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We were lucky to be able visit Soi Dog when we were in Thailand. It is run by John and Gill Dalley, an amazing British couple who went to Thailand to retire, and instead ended up working 24/7 for 10 years, to help the homeless dogs and cats. In addition to sterilising over 50,000 dogs in Phuket, they have eradicated rabies. They also run a mobile clinic, responding to help requests from many other areas. They later started a shelter in Bangkok. They helped hundreds of dogs during the floods. As if all this were not enough, they run a rescue operation to save thousands of dogs who have been kidnapped with the aim of shipping them over the border to be sold for meat as part of an illegal operation. After saving them, they house and feed them - thousands!!!! Their volunteer vets are the best in the business. Every penny that is donated is spent directly on the animals. They are now in the process of requesting permits to build a hospital. It doesn't get better than this.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have recently adopted a Soi dog from Phuket Thailan named Hero. Her was severely abused and had mange. Soi Dog workers are Angels sent from God!! Hero arrived safely from Phuket to Maine USA. Hero is the most precious dog and so loving. SOI dog made the adoption process so easy! And they sent 3 months of Hero, s medicationwith him. Very pleased with Soi Dog!!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Soi Dog is an amazing organization. They are doing such incredible and important work in Thailand with the stray dog and cat population and in working diligently towards the ending of the Dog Meat Trade.
What I particularly love about them is that they are so hands on making a difference. Most
of the senior leadership donates their time and are not paid. As a result, operational expenses are kept to a bare minimum and the majority of donations received are put directly into service on behalf of the dogs and cats in Thailand. They have grown so much over the years and this growth has not diminished their more personal relationship with donors, volunteers and supporters. Unlike other large multinational animal aid organizations, they are scrappy, down to earth and actually doing the work themselves. A wonderful, amazing organization worthy of support. And their successes are incredibly powerful and meaningful. Truly an action-based animal organization with heart and perseverance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers