Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1234.333335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SACD is an organization of Caribbean professionals and community leaders who are dedicated to the notion that our young people can transcend the difficulties of the urban environment by taking advantage of the opportunities available to them if they achieve academically. STEM subjects are encouraged, as well as participation in robotics and science fairs. The organization is interested in collaborations with other like-minded organizations and donors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The SOCIETY FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF THE CARIBBEAN DIASPORA main mission is the focus on education of the youth. I believe this organization is very helpful to the community because it offer scholarship for graduating high school student. It also offer workshop for adults on entrepreneurship in the Caribbean community. they are currently working with various institutions to develop a STEM program for young people in the community to encourage science and Technology in the Caribbean community. They also keep the community inform on current and important events including playing an important role in the 2010 Census.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Society for the Advancement of the Caribbean Diaspora represents a growing force for positive change in the Caribbean-American community. It offers networking opportunities and various forums for exposure of Caribbean issues. The organization has focused on promoting young talent and providing services to the Caribbean-American community. It has tackled women's issues, immigration concerns, and the development of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) foundations in the Caribbean and the United States. Under the brilliant leadership of its President Minna Hamilton-LaFortune, this organization has blossomed and holds great promise for improving the Caribbean-American community. I have been a joyous participant in its efforts over the years, especially so since I became a member last year. I have witnessed people enthusiastically buy into the vision of the organization. They are the backbone of its progress and the hope for its future. Watch out, SACD is a force to be reckoned with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SACD has provided critical outreach programs to the Caribbean Community in the New York City area to include much needed youth development programs. Their science and technology programs have exposed many minority and Caribbean youth to fields such as telecommunication, robotics, and green energy programs. As a Caribbean American woman and Electrical Engineer, it is my passion to encourage young people to pursue careers in science, engineering, and technology. SACD provides the needed stimulus, support, and guidance, to motivate our youth to pursue their field of interest. I will continue to volunteer any needed technical support, as well as provide financial donations to support their programs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SACD has been major influence helping with identifying resources for the Caribbean Diaspora in New York and the US. The organization promotes community development and business that impact our economic well being by disseminating information regarding private and public resources available to the Caribbean community. They have done a fantastic job highlighting business and individuals that contribute to advancing our causes - immigration, jobs, culture etc and they have done it with very little resources. Horace Cox

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Minna Hamilton-LaFortune and I am the Board President of the organization, Society for the Advancement of the Caribbean Diaspora (SACD). SACD is a not-for-profit organization, which provides the following services to the Caribbean Diaspora: networking opportunities, community involvement, mentoring, and personal development seminars. The mission of SACD is to celebrate the achievements of the people of the Caribbean Diaspora and to promote the cuisine, the arts and culture of the Caribbean. The motto of our organization is “Working together for a better Future”.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It offers an excellent experience in Leadership, marketing, public relationship, collaboration with other groups!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers