Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
150 Reviews
1234.913335
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 11, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
August 21, 2013

What could make more sense than to save good food from being thrown away, and then to distribute it to people who need it? It's a double blessing. And SOSA has been doing this for decades. In addit... more

September 11, 2014

For three decades now, I have personally supported this organization. Doesn't it make all the sense in the world to save good food that would otherwise be thrown away, and take it to hungry people? There's no reason for hunger in the USA. SOSA knows "enough is enough". There IS enough food for everyone. The challenge is to distribute it. And that's what they do.
August 21, 2013

What could make more sense than to save good food from being thrown away, and then to distribute it to people who need it? It's a double blessing. And SOSA has been doing this for decades. In addition to growers willing to donate their surplus or unmarketable crops, many individuals and groups volunteer their time "gleaning" (Biblical word for gathering from fields and orchards) food left behind after harvesting. So many food banks and other distribution points benefit from SOSA's work. Donated funds are used to transport the food to places it is most needed. Gleaners learn where food comes from and how it gets to our tables, and how much we truly have to share. There IS enough, if only we share.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

Doesn't it make perfect sense to distribute the abundant fresh food we have in America to people who need it? That's what the Society has been doing for decades. They salvage good food that otherwise would go to waste at harvest time from cooperating farmers, then transport it to food banks and other sites where it's shared with those who can use it. People of all ages do the gleaning in fields and orchards, donors provide funds to transport the food, and everyone involved, of whatever faith, channels God's abundance to neighbors in need. It's a win-win in every respect. I have donated to SOSA for decades and have named them in my will. I believe wholeheartedly in what they do. They are the greatest!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 6, 2011

For decades I have supported the work of SOSA. It makes so much sense to save good food from going to waste, and instead to salvage it and deliver it to hungry people. Hands-on gleaning of crops in fields and orchards teaches new generations how food grows and how it can benefit the most people. Environmental stewardship, compassion and service extended to those in need, learning by doing--definitely a win-win-win situation. Monetary donations pay to transport salvaged food to distribution points around the country; I believe my donations do double good in saving food and bringing it to those who need it. Over the years I have encouraged my churches to support the work of SOSA from a Christian faith perspective, as well as simple common sense in rescuing perfectly good food from waste and feeding hungry people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

SOSA has done some amazing work and we are happy to have donated to this group over the last 2 years. Most recently we used their VBS materials to educate our young children about hunger and poverty locally and nationally. Living in a rural community our children are familiar with gleaning. To reach beyond our borders has been eye opening for them. We are very thankful for these hard working people and their continued mission rescuing food that otherwise would be wasted! Robin

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

We at South Austin Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) financially support Society of St. Andrews. We enjoy the uplifting devotionals they give to us at no cost for participating in their seasonal programs. We are looking forward in giving to this worthy cause again!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We need a Society of St. Andrew office in Texas, if there is one I don't see it listed on their web site.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 11, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 6, 2011

When the Society was formed it was to help organize efforts at moving produce that would otherwise be left in fields to rot. The resulting gleaning programs succeeded beyond expectations and spawned o... more

September 11, 2013

Years ago a representative from the Society of Saint Andrew made a presentation at our church. We were so impressed with the depth of commitment that was evidenced in what we learned about the Society that began to make regular contributions. Since that time we have never missed an opportunity to support this program for it is carrying out one of the basic teachings of both the Old and New Testaments, namely feeding the hungry. Over the years we've been increasingly impressed with the extent of the Society's outreach while operating on a very basic budget. We can't imagine a more meaningful or effective use of the monies we set aside for charitable contributions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 6, 2011

When the Society was formed it was to help organize efforts at moving produce that would otherwise be left in fields to rot. The resulting gleaning programs succeeded beyond expectations and spawned other projects that all aim at delivering food to those without the resources to provided adequately for themselves and their families. From humble beginnings the Society of Saint Andrew remains unassuming in its headquarters and staff. Maybe the most inspiring aspect of all this is that so little of the contributed monies go to maintaining offices and personnel. Theirs is truly a ministry.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

I have always been enthused about the mission and work of Society of St. Andrew (SoSA) - the principle of salvaging use-able fresh foods and sharing it with food banks so that it goes directly to people who can use it. Gleaning events are hands-on and inter-generational, and the Harvest of Hope programs are longer sessions which include spiritual and educational components. I love the annual Christmas "donor" cards with their unique and inspirational art. I always look for ways to promote and support SoSA.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

I research each and every charity that I donate to, and Society of St. Andrew has the least amount earmarked for administrative costs! The bulk of monies received goes to do the work of feeding the hungry! I also love being able to send Christmas cards each year through St. Andrews. Each year is a different artist with their own design proclaiming the birth of Jesus the Savior! Also, they have beautiful Advent materials you can print out! Wonderful organization! If you donate, you are assured it is used most efficiently!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Love to have some gleaning opportunities in Texas!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

What an awesome way to feed those less fortunate. SOSA uses so little of the money donated for operating expenses. Truly a Biblical approach to hunger.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing. It is up to me to make the change. I need to remember to pass on what Society of St. Andrew does to others so they might become donors of time and money resources. So the change has to come with me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

This is a great non-profit organization. I support them with my time and money. They are biblical in their efforts to glean food which would rot in the fields of America. Children really like to help by putting their coins in the boxes provided by SSA. Even if you are unable to help in the fields your can help by purchasing their Christmas cards and making donations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
December 9, 2009

SoSA does an incredible job of involving people at the grassroots level. I first participated in the Yam Jam in NC, gleaning/salvaging sweet potatoes in the field. I have since been a part of potato... more

November 30, 2012

SoSA is amazing!!! Whenever I try to tell people about their work, they act like it is too good to be true! By rescuing food that would otherwise go to waste (usually landfills), they are able to provide fresh (not processed) food for just a few pennies per pound because they work with existing feeding agencies. They have a surprisingly low overhead.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 9, 2009

SoSA does an incredible job of involving people at the grassroots level. I first participated in the Yam Jam in NC, gleaning/salvaging sweet potatoes in the field. I have since been a part of potato drops where potatoes are bagged and sent to food agencies. My church collects funds (change mostly) before Christmas and Easter to support this ministry. The children especially are so proud and happy when they bring their boxes in because they know that they are really making a difference.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

how little money goes so far. 2 cents per serving!!! That's amazing!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 10, 2011

more

December 10, 2011

When donating to SoSa, I am assured that the monies will be wisely used to help those who find it difficult to meet their daily need for food. This organization allows me and others the opportunity to glean what is good nutritional food for hundreds to enjoy. It provides Biblical study literature to enhance every Christian holiday and for those who glean to encourage an understanding of the plight of hunger. It encourages farmers to share the crops left after reaping. If a person can only donate to one organization, Society of Saint Andrews is the one to choose!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Collect hundreds of pounds of fresh food for hungry people. Volunteer