Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We have adopted 4 wonderful pets and fostered and helped others to find good homes over the last ten years from the SPCA here in Martinsville. The employees and volunteers go above and beyond to provide loving care to all of the animals there, and the facility is so well kept. Even though Martinsville was on the list of the ten poorest cities in America recently, our city is rich with people who love and care for animals, as is shown in our No Kill community status that has happened only because of the efforts of our SPCA!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have adopted 2 wonderful dogs from our local spca. Everyone there is dedicated to making sure all the animals they shelter are placed in their forever home. They are a hardworking group and are willing to go above and beyond for these animals.
The shelter is campaigning and
is very close to its goal of becoming a no kill shelter by 2015. Until they reach this major accomplishment they work tirelessly with other facilities to assure the placement of all the animals in safe homes.
You will not find a more loving , compassionate group of people working hard for the less fortunate animals in our area.
I am proud to have them as our Animal Advocates !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, they are an exceptional organization

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Over the past 16 months I have adopted 1 huge dog (English Mastiff), one adult cat and a kitten from the Martinsville SPCA. The staff have been most informative and helpful with our decision making. They work so hard to help these animals find a forever home. They will spend the time needed to answer questions, making absolutely sure you are happy with your decision. Kudos to Mandy the cat manager for being so patient with me while I was trying to decide between two kittens. She told me everything she could about them. I was so happy with the SPCA staff and their devoted compassion to these animals that I went to a Volunteer class and try to stop by to help fold clothes and give some attention to all the beautiful cats and kittens. Thanks for all you do, keep up the good work! The animals depend on your unconditional love!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 27, 2013

This is a wonderful organization! Each of the staff is passionate about the animals! I have three wonderful dogs that all came from this wonderful SPCA! more

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

These folks are the best! I have had the pleasure of adopting 5 animals from here! I have also fostered for them! They put the animals ahead of their own needs! Love them!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful organization! Each of the staff is passionate about the animals! I have three wonderful dogs that all came from this wonderful SPCA!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I recently wanted to adopt a dog that had been mistreated and was at risk of being euthanized from the city pound in the area. This group assisted by providing all the info that I needed and went a step further by having the dog released to their care and getting his shots taken care of so that I could pick him up over the weekend. This allowed me not to worry that anything would happen to this dog because he was being cared for by this group. They went above and beyond to help save this dog as they do for so many other animals. They provide many services and their staff clearly loves what they do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the great privilege of adopting and fostering animals for this wonderful SPCA. Most of my precious babies come from this shelter. The animals are so well cared for, and the employees are caring and more than competent. It's apparent how much they love the animals who are blessed to be brought to them. This shelter would be terrific without its no-kill status, but knowing that it is a no-kill facility makes me value it even more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would wish it had more money to hire more staff so that it could do even more.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

In 2008, I lost my 3 year old Yorkie to lymphoma. It came as such an unexpected blow when the diagnosis was made, and he was gone 6 short weeks later. Although I still had one other Yorkie, "Dudley" was my 'love dog' and snuggler. I was so upset and had such a void, I didn't know what to do to change it. Then came the article in the Martinsville Bulletin about a puppy mill raid in Hillsville, VA with lots of dogs, most pure bred, that were being moved to various shelters for housing. Our local SPCA obtained quite a few of these animals and some were Yorkies. Curiosity got the best of me, and I went to the facility to check it out. And that is where I met "Quincy". There were several Yorkies that were there, but something drew me to him. Having been shaved and bathed, he looked the least like a Yorkie, but he had such a sweet disposition and would always lift his paw to me whenever I spoke to him. I am married and have a son (who was 2 1/2 at the time) that I needed to win over. Of course, my husband thought I was crazy because "we still had one dog" and this was a "troubled dog", but I had to make him understand I had a void that I needed to fill and "saving" this dog and giving him the love I had was just what I needed. After several more trips to the SPCA for everyone to meet and make sure he was "kid" friendly, I filled out the application and received him. The first year was very hard on all of us (dogs included). Since Quincy came from the environment he did, he had to learn everything. And, with improper health care over the years, there were many health battles and unexpected vet expenses we faced, but we trudged through them all. And I am happy to report, that Quincy has done beautifully and has become the most beautiful and kind "love" dog I so desperately wanted and needed. People often tell me how lucky Quincy is that I saved him, but I am quick to point out, that, in his own special way and his timing in my life, he actually saved me a little, too. Had it not been for the SPCA and their tireless efforts to help the animals of the community and beyond, I would not have been blessed by this sweet animal. My family are active members (and have been for many, many years) of the Martinsville/Henry County SPCA. I am a huge supporter and advocate for their hard work We are a very luck community to have them here !!!! THANK YOU !!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes !! They have achieved the goal I think is most important -- being labeled as a NO KILL SHELTER. What a wonderful honor and achievement. My family continues to support them and wish them continued success in the years to come. I only wish I could do more to support their efforts.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

It was such a joy seeing all the smiling faces today--and sad...as Leslie was working her last day in M'ville...Charlottesville is lucky to get her.....HUGE GOLD STARS to all staff and volunteers for all of their hard work...and love and devotion to all of the hundreds of animals that pass their way....I love the great selection and prices in their store also....Please take a moment to sign up now for their emails and special dates.....let us keep the money in M'ville and save lives at the same time...God Bless
just jane /dane mom

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SOLICIT/BEG FOR MORE MONEY FOR THIS WONDERFUL ORGANIZATION!!!!!!!!!!$$$$$$ :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

Three stray girl kittens showed up at my door about six years ago. I didn't have the money to have them fixed, needless to say they started re-populating the neighbor hood. About 15 kittens later, I found out the SPCA of Martinsville would help me get them fixed and a rabies shot. I think it was about 8 kittens the first time and about 7 the next. This was for one fee each time, at a price I could handle. The staff there was extremely helpful and answered my many, many questions. I found homes for the kittens much easier after they where fixed and had their rabies shot.
Also several of my family members have adopted dogs from here and they were really happy with all the services and help their received. Thank you to the SPCA.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I think that SPCA of Martinsville/Henry County is a WONDERFUL place. My family adopted a rescue dog from there in 2007 (hard to believe that it has been 5 years over Thanksgiving weekend) that was a puppy mill rescue. The dog has turned out to be the most loving and gentle creature you could ask for. The SPCA does great work and makes sure no healthy animals are euthanized which, in today's time, is such a special thing. I am always trying to educate people on adopting and am forever recommending they give the SPCA a call or visit. They are a great organization doing great work !!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers