Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
150 Reviews
1234.913335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

I have enjoyed working with SOSA for about two years now to feed the hungry in our community. The SOSA volunteers are always kind, gracious and so appreciative of the help that can offer. I have been blessed by the opportunity to with with them. The organization is one of pure integrity, from the financials to the groups they work with to the volunteers themselves.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 12, 2011

more

December 12, 2011

Our agency operates a food pantry that provides food to over 20,000 individuals a year. Fresh produce is something that we never have access to and is so vital to the health of our clients. Our partnership with the Society of St. Andrew has enabled us to distribute thousands of pounds of useful produce to our clients. We have distributed potatoes, cabbage, tomatoes, melons, and green beans that would otherwise have been wasted. They are extremely vigilant in founding and transporting these items to us at no cost.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 10, 2011

more

December 10, 2011

As pastor/servant leader, I have been privileged to meet and learn from one Rev. Jennifer Vestal Moore when I was a student at Wesley Theological Seminary (Washington DC). She came to our mission class to speak about this fantastic outreach and spiritual mission. Over the past 10 years I have carried the message and helped others to get on board. The Vacation Bible School for two years in a row has made their collection grow and sent in to SOSA. We have been part of apple and potato gleaning as a church. It is a wonderful organization helping feed so many in the USA. It should be something known to all--where SOSA is on all peoples lips. Praise God. The blessings flow from all who care for this mission/ministry to those in need. Each year more and more people are kept from hunger through this effort. In Jesus name. Amen!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

The Society of St. Andrew is an incredible organization that provides food for those in need by rescuing food that otherwise would be wasted. The concept is very simple. Farmers allow volunteers to glean (gather crops after the harvest) from their crops and distribute the food to those in need. Society of St. Andrew also works with growers and distributors who have large quantities of leftover produce they cannot sell and makes sure it is delivered to agencies who feed the hungry. Society of St. Andrew can provide fresh fruits and vegetables to America's most needy for a mere 2 cents per serving. Find out more at endhunger.org

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

The gleaning network of the Society of St. Andrew brings together people from different walks of life for a common purpose...providing fresh fruits and vegetables to people who are hungry. The process is a "win-win-win" proposition. Fresh produce is "rescued" from being wasted (win!), growers who donate get a tax credit (win!), and people who are hungry get fresh, nutritious produce that they couldn't afford to purchase (huge win!!) The keys to the success of the mission Society of St. Andrew include the generosity of the farmers, the dedication and hard work of the volunteers, and the effective networking by the Society staff.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I work for the MO Dept. of Corrections and they have helped our population as they reenter society. Without their help a lot of our offenders would be lost and possibly recidivate. With their assistance they are able to help our population with jobs, treatment, etc. The services they provide are very valuable in helping our population be successful.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

The Society of St. Andrew provides an invaluable resource for thousands of families struggling with food insecurity. Here in Central Florida, the organization works together with local growers of fresh fruits and vegetables as well as people who grow fruit at home to glean that extra product that they have available. SOSA provides an extremely rewarding and efficient way to help feed those in our community who cannot afford enough of the right foods all the time. Hundreds of thousands of pounds of the most nutritious foods available are provided to our local Food Bank and other orgs. for distribution throughout the community. I am proud to highly recommend supporting this caring, well-run organization with your time, dollars, or food donations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

The Society of St. Andrew has been a blessing to the residents of Villa Maria Apartments in Birmingham, Al. Our independent living community is for low income seniors and those with are in need of accessible housing. Friendly volunteers deliver fresh fruits and vegetables to our residents during the growing season. As fresh fruits and vegetables are sometimes expense for persons on low income, the residents very much enjoy getting them. Most of our residents prepare their own meals and have used the helpful recipes that are sometimes included with the deliveries. Thanks so very much for including our residents in your program. Mary Kimbrough, Service Coordinator Villa Maria Apts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I am the communications and marketing director for the Nebraska United Methodist Conference. I love SoSA because they offer easy to access resources that we can share broadly across Nebraska to enlist others in the fight against hunger. The SoSA concept is easy for constituents to grasp and take part in.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I worked for the Society of St. Andrew for more than 16 years and know first hand, from the inside out, and top to bottom, that it is one of the most efficient and effective nonprofit organizations in the nation. Now that I am retired I continue to support SoSA as a donor who has full confidence that my financial contributions continue to be used to the maximum to provide food for the hungry. I realize not everyone can go into the fields to glean leftover produce, but those who can't can still feed the hungry with their donations to SoSA, knowing that every dollar donated will provide as much as 30-45 servings of nourishing food to those in need in their own communities and across the nation. Carol Breitinger, Big Island, VA

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Collect hundreds of pounds of fresh food for hungry people. Volunteer