Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
150 Reviews
1234.913335
Previous | 1 2 3...14 |
Write A Review
September 11, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
August 21, 2013

What could make more sense than to save good food from being thrown away, and then to distribute it to people who need it? It's a double blessing. And SOSA has been doing this for decades. In addit... more

September 11, 2014

For three decades now, I have personally supported this organization. Doesn't it make all the sense in the world to save good food that would otherwise be thrown away, and take it to hungry people? There's no reason for hunger in the USA. SOSA knows "enough is enough". There IS enough food for everyone. The challenge is to distribute it. And that's what they do.
August 21, 2013

What could make more sense than to save good food from being thrown away, and then to distribute it to people who need it? It's a double blessing. And SOSA has been doing this for decades. In addition to growers willing to donate their surplus or unmarketable crops, many individuals and groups volunteer their time "gleaning" (Biblical word for gathering from fields and orchards) food left behind after harvesting. So many food banks and other distribution points benefit from SOSA's work. Donated funds are used to transport the food to places it is most needed. Gleaners learn where food comes from and how it gets to our tables, and how much we truly have to share. There IS enough, if only we share.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

Doesn't it make perfect sense to distribute the abundant fresh food we have in America to people who need it? That's what the Society has been doing for decades. They salvage good food that otherwise would go to waste at harvest time from cooperating farmers, then transport it to food banks and other sites where it's shared with those who can use it. People of all ages do the gleaning in fields and orchards, donors provide funds to transport the food, and everyone involved, of whatever faith, channels God's abundance to neighbors in need. It's a win-win in every respect. I have donated to SOSA for decades and have named them in my will. I believe wholeheartedly in what they do. They are the greatest!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 6, 2011

For decades I have supported the work of SOSA. It makes so much sense to save good food from going to waste, and instead to salvage it and deliver it to hungry people. Hands-on gleaning of crops in fields and orchards teaches new generations how food grows and how it can benefit the most people. Environmental stewardship, compassion and service extended to those in need, learning by doing--definitely a win-win-win situation. Monetary donations pay to transport salvaged food to distribution points around the country; I believe my donations do double good in saving food and bringing it to those who need it. Over the years I have encouraged my churches to support the work of SOSA from a Christian faith perspective, as well as simple common sense in rescuing perfectly good food from waste and feeding hungry people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

The youth at my Methodist Church in Dallas, TX have worked many years in the Gleaning of food to feed hungry people. I had never heard of SoSA before we moved to Dallas eight years ago. After seeing the great work of people, and seeing the reports that SoSA share - WE ARE MAKING A DIFFERENCE!! Praise God!! Becky M.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

SOSA has done some amazing work and we are happy to have donated to this group over the last 2 years. Most recently we used their VBS materials to educate our young children about hunger and poverty locally and nationally. Living in a rural community our children are familiar with gleaning. To reach beyond our borders has been eye opening for them. We are very thankful for these hard working people and their continued mission rescuing food that otherwise would be wasted! Robin

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I found SoSA while looking for a Bible school curriculum. Our church is supporting this program for the first time this year and we're hoping our first whole church Bible school will be a success in September, 2014. The more research I do on SoSA, the more impressed I am! I was pleasantly surprised to see that they have joined hands with my denomination, the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), just this summer. It seems my church was destined to use their curriculum for our Bible school and for us to support them financially with our offering box givings this fall. I'm hoping this will be the first of many times throughout the next years we can support their efforts at eliminating hunger.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
December 7, 2011

It has been my pleasure to have observed the Society of Saint Andrew closely since it began in 1979, having lived in the area where it is located, being a member of the denomination that launched it, ... more

August 11, 2014

Having served on SoSA's board for multiple terms since its inception in 1979, I can vouch for the effectiveness of this exemplary organization. The audacious goal of ending hunger in this country just may be possible if more persons provide surplus food and help glean it, donate the funds necessary to bag and transport that fresh food to hungry people, and encourage young people to both learn about and do something about hunger through Harvest of Hope experiences. The obscenity of hunger in a land of plenty CAN be dealt with with your help, that I know.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

spread the word more widely about the reality of hunger so as to generate more fiscal, verbal and physical support

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 7, 2011

It has been my pleasure to have observed the Society of Saint Andrew closely since it began in 1979, having lived in the area where it is located, being a member of the denomination that launched it, and serving on the board multiple times. Unfortunately the problem of hunger in this nation has not abated. But fortunately SoSA has honed in on addressing it in very practical ways through gleaning food with volunteer labor and getting fresh food immediately to hungry persons. The program has grown in scope and influence, expanding across the country beyond its East Coast origins. Its low cost, practical solution to solving the problems of food waste, answer to the need for fresh food, and provision of opportunity for meaningful involvement by those concerned about the Christian imperative of feeding the hungry all combine in a program meriting wide support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

We at South Austin Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) financially support Society of St. Andrews. We enjoy the uplifting devotionals they give to us at no cost for participating in their seasonal programs. We are looking forward in giving to this worthy cause again!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We need a Society of St. Andrew office in Texas, if there is one I don't see it listed on their web site.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

I have enjoyed working with SOSA for about two years now to feed the hungry in our community. The SOSA volunteers are always kind, gracious and so appreciative of the help that can offer. I have been blessed by the opportunity to with with them. The organization is one of pure integrity, from the financials to the groups they work with to the volunteers themselves.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

My wife and I have provided financial support and hands on volunteer support for this ministry for a number of years. It has a very low overhead and a great net work of volunteers for bagging bulk food at food drops, gleaning, and educational opportunities for all age levels. It moves fresh, good produce that would otherwise go to waste to a table that may have little or no food.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

SOSA has been a great partner for the University of Tennessee's Grow More Give More program. We are a service project aimed at reducing food waste and helping to feed the hungry. Society of St. Andrews helps coordinate the collection and distribution of the food. We really enjoy working with them, and they help us get the food where it is needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

SoSA has only had an office in TN for 2.5 years and it is staffed by only 2 ladies. In that time they have salvaged over 3 MILLION pounds of fresh produce that has been given away to families in need... more

July 31, 2014

I have worked with the SoSA for the past 6 years and have watched this fantastic organization grow and help feed more needy families in our area. Our state, Tennessee is the 6th hungriest state in the US. SoSA is continuing to work with farmers and local farmer's market to "salvage" fresh produce that is on the tables of needy families daily. I can't think of a better organization to be GreatNonprofits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013

SoSA has only had an office in TN for 2.5 years and it is staffed by only 2 ladies. In that time they have salvaged over 3 MILLION pounds of fresh produce that has been given away to families in need and food pantries to prepare this food for the needy. The National ogranization last year salvaged over 33 MILLION pounds to help needy folks. The entire organization of SoSA is dedicated to feeding as many people as they can and reduce the wasted food in our country. They are truly AMAZING!!!. Once you volunteer with them you are hooked and want to do more to help them salvage more fresh produce for folks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 7, 2011

On July 23, 2012 which ended up being one of the hottest day in East TN this year, we got to be the first ever green bean drop with the TN SoSA. Since we were the "trial" run we wanted as many beans as we could get to see just how long it would take to bag them and if we could make this work. The green beans were coming out of the field and needed to be cooled (get the field heat out of them); which was going to pose another problem. We recieved a dump truck load of approximately 20,000 lbs of beans, 60 feet long, 5 feet wide and 4 feet high, which took us 8 hours to bag over 2400 bags of 8-10 lbs per bag. BUT, we still had to get them cooled down; so we ask the volunteers to bring gallon jugs of frozen water and the kids that came to bring their wading pools. We had over 100 volunteers to come and help. We had 10 wading pools and we used all the gallon jugs of frozen water, all the ice from both ice makers in the church and we bought 20 bags of 10 lbs of ice. We gave all of these beans away to 4 local food pantries and over 40 different churches in our district area that day. What a blessing this was for us and for the families that received them. Had this idea not be thought of by the TN SoSA these beans would have gone to farmers for their cattle and pigs. Since that trial run, TN SoSA and the processor have had 5 other bean drops that have provided fresh produce for local families. We are planning on doing this again next year with TN SoSA's help and looking forward to helping more families in our local area. We are so thankful for the TN SoSA and all the great work that they do to help provide fresh produce for local families in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3...14 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Collect hundreds of pounds of fresh food for hungry people. Volunteer