Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

In 2008, I lost my 3 year old Yorkie to lymphoma. It came as such an unexpected blow when the diagnosis was made, and he was gone 6 short weeks later. Although I still had one other Yorkie, "Dudley" was my 'love dog' and snuggler. I was so upset and had such a void, I didn't know what to do to change it. Then came the article in the Martinsville Bulletin about a puppy mill raid in Hillsville, VA with lots of dogs, most pure bred, that were being moved to various shelters for housing. Our local SPCA obtained quite a few of these animals and some were Yorkies. Curiosity got the best of me, and I went to the facility to check it out. And that is where I met "Quincy". There were several Yorkies that were there, but something drew me to him. Having been shaved and bathed, he looked the least like a Yorkie, but he had such a sweet disposition and would always lift his paw to me whenever I spoke to him. I am married and have a son (who was 2 1/2 at the time) that I needed to win over. Of course, my husband thought I was crazy because "we still had one dog" and this was a "troubled dog", but I had to make him understand I had a void that I needed to fill and "saving" this dog and giving him the love I had was just what I needed. After several more trips to the SPCA for everyone to meet and make sure he was "kid" friendly, I filled out the application and received him. The first year was very hard on all of us (dogs included). Since Quincy came from the environment he did, he had to learn everything. And, with improper health care over the years, there were many health battles and unexpected vet expenses we faced, but we trudged through them all. And I am happy to report, that Quincy has done beautifully and has become the most beautiful and kind "love" dog I so desperately wanted and needed. People often tell me how lucky Quincy is that I saved him, but I am quick to point out, that, in his own special way and his timing in my life, he actually saved me a little, too. Had it not been for the SPCA and their tireless efforts to help the animals of the community and beyond, I would not have been blessed by this sweet animal. My family are active members (and have been for many, many years) of the Martinsville/Henry County SPCA. I am a huge supporter and advocate for their hard work We are a very luck community to have them here !!!! THANK YOU !!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes !! They have achieved the goal I think is most important -- being labeled as a NO KILL SHELTER. What a wonderful honor and achievement. My family continues to support them and wish them continued success in the years to come. I only wish I could do more to support their efforts.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

It was such a joy seeing all the smiling faces today--and sad...as Leslie was working her last day in M'ville...Charlottesville is lucky to get her.....HUGE GOLD STARS to all staff and volunteers for all of their hard work...and love and devotion to all of the hundreds of animals that pass their way....I love the great selection and prices in their store also....Please take a moment to sign up now for their emails and special dates.....let us keep the money in M'ville and save lives at the same time...God Bless
just jane /dane mom

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SOLICIT/BEG FOR MORE MONEY FOR THIS WONDERFUL ORGANIZATION!!!!!!!!!!$$$$$$ :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The staff and volunteers go above & beyond their "job". Without the M/HC SPCA the kill rate was unbelievable........now we are fast becoming a no kill area! The SPCA works hard in a very depressed area .......with the unemployment rate in double digits..........but they still strive to do the impossible. I have 2 dogs & 2 cats........all from the SPCA. I have been a volunteer since 2009 and hopefully will be a volunteer there for many years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I honestly cannot think of any change I would make other than I wish we had a bigger facility so we could house more animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Our Martinsville Henry County SPCA is one of the most modern around. The dedication of the staff, affiliated rescues and volunteers is unmatched compared with other facilities in this area.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

Three stray girl kittens showed up at my door about six years ago. I didn't have the money to have them fixed, needless to say they started re-populating the neighbor hood. About 15 kittens later, I found out the SPCA of Martinsville would help me get them fixed and a rabies shot. I think it was about 8 kittens the first time and about 7 the next. This was for one fee each time, at a price I could handle. The staff there was extremely helpful and answered my many, many questions. I found homes for the kittens much easier after they where fixed and had their rabies shot.
Also several of my family members have adopted dogs from here and they were really happy with all the services and help their received. Thank you to the SPCA.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

Everywhere we travel, we make it a point to visit the local humane society, spca or pounds. We talk to people to find out what the state of animal welfare is for their area. Time and time again we come home to Martinsville and Henry County proud to have the hardest working group of professional and volunteers making our area a humane and safe place to be a companion animal. We are so proud to be a part of such a committed group of people. Keep up the life saving work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I think that SPCA of Martinsville/Henry County is a WONDERFUL place. My family adopted a rescue dog from there in 2007 (hard to believe that it has been 5 years over Thanksgiving weekend) that was a puppy mill rescue. The dog has turned out to be the most loving and gentle creature you could ask for. The SPCA does great work and makes sure no healthy animals are euthanized which, in today's time, is such a special thing. I am always trying to educate people on adopting and am forever recommending they give the SPCA a call or visit. They are a great organization doing great work !!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As a member of a dog rescue who works with the Martinsville-Henry County SPCA, I cannot say enough good things about this organization. They are WONDERFUL to work with. Animal rescue is often very painful, challenging and difficult, especially when complicated by the politics that affect so many shelters and those that they work with - NOT SO HERE. This SPCA's goal is pure and simple: find as many animals loving homes as possible. They are incredibly easy to work with and all of the animals we have seen in their shelter or rescued from area pounds through their efforts are obviously very well cared for and loved. I cannot say enough good things about them. I encourage any rescue, adopter, or potential volunteer to check them out! They are the best! Another thing that makes the SPCA stand out is the relationship between their Board of Directors with the shelter staff and animals. Their Board, unlike a lot of others, is personally involved with the animals. They know the animals and they spend time helping in the shelter for the benefit of the animals. Just a top notch group and an example of what every shelter SHOULD be.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have adopted 3 puppies from the SPCA. The new SPCA is wonderful. The people are wonderful, helpful, kind, seem to really care about the animals. I have purchased many toys and other things for dogs in their store. Plus the out door run for the dogs is great. Great place to take your dog and let him or her run and play and you don't have to worry about them getting away. They have a wonderful training program also. I took my dog there and she learned so much, made her a much better furry person. Not every dog I have had has come from the SPCA but I would definitely get my best friend from there if possible. They also have all kinds of things you can do with your dog. The outlet store uptown Martinsville is a great place to shop for more than just puppy and cat things. Love the SPCA

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I adopted a lovely 5 month old kitten, and later, an adult terrier-mix dog from the Martinsville - Henry County SPCA. They are treasured members of our family. We greatly appreciate the wonderful "meet and greet" experience with our new pets at the shelter. The staff couldn't be any nicer and both pets were healthy, fully vetted and ready to go home with us. We have recommended the shelter to others looking for a pet and, should we decide to adopt another ourselves, the Martinsville shelter is the first place we will look. Best wishes for the continued success of the M'ville - Henry Co. SPCA!! Sincerely, mgforce

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers