Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1.68752345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I adopted two of my dogs from this facility and was so impressed by the volunteers, staff, and grounds that I began volunteering to walk dogs. I was part of the Family Dog Training program that taught us how to train the dogs to have good manners so they would have a better transition into their new homes and not be returned for bad behaviors. I was at that time very proud to have my name associated with this organization. That is not the case now. When the new management came in 2012 we began to see the same changes that had taken place at her previous employer. The flavor of the shelter turned from finding animals good homes and keeping them there to doing no rehabilitation, no kennel enrichment, and when questions were asked about the changes, volunteers were asked to leave. Divide and Conquer became the norm. No longer were we allowed to walk AND adopt, or train AND walk - all so we would not know any more that we "needed" to know. Just know that your hard earned donation is not going to where you think it is. The grounds are no longer clean and well kept, the dogs are no longer getting quality out of kennel time, and the volunteers have almost all gone to other shelters. Please do more research before giving your money to this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Replace the board who does not want to be involved, then replace the total management staff.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 27, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 27, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

As a professional in the field of animal behavior and training, I worked closely with SPCATampaBay for 9 years....until the Board and director changed. In 2012, things took a drastic turn for the worse. Very few animals went up for adoption, dogs and cats languished in filthy cages until they were "evaluated" by undertrained staff, and then most were euthanized due to the time that they were allowed to deteriorate without any human interaction. Volunteers were summarily dismissed, many being highly rated professionals in the medical fields and behavioral modification. If anyone was questioned as to why the animals were no longer being rehabilitated, they were told that they obviously had "compassion fatigue" and were no longer needed as volunteers. At this point, there are very few volunteers left,; the animals get left in cages, no one is in charge, and the clowns are running the circus. There is the potential at this shelter for wonderful things.....so sad that the Board quit caring.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clean house of the current Board and staff, reinstate the hundreds of volunteers and clean, clean, clean!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 26, 2014

The SPCA has fallen into the hands of people who no longer care for the sheltering and rehoming of animals, but rather the bottom line and efforts to pay the salaries of too many administrators. I hav... more

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The current administration has changed their mission from rescue, rehab and rehome to reducing the homeless animal population. Which means that they are now killing undesirable animals and keeping only desirable animals and puppies to shelter on a short term basis and adopt out. They ship puppies in from out of state while aborting females here during their last term, often creating another loss of life. They have no regard for the welfare of animals in need, but rather are trying to operate as a for profits while getting the benefits of being a NFP

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the entire administrative staff, and reinstate the volunteer programs that were eliminated under the current regime.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The SPCA has fallen into the hands of people who no longer care for the sheltering and rehoming of animals, but rather the bottom line and efforts to pay the salaries of too many administrators. I have personally attempted to reach out to board members who refuse to speak to the public as well as the executive director. I have personal knowledge of many animals that lost their lives under the lack of expertise of the veterinarian and the behavior manager. And the filth and neglect the animals have to live in because they spend the money going to conferences instead of caring for the animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Reestablish a board of directors who embrace a mission of humane treatment and saving animal loves and get rid of the current executive directors and downsize administration an put move front line staff back to work

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers