Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Write A Review
February 14, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
February 14, 2013

I've been a member of SEJ for years and attribute my success as a freelance journalist to the support, knowledge and guidance I've received from the impeccable organization. Annual conferences, databases, grant funding, and more help support environmental journalists of all stripes -- a task all the more critical as media organizations continue to gut their environmental coverage.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
May 31, 2012

As a member of the Society of Environmental Journalists since 2003, I can personally testify to the outstanding value of this organization in promoting the knowledge base, skills and opportunities for... more

February 14, 2013

The Society of Environmental Journalists is one of the best places in North America to invest tax-free donations that support evenhanded and in-depth environmental coverage of issues that matter. The organization supports environmental journalism in all its facets, from newsroom to freelance, from print to broadcast to web. SEJ's annual conference is a superb compendium of the best available resources, on all sides of an issue. And the organization is utterly committed to complete transparency, not only in journalism, but in aspects of funding and support. I've been a member since 2003. My experiences with SEJ have made it, bar none, the best professional organization I've ever joined. The information and support I've received have made my continuing career in environmental journalism possible.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 31, 2012

As a member of the Society of Environmental Journalists since 2003, I can personally testify to the outstanding value of this organization in promoting the knowledge base, skills and opportunities for journalists who cover the environment. I learn more at an annual SEJ conference than I might during an entire semester of graduate school. And its daily congress with members through various list-serves and news alerts keeps me not only up-to-date, but ahead of many issues of the day. In addition, SEJ's mentorship and environmental journalism funding campaigns are a livesaver to journalists struggling to work independently in an a shrinking journalism market. I can think of no better organization in which to invest foundation or private dollars to strengthen the depth, accuracy and potential of environmental journalism in the U.S. and around the globe. Karen Schaefer, Freelance Journalist and Independent Radio Producer

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2013

more

February 14, 2013

SEJ always brings its members the best information about the stories we are writing. The board members are dedicated to carrying out the mission of supporting and improving media coverage of environmental issues. The public benefits from the help SEJ provides its members. Many services, such as SEJ News and SEJ Watch Dog, are provided free to journalists who are not members as well. SEJ's staff are constantly active in reaching out to the community of journalists and the public in general. SEJ has helped my work and helped me develop as a professional journalist.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013

more

February 14, 2013

Professional organizations serving journalists are legion. Among these, SEJ stands out on account of their members' extraordinary generosity in assisting fellow members with journalistic advice on all ethical and business subjects, and answers to practical questions on everything from buying speech-recognition software to analyzing toxicology databases to finding an expert on forest management in Arkansas. As an SEJ member (I guess the category is "client served"), what I've been able to learn via SEJ is akin to what a student at the best journalism school can get from having immediate access to some of the best-qualified faculty in the world. These expert journalists are donating their time and energy out of love for their craft and for the other people who practice it. Valentine's day is the perfect time for a testimonial saying "I Heart SEJ."

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
February 14, 2013

SEJ is a place where journalists with an environmental beat can liaise with other professionals with common interests. I have enjoyed the wealth of resources that this organization brings to its members. Moreover I have been able to exchange ideas and make new and rewarding contacts through SEJ's community on-line forum. Thanks for letting me be a part!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2013

more

February 14, 2013

I had the privilege of being a presenter at the SEJ 2012's pre-conference freelance workshop. I often work with professional writers and this writer's organization is one of the very best. SEJ helps good journalists become great and great journalists become outstanding. At the same time SEJ nurtures environmental writers it helps raise environmental awareness and protection. A terrific organization worthy of support from those who value excellence in journalism as well as those who care about the environment.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

This organization not only provides a community for environmental journalists, but it also provides vital resources for supporting environmental journalism in the 21st century.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

SEJ is an important resource for journalists covering environmental issues. Since joining in 1994, I've often turned to its online resources and tool for guidance. SEJ's annual conferences are unmatched in bringing reporters and sources together.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
May 31, 2012

SEJ has transformed the way that I approach my environmental journalism. The years of experience in the organization is priceless. They are a knowledgeable, friendly, and professional group to work ... more

November 30, 2012

I've been a member of SEJ since 2009. In those few years, I have made contacts with colleagues and experts that I never would have made otherwise. I was honored to be asked to participate in this year's Conference and came away from the experience feeling more confident about myself and my career choice. I met people who I know will change the way I participate in journalism forever. Getting to be a part of such a broad spectrum of professionals has been such and honor and a privilege. This group maintains integrity in all aspects of their journalism while investigating some of the most complicated issues on the planet. SEJ is home and I am so glad to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2012

SEJ has transformed the way that I approach my environmental journalism. The years of experience in the organization is priceless. They are a knowledgeable, friendly, and professional group to work with. The members take pride in their ethical reporting. I have learned so much since becoming a member in 2009. The Society of Environmental Journalists have helped me grow as a writer and as a human interacting with planet earth. They are an integral part of a well-rounded journalism education and I am proud to be a part of them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Funders take note: there is no better 501c3 to donate to than SEJ. It's critical for the public that talented and dedicated journalists cover what is ultimately an existential beat for everyone on the planet. SEJ provides results that are both measurable and intangible. SEJ's existence has kept environmental reporters working even after they were laid off, downsized or saw their news outlets go bankrupt (including me). It's in no small measure SEJ's centrality in my professional life that kept me and many others innovating fresh ways to stay on this beat. SEJ helps keep us all informed on the latest science and politics, fights for access and transparency, and offers a space for connectedness and community at a time when our industry is cratering.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers