Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
150 Reviews
1234.913335
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

The youth at my Methodist Church in Dallas, TX have worked many years in the Gleaning of food to feed hungry people. I had never heard of SoSA before we moved to Dallas eight years ago. After seeing the great work of people, and seeing the reports that SoSA share - WE ARE MAKING A DIFFERENCE!! Praise God!! Becky M.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

My wife and I have provided financial support and hands on volunteer support for this ministry for a number of years. It has a very low overhead and a great net work of volunteers for bagging bulk food at food drops, gleaning, and educational opportunities for all age levels. It moves fresh, good produce that would otherwise go to waste to a table that may have little or no food.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

SOSA has been a great partner for the University of Tennessee's Grow More Give More program. We are a service project aimed at reducing food waste and helping to feed the hungry. Society of St. Andrews helps coordinate the collection and distribution of the food. We really enjoy working with them, and they help us get the food where it is needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

SoSA has only had an office in TN for 2.5 years and it is staffed by only 2 ladies. In that time they have salvaged over 3 MILLION pounds of fresh produce that has been given away to families in need... more

July 31, 2014

I have worked with the SoSA for the past 6 years and have watched this fantastic organization grow and help feed more needy families in our area. Our state, Tennessee is the 6th hungriest state in the US. SoSA is continuing to work with farmers and local farmer's market to "salvage" fresh produce that is on the tables of needy families daily. I can't think of a better organization to be GreatNonprofits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013

SoSA has only had an office in TN for 2.5 years and it is staffed by only 2 ladies. In that time they have salvaged over 3 MILLION pounds of fresh produce that has been given away to families in need and food pantries to prepare this food for the needy. The National ogranization last year salvaged over 33 MILLION pounds to help needy folks. The entire organization of SoSA is dedicated to feeding as many people as they can and reduce the wasted food in our country. They are truly AMAZING!!!. Once you volunteer with them you are hooked and want to do more to help them salvage more fresh produce for folks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 7, 2011

On July 23, 2012 which ended up being one of the hottest day in East TN this year, we got to be the first ever green bean drop with the TN SoSA. Since we were the "trial" run we wanted as many beans as we could get to see just how long it would take to bag them and if we could make this work. The green beans were coming out of the field and needed to be cooled (get the field heat out of them); which was going to pose another problem. We recieved a dump truck load of approximately 20,000 lbs of beans, 60 feet long, 5 feet wide and 4 feet high, which took us 8 hours to bag over 2400 bags of 8-10 lbs per bag. BUT, we still had to get them cooled down; so we ask the volunteers to bring gallon jugs of frozen water and the kids that came to bring their wading pools. We had over 100 volunteers to come and help. We had 10 wading pools and we used all the gallon jugs of frozen water, all the ice from both ice makers in the church and we bought 20 bags of 10 lbs of ice. We gave all of these beans away to 4 local food pantries and over 40 different churches in our district area that day. What a blessing this was for us and for the families that received them. Had this idea not be thought of by the TN SoSA these beans would have gone to farmers for their cattle and pigs. Since that trial run, TN SoSA and the processor have had 5 other bean drops that have provided fresh produce for local families. We are planning on doing this again next year with TN SoSA's help and looking forward to helping more families in our local area. We are so thankful for the TN SoSA and all the great work that they do to help provide fresh produce for local families in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

SOSA is a great company to volunteer for, and the product of their efforts along with the efforts of the volunteers is one of the most rewarding experiences you'll ever have. As a Christian, feeding the hungry is part of showing our love for our neighbors, as Jesus commanded. Volunteering for SOSA is an easy way to show this and learn to give back to our community. You'll work hard, but it's extremely fun, and extremely rewarding. I would suggest volunteering at a citrus drive, that's the most fun in my opinion.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

Volunteering with SOSA has truly been a blessing. They unselfishly give of their time and talents to help the hungry. If they could see the tears of joy that falls from the faces of senior citizens, widows, hospice and the working poor, who needed food but did not have the means to purchase any, Yet the SOSA team is in action freely distributing food. They hungry are amazed that the food is free, good quality and given with the Love of Christ. Some senior citizens have stated that SOSA is the reason they are able to eat. Another Senior Citizen receives $22.00 per month in federal food assistance and stated "I don't know how I would eat if SOSA wasn't here". SOSA has impacted the lives of the hungry, one senior citizen no longer has to ear cat food at the end of the month, because SOSA is continually in the community providing food for the hungry. Thank you SOSA for all that you do unseen. May the Lord richly bless you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

Volunteering with the Society of St Andrew for the past 8 years has been wonderful. It is amazing to see the difference being made by this organization. They are starting in our local communities and changing the world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to more places throughout the US.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2012

I have volunteered with SoSA in the TN area for the past 2 years. There are 2 ladies on staff for the entire state of TN and AL and they are amazing. They have salvaged in the first 9 months of this... more

April 23, 2013

This non profit organization is fantastic. If you want to feel good about yourself in helping others, then become a "gleaner" for SoSA. It's not hard work and you are helping seniors, children and families that are in need of food.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with SoSA in the TN area for the past 2 years. There are 2 ladies on staff for the entire state of TN and AL and they are amazing. They have salvaged in the first 9 months of this year over a million pounds for fresh produce to give to needy families. Lots of folks didn't know about SoSA until we (our church) did a watermelon, green bean and 2 sweet potato drops. More and more folks are starting to volunteer to help, especially now that they know that SoSA gives the fresh produce away. The last sweet potato drop of 40,000 lbs was completely bagged up in 3 hours; we had over 300 volunteers participate. Just 2 weeks ago, they were able to get 35,000 lbs of yogurt that we distributed to 10 local pantries and 16 church/pantries. This organization and all the folks involved are truly a special group that provide not only food for folks, but make them smile. Thank You SoSA for all you do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2012

more

November 22, 2012

SOSA has been an amazing organization to volunteer with! It is beneficial to the farmers who so generously allow us to glean and distribute the bounty to food pantries all over the metropolitan Kansas City area. It is beneficial to the food pantries who can have fresh produce for people who do not see fresh food often. It is beneficial to the patrons who learn about unfamiliar foods, how to prepare them and, in so-doing, improving their nutritional intake. It is beneficial to the many volunteers to know that together we can truly work to end hunger. This past summer, the Boys and Girls Club at the Center of Grace in Olathe, KS, were fortunate enough to have fresh fruit and/or veggies at every lunch meal the entire summer. One of the most poignant memories for me is of a young girl--probably around 10 years old--who asked me what this fuzzy thing was on her plate. I explained it was a peach and she could pick it up and bite it. The look on her face when she took her first bite of the ripe, juicy peach was priceless! Thanks, SOSA, for the experience!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

We participated in an apple glean and it was a great experience. I especially was impressed with Karin's involvement of the children who were present. She taught them to weigh the boxes and made them feel very important. Working with the other volunteers was also a positive experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Collect hundreds of pounds of fresh food for hungry people. Volunteer