Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

Last year I adopted 10 dogs, we took good care of them and got them the medication needed and the surgey that they needed and then 5 months later we gave 8 loving dogs away to people that wanted them, but we made sure that they would treat our dog with care and love. It was hard going through 3 bags of dog food each week. Blue, Pedigree, and wet food. the other three we kept and that put us at 10 dogs but we didn't mind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Martinsville-Henry County SPCA is the most amazing place in the world to me. Not only the staff members but the animals and the care they have for them has helped me to realize exactly what I want to do in my future. Just walking into the SPCA makes me happier and feel loved. The staff members aren't just staff members or just friends; they're my family. The Martinsville-Henry County SPCA has changed my life and made it so much better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The staff and volunteers go above & beyond their "job". Without the M/HC SPCA the kill rate was unbelievable........now we are fast becoming a no kill area! The SPCA works hard in a very depressed area .......with the unemployment rate in double digits..........but they still strive to do the impossible. I have 2 dogs & 2 cats........all from the SPCA. I have been a volunteer since 2009 and hopefully will be a volunteer there for many years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I honestly cannot think of any change I would make other than I wish we had a bigger facility so we could house more animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I walked into the SPCA in 2009..........because friends told me I needed a new pet since mine had to be "put down" a few years before. I was not interested in the doggie they sent me to see, but fell in love with a little "ugly" poodle mix that was just sitting in the corner. I took her into the room to get acquainted....and immediately she jumped into my daughter's lap.........my daughter was in a wheel chair. I was in love! We went back the next day to see how she handled the walker.......and she had no problem and didn't even attempt to jump when the walker was used. Sandy (her new name) came home with us a few days later. We have now adopted both Sandy (poodle mix) and Bella (chihuahua mix). They are wonderful and bring lots of joy to my daughter and myself. I also have taken in 2 "barn cats"........so there is never a dull moment. I also met some of the most amazing people...........who have taken me in not caring about drama that happens to be in my life at this time. The other volunteers there know us...........and are used to dealing with getting around my daughter's wheelchair. It amazes me how the volunteers & employees go above and beyond what is expected in caring for the animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I visit the SPCA many Saturdays to "walk a hound, shed a pound". I don't shed a pound but I do enjoy walking the dogs. Everyone at the SPCA is so friendly and seem to really love the animals they take care of. It always makes me happy when one finds a forever home. Thanks to them for their dedication.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I love this SPCA! They do really well in a community with little value for animal lives. They are the best and I loved my time there!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

The Martinsville Henry County SPCA is filled with people who work hard, and love animals. Whenever, I drop in there are always people willing to stop what they are doing to introduce me to their current residents. It is obvious that the animals are well cared for, as evidenced by the dogs that have joined my family. This organization has the additional difficulty of being located in an area of very high unemployment. This means that they have a higher rate of homeless animals than other areas, and this has been the case for a very long time. The personnel simply forge ahead, doing whatever is necessary to take care of these wonderful creatures who can't care for themselves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

This is one of the most positive organizations I have ever had the privilege to be associated with. I have been a volunteer, foster parent and adopted from Martinsville SPCA. They are wonderfull caring people, whose first concern it the animals they take in. I would ask anyone who is in the Martinsville area and surrounding area, pleae visit this facility. Kudo's to the Martinsville SPCA for all that they do! Victoria Foster

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

the Martinsville Henry County SPCA is a very loving family, who works together to help animals get a good and loving home!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers