Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.94035
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

Science News is the best all-around science magazine. I have also subscribed to Scientific American and Discover. I see the abstract in Science News and read the more detailed account in SA. Science News by its nature can encompass more articles about more fields of science. So it gives the reader a broader knowledge of what is happening in science, medicine, etc. I love it and have read it for more years than I can remember. Keep on doing what you're doing.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014

more

July 13, 2014

Our daughter was selected as a finalist to participate in Broadcom. MASTERS the first year it launched. What an incredible experience for a 13 year-old from a small, isolate, rural area to work with other like- minded kids. She is still in touch with many of these kids from across the country that she met. Currently she is President of the after school Science Club and mentors other elementary and middle school budding scientists. She has continued to compete in science competitions in high school while juggling the most rigorous academic load offered, participating in varsity sports, working, and participating in an assortment of other extra-curricular activities. As I write this review on the sunniest, summer day in July, she is working on the drafts for the INTEL Talent Search. You inspired a young impressible teenager that anything is possible. Thank you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014

more

July 13, 2014

I have been reading Science News for close to 40 years since I discovered it by accident in the periodicals section of my local library. Its succinct format and quality of information provides a service I've found no where else. It has helped me be a more informed citizen.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014

more

July 13, 2014

Although I cannot afford a weekly subscription to SCIENCE NEWS print publication, I do receive the weekly email as well as general news from the Society for Science & the Public in order to keep up with important news and developments in the scientific world. If I COULD afford a weekly subscription to SCIENCE NEWS, I would DEFINITELY subscribe. Thanks, SSP!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

I have personally found the Society for Science and the Public to be an outstandingly impactful organization. As an alumnus of a variety of their student-oriented programs, I have first-hand experience of the extent to which the SSP has been able to promote the sciences in education and provide exceptional experiences for the students involved; it can and has been life-changing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

Hi. I'm from Colombia. The effort that you people do, is very helpful for all of us in a world without frontiers. The bet for the science is something that our society don't really appreciate in all their extents.
Thank you, for all the good work. I hope you can keep it that way !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If possible, try to implement some kind of method to make the contents accessible to people that cannot read english.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

I've read Science News since I was in High School. It was in our library but I decided to subscribe. When the first Mariner images came back from Mars I had them in my hands, via my S/N before it became big news in the genral media. I've been a member/subscriber off and on over the years as time and situations permitted. SSP is a gateway to the harder stuff - science of all disciplines. Checking in with S/N and SSP is a great way for me 50+ years from high school to keep my intellect alive and curious and informed. I'm sure it inspires young people now as it did when I was in HS.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their outreach.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

The Society For Science & The Public is performing yeoman service to the American (and probably non-American) public in covering, in a timely fashion, with brilliant journalism by experts in each area, scientific research in every field, as published in Science News. Given the sad state of science literacy in the US, it is nothing short of miraculous that an organization could successfully undertake to bring science to the populace in easily comprehensible form. We have a subscription & try to urge all our friends to subscribe as well, since a knowledge of science is essential to navigate a 21st-century world. Personally, I believe this magazine should be required reading in high schools. I suspect we'll see a lot more STEM candidates if young people have the kind of access to science that the Society provides.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

reorganize their layout, like every other person who has taken the helm. :) Actually, I can't think of any changes I'd want to make. It's a pretty efficient organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

With all the ignorance creating more and more tension between people, promoting the science and educating people is the only way to help healing the world. Art and education are the only way toward peace and health.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

love SSP magazine and mission! first they run the big science fairs and motivate and support young scientist from around the world
then they publish their great magazine where ordinary people like me can learn what's new in different scientific fields

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them provide open access to all finalists to journal articles

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers