Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1.68752345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 26, 2014

The SPCA has fallen into the hands of people who no longer care for the sheltering and rehoming of animals, but rather the bottom line and efforts to pay the salaries of too many administrators. I hav... more

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The current administration has changed their mission from rescue, rehab and rehome to reducing the homeless animal population. Which means that they are now killing undesirable animals and keeping only desirable animals and puppies to shelter on a short term basis and adopt out. They ship puppies in from out of state while aborting females here during their last term, often creating another loss of life. They have no regard for the welfare of animals in need, but rather are trying to operate as a for profits while getting the benefits of being a NFP

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the entire administrative staff, and reinstate the volunteer programs that were eliminated under the current regime.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The SPCA has fallen into the hands of people who no longer care for the sheltering and rehoming of animals, but rather the bottom line and efforts to pay the salaries of too many administrators. I have personally attempted to reach out to board members who refuse to speak to the public as well as the executive director. I have personal knowledge of many animals that lost their lives under the lack of expertise of the veterinarian and the behavior manager. And the filth and neglect the animals have to live in because they spend the money going to conferences instead of caring for the animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Reestablish a board of directors who embrace a mission of humane treatment and saving animal loves and get rid of the current executive directors and downsize administration an put move front line staff back to work

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The SPCA was a wonderful place UNTIL Martha Boden and Dr. Lopez became management. They said there was an open policy and all was to be transparent, but that was truly not the case. As a Family Dog Trainer with the SPCA for 6 yrs, when they came on board, I and other volunteers were ecstatic. They presented themselves as true animal lovers that would continue to do good for all the animals that came through the doors of the SPCA. As an FDT we helped animals and the community in every way possible - training, behavior, support - then one day, the organization became a dictatorship. "Do as I say, or leave" is the mentality. How do you explain the terminations of both employees and volunteers? Answer is they asked questions, question on why the processes changed, why atrocities starting happening, why all the EUTHANASIA unnecesarily? With so many volunteers helping to rehab and change behavior in surrendered stressed dogs, why turn around and euthanize them? Why stop caring about their health and welfare and allow them to live in disgusting kennels filled with feces, and hemorrhage from spaying procedures. Why euthanize male puppies because they require additional time during surgery when being neutered? What happened to a caring animal shelter that would give these animals a second and sometimes third chance?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Terminate Martha Boden Megan Montmonney, and Dr. Lopez. The organization needs to be in the hands of someone that gives animals a second and possibly a third chance. They just euthanize erroneously.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Last night a group of us spoke before the board of county commissioners in Pinellas. I hope they take their job seriously and take action against the abusive treatment of animals at this facility

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fired the entire Managment staff and reinstate a strong. Lounger presence

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered for the animals. When I realized they no longer had the animals as the first thought when they made decisions regarding their lives and care, I felt the best thing for me was to leave. I needed to put my time where they had the animals best interest as their first priority.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get rid of all the personal in charge and put in those who care.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 28, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 28, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

It saddens me to say that I agree with other reviews. I volunteered for this organization for many years for the love of animals. This organization has become extremely materialistic and more focused on personal agenda's. Those of us who did volunteer were a team, and worked very hard with one another to try an rehabilitate and care for each and every animal. Over the months there has been segregation as to what you can do and what you cannot, making it impossible to care for these animal in a way that is productive to successful adoptions.
I sincerely hope that these reviews will enlighten those responsible for the decline and make donors aware as to where there donations are going.
My hope for this organization is that it will eventually get back to the type of shelter that it once was, and that donors will hold this organization responsible for using there funds wisely.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

From what was once a very viable solution for animals released into this facility, this has now become a place where animals have very little chance of getting through the poor new system, to even be alive to find good forever homes. The hiring of people who have very little idea of good practices has greatly negatively impacted this facility. The fantastic enthusiasm of the many previous volunteers to the disbandment of the highly regarded Family Dog Trainer program, run by an extremely competent and well loved behavioralist has been systematically torn down. Almost all of long term volunteers have left this organization to use their many considerable talents at other animal refuges. I would not suggest you put your charity dollars here. There are too many chiefs and way too few Indians.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Suggest an independent audit. A closer look at the euthanasia rates of older viable animals. A closer examination of those in position of authority on each level

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

If I could give no stars I would. This organization has gone to hell in a hand basket over the last 2-3 yrs with the CEO and "Behavior Manager" driving the pitchfork! Has anyone noticed the change in mission statement over the last year?? The last phrase to reduce pet overpopulation is the only truth but they don't mention it's by euthanasia. They are not transparent and have gotten rid of any of the training programs important to keeping the animals on the grounds happy and more eligible for adoption. I not only left as a volunteer but also stopped my guardianship to them. The money is not being used for what it should be.....paying big salaries in the admin building for people doing nothing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Replace every administrative employee, the veterinarian and board!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The SPCA Tampa Bay has gone downhill fast in the past 2½ years. The organization no longer rehabilitates animals and has in fact discouraged animal intake. The Board contains NO veterinarians and consists of glorified party planners that provide limited oversight. Management runs the organization for the benefit of its employees, showing little regard for the animals. Euthanasia has increased.

In addition, the SPCA Tampa Bay has changed from an organization that would take in all animals in need to one that focuses largely on "designer dogs" and easy to adopt breeds. Long-time volunteers have left - some at the request of management. Animals are now evaluated beyond closed doors, and often killed with little explanation. The CEO either (i) has her husband/boyfriend on the payroll or (ii) has him doing a job that was once performed by a dedicated staff member. The condition of the kennels and the grounds has deteriorated considerably, and many dogs now lie in their own filth and do not get out for walks every day.

One of the supervisors was happy to consort with a man since convicted of murder - a man who was a frequent visitor to the grounds.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Summarily terminate the CEO and Director, if necessary frog-marching them off the premises. Bring back the Family Dog Trainer program that focused on animal rehabilitation. Treat all animals with compassion - not as obstacles to be removed in order to get to the next round of fundraising.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 26, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

The SPCA no longer has the best interests of the animals at heart. So many volunteers have left this organization that they have to pay staff to take care of the animals now. This is where the donor dollars are going, to line the pockets of the officers, directors and staff. How do you explain the lack of animals at this shelter when other shelters in the same community are bursting at the seams? There have been eyewitness accounts of abuse of the animals and deplorable living conditions of others. Since taking the helm, the CEO has drove this once wonderful shelter into the ground. Don't you want to know where your donation dollars are going? It certainly isn't to help the animals. There aren't any.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove the entire board of directors, managing director of guest services, CEO, veterinarian, and behavior manager and start over.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This organization kills approximately 100 animals per day, according to their own records. How is it possible to take in AND SPEND nearly 4 MILLION DOLLARS PER YEAR, and make any kind of plausible claim that you are helping animals with that money, when you are KILLING that many animals per day? Why aren't the financials available online? Is the "shelter" "director" ashamed of what she gets paid to kill animals? She ought to be ashamed, and is, which is why she hides the truth behind evasive emails. This organization is not a cruelty prevention organization. It is an organization that gets paid ENORMOUS AMOUNTS OF MONEY EACH YEAR to kill animals. If SPCA Tampa Bay wanted to help animals, it can afford to do so. Instead $$$$$$$$$ is all that matters, not the lives taken against their will and unnecessarily.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers