Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
140 Reviews
1234.907145
| 1 2 3 4...14 |
Write A Review
December 10, 2011

more

December 10, 2011

As pastor/servant leader, I have been privileged to meet and learn from one Rev. Jennifer Vestal Moore when I was a student at Wesley Theological Seminary (Washington DC). She came to our mission class to speak about this fantastic outreach and spiritual mission. Over the past 10 years I have carried the message and helped others to get on board. The Vacation Bible School for two years in a row has made their collection grow and sent in to SOSA. We have been part of apple and potato gleaning as a church. It is a wonderful organization helping feed so many in the USA. It should be something known to all--where SOSA is on all peoples lips. Praise God. The blessings flow from all who care for this mission/ministry to those in need. Each year more and more people are kept from hunger through this effort. In Jesus name. Amen!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 10, 2011

more

December 10, 2011

When donating to SoSa, I am assured that the monies will be wisely used to help those who find it difficult to meet their daily need for food. This organization allows me and others the opportunity to glean what is good nutritional food for hundreds to enjoy. It provides Biblical study literature to enhance every Christian holiday and for those who glean to encourage an understanding of the plight of hunger. It encourages farmers to share the crops left after reaping. If a person can only donate to one organization, Society of Saint Andrews is the one to choose!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

The Society of St. Andrew is an incredible organization that provides food for those in need by rescuing food that otherwise would be wasted. The concept is very simple. Farmers allow volunteers to glean (gather crops after the harvest) from their crops and distribute the food to those in need. Society of St. Andrew also works with growers and distributors who have large quantities of leftover produce they cannot sell and makes sure it is delivered to agencies who feed the hungry. Society of St. Andrew can provide fresh fruits and vegetables to America's most needy for a mere 2 cents per serving. Find out more at endhunger.org

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

SOSA seems to be able to do the most with every donated dollar. I love the fact that this organization is making use of tons of food that oterwise would not be used.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

What a great organization to work with!! We are so grateful for the connection between farmer and family!! The families we serve we so thankful for the beautiful potatoes and the pumpkins that we were blessed with! The representative, Linda came and met us, observed our community outreach and interacted with our volunteers. We were impressed by how professional yet compassionate they are!! Great non-profit to be working with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

A wonderful organization! Their concept of harvesting fresh, perfectly good, nutritious food that would otherwise go to waste is awesome. Participated in a gleaning weekend a few years ago and loved it. Have been a regular supporter since.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

The gleaning network of the Society of St. Andrew brings together people from different walks of life for a common purpose...providing fresh fruits and vegetables to people who are hungry. The process is a "win-win-win" proposition. Fresh produce is "rescued" from being wasted (win!), growers who donate get a tax credit (win!), and people who are hungry get fresh, nutritious produce that they couldn't afford to purchase (huge win!!) The keys to the success of the mission Society of St. Andrew include the generosity of the farmers, the dedication and hard work of the volunteers, and the effective networking by the Society staff.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more


1 previous review
December 21, 2009

I participated in the gleaning of veggies and fruits when they were made available from April'09-Nov. '09. These were distributed to individuals and the Bread of Life(community soup kitchen)around t... more

December 8, 2011

I have been associated with Society of St. Andrew for 4 years now. They have been a valuable and much needed contributor to helping to feed the poor and hurting in our community. They are extremely well organized and are constantly working to get more farms and growers to allow gleaners to be able to harvest food that would otherwise go to waste. It is all about helping others, instead of focusing on themselves. This is a group that I plan to support whole heartedly, as long as the Lord allows!!! J.S.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 21, 2009

I participated in the gleaning of veggies and fruits when they were made available from April'09-Nov. '09. These were distributed to individuals and the Bread of Life(community soup kitchen)around the Brevard area. I can't begin to recount how many hungry and hurting people benefitted from the distributions. The Lord knows how many saw the face of Jesus through these giveaways. Bill Walker has become a very dear friend. He is one of the most dedicated persons I know. His love for the Lord and for those hurting in many communities has been wonderful to be a part of . I will always make myself available to help and see that the produce offered does not go to waste. Thank you for your organization

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the fellowship with other gleaners and the appreciation of recipients.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

first class! Bill Walker is the kind of person your organization can be proud to be associated with.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

feed many of the hurting people of Western NC.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

SOSA is one of the best charities that we, as a family have volunteered in. The organizers are extremely personable and down to earth people. Children are not only accommodated but their participation is valued. Its so wonderful to be out there in an orchard or farm connecting to nature and you're benefiting the hungry in the process. The best part about the charity is that acts as a medium for providing what is needed where its needed. The charity uses the excess of food present in farms or orchards which will otherwise rot or be plowed down and uses volunteers to pick the produce and organizes to send it to the 2nd Harvest Bank. Amazing people, amazing partners. It is my and my children's most favorite of all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

The Society of St. Andrew does an amazing job of coordinating volunteers and putting them to work on behalf of hungry people. Their gleaning approach is a win/win/win for the hungry, for food producers, and for those who want to be involved in combatting hunger in a hands on way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Collect hundreds of pounds of fresh food for hungry people. Volunteer