Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
104 Reviews
1234.951925
Write A Review
March 11, 2013

more

March 11, 2013

A few years ago, I was in terrible financial straits. I was close to eviction, close to having my electricity interrupted, cell phone service was scheduled for shut down...things were a mess. A fellow singer referred me to Society of Singers and after speaking with Wendy Garfinkel, I was able to breathe easy. I felt as if she really cared about my dilemma and I left our conversation knowing everything would be all right. I was later in a position to contribute some money. My only regret was that I wasn't able to contribute more. I thank the Society of Singers for being there when I most needed assistance and I look forward to contributing again. Thanks to all of you and God bless!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

I was so grateful to learn about this wonderful organization! I've been a singer/entertainer for almost 50 years- been working since the age of 4...and although it's been a great journey and I've always been able to make a living "doing what I love to do", it definitely has its downside! No pensions, no security, no insurance... Three years ago, I had lost my health insurance plan because I was late in making a payment. Well, as fate would have it, I had to be hospitalized, and the bills started to roll in! I'm still paying them off! Being the sole caretaker for a parent with Alzheimer's has also curtailed my ability to work full time. When I found out that I needed dental work I didn't know where to turn. Finding the Society of Singers has been a godsend! I had been putting off having the work done because I could not afford it, and my problems were getting worse. They helped me with some of the bills so that I was able to get started addressing some of the more serious of my problems. We singers need our smile so that we can keep spreading joy to the world! I don't know what I would have done without this organization coming to my rescue!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 4, 2012

more

June 4, 2012

I called because I'm in the performing arts, and having terrible financial hardship because of prolonged acute medical problems, and being told I'm ineligible for every city agency and aid organization. Even though they weren't able to give me a grant either, they had really good, useful suggestions of who I could try to contact, and where else I might look. Wendy, with whom I spoke, was also just really understanding and respectful, which I've found is very rare when one is on this end of nonprofits! They were really helpful and really lovely.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 27, 2012

more

May 27, 2012

I have made a living in music full time since i was 16 yrs old. About 2 years ago I was on a job out of town recording and after leaving the studio I tripped and fell head first onto a concrete walkway, leaving me with severe injuries. I had broken out my front teeth, severely injured my left hand and arm with a lot of nerve damage, leaving me unable to work or play my instrument. Music is the only job I have ever had so this was devastating. The Society Of Singers was there for me and helped me greatly. Not only with financial support with basic needs but with advice leading me to legal and medical help as well. It's been 2 years of hospitals, therapy and rehabilitation since the accident. Wendy and the SOS is still there assisting me any way they can. I am very thankful for all their compassion, understanding and assistance during my time of recovery and healing. Please continue to support and raise awareness for this great organization. So they can continue helping those in need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

Society of Singers truly understands how challenging the life of an entertainer can be. I went through a period of unemployment. All of my resources were exhausted. SOS helped me with money for rent. This really gave me peace of mind that I wouldn't get further behind on my bills while looking for work. They expressed such kindness, compassion and understanding. I like to think of them as angels to the artist community. I am truly blessed to have been a recipient of their services.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

My name is Rebekah Del Rio. I am a professional singer/songwriter who has been in numerous films and TV and have had record deals as well as put out my own independent albums. Like many self employed creatives, I have always lived paycheck to paycheck. I have been blessed to have the opportunity to perform with major super stars and in major motion pictures, however, I have never realized my own dream of being on tour and making a 'real' living at my music. I have always had a survival job and last year I was injured from a show and was not recovering very well. My husband discovered he has thoracic disc disease and has been unable to help support us and our landlord was desperately trying to make us leave our rent controlled home of 11 years so he could up the rent. I had been trying to release a self funded (and kickstarter funded) album and tour but to no avail. We were in desperate need of assistance for our basic living expenses and medical premiums. I reached out to Wendy at S.O.S. and she was quick to assist us, not only in granting us some much needed funds to pay our basic living needs while we tried to catch up but she also worked with other organizations to help us recieve more funds to pay for our food, shelter, insurance and utilities. Wendy and The Society of Singers were wonderful to us and did not make me feel like a beggar but she made us realize that sometimes we ALL need a little help from our friends and being a professional singer doesn't mean you are always in the money. I have not been paid for so many of my vocals, from companies and directors who have the money to pay me but refuse to do so. If there were not foundations such as S.O.S. to help out, I don't know what would have become of us in that situation. We are still struggling to keep afloat but at least we are still in our home and the bills were paid. Please share this with everyone! S.O.S. is A.W.E.S.O.M.E!!!'' love & light Rebekah Del Rio

Photos

Videos

Rebekah Del Rio in Mulhollad Drive singing Crying in Espanol Llorando

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the fact that because of their generous grant, I was able to stay in my home and to get the medical attention that my husband and I desperately needed due to their assistance with my medical premium.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish that there were more grants to help them have more representatives. Wendy works alone most times (at least in 2011) and she could use some more funds to get a staff to help her.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Through Music Cares who is also a WONDERFUL charity.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

To believe in the power of HELP. S.O.S. and the other charities such as Music Cares, The Opry Fund, REALLY helped us and it was very hard to accept the fact that we were so down and out at that period that we needed assistance just to keep from getting evicted or from getting our personal medical insurance cancelled which would have been devastating. So it helped me and encouraged me to ask for help when I really need it.

May 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

To whom it may concern, There is a non-profit organization out in the world today that is literally saving people from the hardships that are thrown our way in these difficult times. My family and I have recently been the benefactors of their good will. I am proud to say that my family and I are in a much better position spiritually and economically because of them. This organization is SOS, The Society of Singers. I can not tell you enough how important they are, and the lives that have been touched by them. I am the father of three children and married to a wonderful wife, and we will forever feel indebted to SOS for coming to our aid when we most needed it. The people, especially Wendy Garfinkel, are caring individuals and are truly dedicated to helping others through difficult times. They are committed and I am so very thankful for them. Thank you for your time, and I hope that you recognize this important organization in our community known as SOS for the wonderful non-profit that it is. They have changed many lives, including my own. Respectfully yours, Zeus Mendoza - Los Angeles, CA

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2012

more

May 17, 2012

Society of Singers helped me greatly in a time of need. I am a singer/songwriter from Hollywood and have been performing, creating and giving to my community since I was a kid. Last year I was diagnosed with breast cancer and SOS generously helped me with critical bills I couldn't pay. SOS saved my life!

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 17, 2012

more

May 17, 2012

I didn't know where to turn after being assaulted on a gig and losing a summer of income, my glasses, and accruing huge medical bills. SOS stepped in and gave me the assistance I needed and a much appreciated sympathetic ear.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

I have been a professional singer and songwriter for most of my adult life. I've been able to bring in money from my gigs and doing various part time jobs to cover my living expenses. For me, that has been a real problem because of the medical conditions I'm dealing with. As I've gotten older my physical health and disability has effected my ability to make a living. I can't do regular 9 to 5 jobs and I not able to do play my guitar or sit or stand for the 3-4 hours that are required for live performance gigs, which I used to do with out any problem. It has been a very stressful time in my life that I've had to lean on God and others to keep me going. I was recently referred to SOS from another non-profit that offers assistance to singers and musician in emergency or crisis. When I called and spoke to Wendy I could tell that she had a good heart and really cared about me and my situation and understand what I was going through, she also had a great sense of humor which I appreciate She was very professional and helped me through the application process and was quick to get back to me when I had a question. I got help to cover my past due rent and it really gave me hope to keep on going. I can't say enough good things about Wendy and SOS. They are a real blessing to the music community and singers when they need some one to help get through a difficult time in life. I hope one day to be able to help them financially and pay it forward so they can continue to help others music professionals in there time of need. Thank you for letting me share my thoughts and heart concerning SOS. Gods blessing to you all :) Terry Bell

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us carry out general, but necessary office duties and allow staff more time to fundraise steadily and ensure the success of the organization and our mission based work.