Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
140 Reviews
1234.907145
| 1 2 3...14 |
Write A Review
April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 7, 2011

On July 23, 2012 which ended up being one of the hottest day in East TN this year, we got to be the first ever green bean drop with the TN SoSA. Since we were the "trial" run we wanted as many beans ... more

April 5, 2013

SoSA has only had an office in TN for 2.5 years and it is staffed by only 2 ladies. In that time they have salvaged over 3 MILLION pounds of fresh produce that has been given away to families in need and food pantries to prepare this food for the needy. The National ogranization last year salvaged over 33 MILLION pounds to help needy folks. The entire organization of SoSA is dedicated to feeding as many people as they can and reduce the wasted food in our country. They are truly AMAZING!!!. Once you volunteer with them you are hooked and want to do more to help them salvage more fresh produce for folks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 7, 2011

On July 23, 2012 which ended up being one of the hottest day in East TN this year, we got to be the first ever green bean drop with the TN SoSA. Since we were the "trial" run we wanted as many beans as we could get to see just how long it would take to bag them and if we could make this work. The green beans were coming out of the field and needed to be cooled (get the field heat out of them); which was going to pose another problem. We recieved a dump truck load of approximately 20,000 lbs of beans, 60 feet long, 5 feet wide and 4 feet high, which took us 8 hours to bag over 2400 bags of 8-10 lbs per bag. BUT, we still had to get them cooled down; so we ask the volunteers to bring gallon jugs of frozen water and the kids that came to bring their wading pools. We had over 100 volunteers to come and help. We had 10 wading pools and we used all the gallon jugs of frozen water, all the ice from both ice makers in the church and we bought 20 bags of 10 lbs of ice. We gave all of these beans away to 4 local food pantries and over 40 different churches in our district area that day. What a blessing this was for us and for the families that received them. Had this idea not be thought of by the TN SoSA these beans would have gone to farmers for their cattle and pigs. Since that trial run, TN SoSA and the processor have had 5 other bean drops that have provided fresh produce for local families. We are planning on doing this again next year with TN SoSA's help and looking forward to helping more families in our local area. We are so thankful for the TN SoSA and all the great work that they do to help provide fresh produce for local families in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
December 9, 2009

SoSA does an incredible job of involving people at the grassroots level. I first participated in the Yam Jam in NC, gleaning/salvaging sweet potatoes in the field. I have since been a part of potato... more

November 30, 2012

SoSA is amazing!!! Whenever I try to tell people about their work, they act like it is too good to be true! By rescuing food that would otherwise go to waste (usually landfills), they are able to provide fresh (not processed) food for just a few pennies per pound because they work with existing feeding agencies. They have a surprisingly low overhead.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 9, 2009

SoSA does an incredible job of involving people at the grassroots level. I first participated in the Yam Jam in NC, gleaning/salvaging sweet potatoes in the field. I have since been a part of potato drops where potatoes are bagged and sent to food agencies. My church collects funds (change mostly) before Christmas and Easter to support this ministry. The children especially are so proud and happy when they bring their boxes in because they know that they are really making a difference.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

how little money goes so far. 2 cents per serving!!! That's amazing!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 22, 2012

more

November 22, 2012

SOSA has been an amazing organization to volunteer with! It is beneficial to the farmers who so generously allow us to glean and distribute the bounty to food pantries all over the metropolitan Kansas City area. It is beneficial to the food pantries who can have fresh produce for people who do not see fresh food often. It is beneficial to the patrons who learn about unfamiliar foods, how to prepare them and, in so-doing, improving their nutritional intake. It is beneficial to the many volunteers to know that together we can truly work to end hunger. This past summer, the Boys and Girls Club at the Center of Grace in Olathe, KS, were fortunate enough to have fresh fruit and/or veggies at every lunch meal the entire summer. One of the most poignant memories for me is of a young girl--probably around 10 years old--who asked me what this fuzzy thing was on her plate. I explained it was a peach and she could pick it up and bite it. The look on her face when she took her first bite of the ripe, juicy peach was priceless! Thanks, SOSA, for the experience!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

We participated in an apple glean and it was a great experience. I especially was impressed with Karin's involvement of the children who were present. She taught them to weigh the boxes and made them feel very important. Working with the other volunteers was also a positive experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

We received several loads of corn and vegetables from this group and were able to give some out to the working poor in the community and serve the rest in our kitchen where we serve over 2000 meals per day . Karin is great to work with and we were very grateful to receive fresh corn and veggies .

More feedback...

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 19, 2011

more

December 19, 2011

The folks at the Society of St. Andrews are very welcoming, and mission minded! They were very good at making you understand the long reaching impact of what you were doing. It served as a great motivator! Their dedication and hard, hard work is a marvel, and is also contagious! , What they are doing just makes sense, and that is very appealing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 13, 2011

more

December 13, 2011

SOSA has been a wonderful organization that has greatly supported our efforts. As a grass-roots non-profit working with farmworker communities, many individuals do not regularly have enough food for themselves or their families. SOSA has frequently been able to assist us in feeding the hungry. Additionally, they have been extremely knowledge, professional, and helpful when gleaning for food. I have joined them on a number of occasions and always look forward to my next opportunity to work with their organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 12, 2011

more

December 12, 2011

Our agency operates a food pantry that provides food to over 20,000 individuals a year. Fresh produce is something that we never have access to and is so vital to the health of our clients. Our partnership with the Society of St. Andrew has enabled us to distribute thousands of pounds of useful produce to our clients. We have distributed potatoes, cabbage, tomatoes, melons, and green beans that would otherwise have been wasted. They are extremely vigilant in founding and transporting these items to us at no cost.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 11, 2011

more

December 11, 2011

I appreciate SoSA as an organization that takes their mission to love people through and to Christ by meeting their physical needs. "Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world." ~ James 1:27

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 10, 2011

more

December 10, 2011

I am a Gleaner for St. Andrews Society which entails going the weekly Tailgate Markets and "gleaning" food that might spoil before the next selling opportunity. I talk with the farmers and vendors and collect products they wish to donate. The farmers and vendors are very kind and generous people and I often end up with a load of food that fills the back seat of my car. I take the food directly to a home for women that are pregnant and/or have young kids that are creating a fresh start on life. This wonderful food includes a huge selection veggies, bread, fruit, eggs, cheese, pastries, and sometimes even flowers and treats! Some of the residents may not have encountered this variety of wholesome food in the past and enjoy learning about and eating the healthy local foods.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Collect hundreds of pounds of fresh food for hungry people. Volunteer