Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
150 Reviews
1234.913335
| 1 2 3 4...14 |
Write A Review
November 22, 2012

more

November 22, 2012

SOSA has been an amazing organization to volunteer with! It is beneficial to the farmers who so generously allow us to glean and distribute the bounty to food pantries all over the metropolitan Kansas City area. It is beneficial to the food pantries who can have fresh produce for people who do not see fresh food often. It is beneficial to the patrons who learn about unfamiliar foods, how to prepare them and, in so-doing, improving their nutritional intake. It is beneficial to the many volunteers to know that together we can truly work to end hunger. This past summer, the Boys and Girls Club at the Center of Grace in Olathe, KS, were fortunate enough to have fresh fruit and/or veggies at every lunch meal the entire summer. One of the most poignant memories for me is of a young girl--probably around 10 years old--who asked me what this fuzzy thing was on her plate. I explained it was a peach and she could pick it up and bite it. The look on her face when she took her first bite of the ripe, juicy peach was priceless! Thanks, SOSA, for the experience!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

We participated in an apple glean and it was a great experience. I especially was impressed with Karin's involvement of the children who were present. She taught them to weigh the boxes and made them feel very important. Working with the other volunteers was also a positive experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

We received several loads of corn and vegetables from this group and were able to give some out to the working poor in the community and serve the rest in our kitchen where we serve over 2000 meals per day . Karin is great to work with and we were very grateful to receive fresh corn and veggies .

More feedback...

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 19, 2011

more

December 19, 2011

The folks at the Society of St. Andrews are very welcoming, and mission minded! They were very good at making you understand the long reaching impact of what you were doing. It served as a great motivator! Their dedication and hard, hard work is a marvel, and is also contagious! , What they are doing just makes sense, and that is very appealing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 13, 2011

more

December 13, 2011

SOSA has been a wonderful organization that has greatly supported our efforts. As a grass-roots non-profit working with farmworker communities, many individuals do not regularly have enough food for themselves or their families. SOSA has frequently been able to assist us in feeding the hungry. Additionally, they have been extremely knowledge, professional, and helpful when gleaning for food. I have joined them on a number of occasions and always look forward to my next opportunity to work with their organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 12, 2011

more

December 12, 2011

Our agency operates a food pantry that provides food to over 20,000 individuals a year. Fresh produce is something that we never have access to and is so vital to the health of our clients. Our partnership with the Society of St. Andrew has enabled us to distribute thousands of pounds of useful produce to our clients. We have distributed potatoes, cabbage, tomatoes, melons, and green beans that would otherwise have been wasted. They are extremely vigilant in founding and transporting these items to us at no cost.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 11, 2011

more

December 11, 2011

I appreciate SoSA as an organization that takes their mission to love people through and to Christ by meeting their physical needs. "Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world." ~ James 1:27

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 10, 2011

more

December 10, 2011

I am a Gleaner for St. Andrews Society which entails going the weekly Tailgate Markets and "gleaning" food that might spoil before the next selling opportunity. I talk with the farmers and vendors and collect products they wish to donate. The farmers and vendors are very kind and generous people and I often end up with a load of food that fills the back seat of my car. I take the food directly to a home for women that are pregnant and/or have young kids that are creating a fresh start on life. This wonderful food includes a huge selection veggies, bread, fruit, eggs, cheese, pastries, and sometimes even flowers and treats! Some of the residents may not have encountered this variety of wholesome food in the past and enjoy learning about and eating the healthy local foods.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 10, 2011

more

December 10, 2011

As pastor/servant leader, I have been privileged to meet and learn from one Rev. Jennifer Vestal Moore when I was a student at Wesley Theological Seminary (Washington DC). She came to our mission class to speak about this fantastic outreach and spiritual mission. Over the past 10 years I have carried the message and helped others to get on board. The Vacation Bible School for two years in a row has made their collection grow and sent in to SOSA. We have been part of apple and potato gleaning as a church. It is a wonderful organization helping feed so many in the USA. It should be something known to all--where SOSA is on all peoples lips. Praise God. The blessings flow from all who care for this mission/ministry to those in need. Each year more and more people are kept from hunger through this effort. In Jesus name. Amen!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 10, 2011

more

December 10, 2011

When donating to SoSa, I am assured that the monies will be wisely used to help those who find it difficult to meet their daily need for food. This organization allows me and others the opportunity to glean what is good nutritional food for hundreds to enjoy. It provides Biblical study literature to enhance every Christian holiday and for those who glean to encourage an understanding of the plight of hunger. It encourages farmers to share the crops left after reaping. If a person can only donate to one organization, Society of Saint Andrews is the one to choose!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Collect hundreds of pounds of fresh food for hungry people. Volunteer