Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
140 Reviews
1234.907145
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 13, 2011

more

December 13, 2011

SOSA has been a wonderful organization that has greatly supported our efforts. As a grass-roots non-profit working with farmworker communities, many individuals do not regularly have enough food for themselves or their families. SOSA has frequently been able to assist us in feeding the hungry. Additionally, they have been extremely knowledge, professional, and helpful when gleaning for food. I have joined them on a number of occasions and always look forward to my next opportunity to work with their organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

What a great organization to work with!! We are so grateful for the connection between farmer and family!! The families we serve we so thankful for the beautiful potatoes and the pumpkins that we were blessed with! The representative, Linda came and met us, observed our community outreach and interacted with our volunteers. We were impressed by how professional yet compassionate they are!! Great non-profit to be working with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2010

more

November 15, 2010

The Society of St. Andrew is helping support Fellowship Missions which is an organization that spreads Christ's love through feeding the needy and is starting a homeless shelter in Warsaw, Indiana, Kosciusko County. They have been incremental in donating much needed supplies and from their gleaning network have donated fresh produce of sweet corn and apples. SOSA has also invited us to pick up 200 pounds of potatoes at a future potato drop. We are very blessed to have such an organization help in being committed to end hunger/homelessness in our community. Thank You SOSA!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

feeding the needy in our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have a national advertising campaign.

December 8, 2009

more

December 8, 2009

This summer, the Society of St. Andrew in Charlotte, NC helped me coordinate field trips for 60 inner-city children and youth. We traveled to farms in neighborhing counties, where the gleaning volunteers taught our young people about where food comes from, how to pick it, when to eat it, why it costs money in the store, why it matters how food is grown and transported, and what kinds of careers are available in food production. As a result of our gleaning experience, we sent every child home with 10 ears of corn and 10 tomatoes. We had enough left to send boxes and boxes back to their neighborhoods and schools, and even gave away some of the extra produce on the street as people walked by. It was an amazing experience: Most of our children know what it is like to skip meals because there is not enough food. It brought everyone great joy to see these children experience abundance and learn how to find alternative sources for food.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

passionate about local food and helping connect those resources with the people who need them most. They were knowledgeable and excited to teach all who would come and listen.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 4, 2009

more

December 4, 2009

An apple a day... what about 4,000 pounds of apples! That's how many apples were delivered by the Society of Saint Andrews Gleaners to the Rescue Mission of Roanoke. The Mission's kitchen prepares and serves more than 900 meals each day, so immediately fried apples were served at breakfast, apple salads were made for lunch, apples were included with the bagged lunches packed for students for folks living int he shelter who were going off to work and a tasty apple crisp was made for supper. Hundreds of Saint Andrews Volunteers picked the apples for us and then more volunteers at the Mission peeled and chopped them so that the freezer was filled! Thank you Society of Saint Andrew.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Seeing the joy of those who glean and those who enjoy the harvest at the last stop of foods that have been gleaned.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

passionate about finding a purpose for food that would have been lost if they had not been there to harvest it.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

create a nationawide delivery system to service places liek the Rescue Mission and community food banks all over the country.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Collect hundreds of pounds of fresh food for hungry people. Volunteer