Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.94035
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 13, 2014

more

July 13, 2014

Science News provides current scientific information to share with my students. Young, pre-teen students are so eager to learn more about their world, and Science News offers everything I need to springboard into a unit of study. Science News makes science relevant and real, not just a sci-fi/imaginatin world. It helps me to convince my students that Science is LIFE.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 6, 2014

more

July 6, 2014

This year I participated in Intel STS as well as another fair, and Society for Science and the Public made both experiences fantastic. The impeccable organization allowed me to focus on meeting professional scientists and other interested students, broadening my understanding and appreciation of a variety of topics. In addition, SSP's publications are filled with fascinating articles that pique my interest and keep me abreast of contemporary research. I only wish I had discovered their programs sooner!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

This past year, I had the opportunity to participate in two of Society for Science & the Public's high school research competitions (Intel STS and Intel ISEF). My experience with SSP has been nothing short of amazing. The organization not only offers the two most incredible science research competitions available to high school students, but also provides two science magazines (Science News and Science News for Students) with up-to-date and fascinating articles. SSP has a tremendously positive impact on middle and high school students and their interests in science, technology, engineering, and math because they want to make science relevant, stimulating, and fun-- and they are very successful at their goal. Society for Science & the Public is achieving what few (if any) other organizations can achieve-- they are connecting with students, engaging them with science, and giving them the opportunity to share their discoveries with the world. I can't think of a more rewarding, wonderful organization, and I'm so grateful to have had the chance to work with them over the past year.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

Society for Science and the Public has proven to be unparalleled in its efforts to encourage young people to engage with scientific research. As a participant in the SSP-affiliated research competitions, I found that SSP gave access to a host of free resources, including its Science News and Science News for Students publications that I regularly use. Whenever I contacted them with questions or concerns, whether it was before, during, or after the competition, the SSP staff was happy to help. I hope to have more interaction with SSP in the near future!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Society for Science provides excellent support for independent STEM research in the form of the International Science and Engineering Fair as well as the BROADCOM Masters program, to name just a few. Without the Society for Science, thousands of students each year would not be able to share their science research with the entire globe, thus promoting one of the few globally active student collaborations on the planet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Support and recognize the teachers. In today's society, our teachers feel as if they are islands of misery regarding current view of STEM education. The Society for Science understands that our nations STEM program is not only alive, but thriving! The teachers who inspire these students to excel should perhaps get more recognition? Just a thought!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In 1979, I was one of the top 40 winners in the Westinghouse competition, run by SSP. I had been motivated to enter when I learned that an earlier student of my mentor at University of Maryland had made the top 40. Participation in the competition changed my life.

Making the top 40 was
affirming, but what really made the big difference was being motivated to enter the competition in the first place. The research I did (in astronomy) gave me a direction and a chance to excel. My project probably got me into MIT and Caltech (I went to MIT).

My experience made me a life-long believer in engaging youngsters in science. I volunteer in local science fairs every year as a judge, and encouraged both of my children to enter (my youngest went to ISTEF). At MIT I routinely hired undergraduates with science fair backgrounds, because these were individuals who had the motivation to take a project from start to finish.

If you want to have hope for the future, all you have to do is go meet with the students participating in SSP events.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't imagine what I would change.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was a Broadcom Master which is a program run by SSP. It was really life-changing and I made a lot of new friends across the country. SSP has really inspired me to look forward to working in STEM related careers in the future. Thanks SSP for all you have done!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I was in high school, I was a promising student - passionate about the sciences - who came from very challenging circumstances. My mother was mentally ill and my father had only a fifth grade education. I was the fourth of five children, so they never could have afforded to send me to college, much less help me through the process of applying and choosing. A teacher at my public high school suggested I apply for a summer research scholarship, which I won and completed. Another teacher suggested I enter my work from that experience in what was then the Westinghouse Science Talent Search, which was administered by this nonprofit. I placed in the top ten winners, which came with a four year college scholarship to the school of my choice. Because I won this competition, I was invted to attend schools to which I had and had never applied, all on nearly full scholarship. I graduated from a highly competitive university with degrees in engineering and less than $1000 in college debt, thanks to this nonprofit. I practiced as an engineer for many years and then decided to enter the field of K-12 education in order help other students who come from challenging circumstances change their lives with science education. I earned a Ph.D. in science education and have led several foundation and government funded science and engineering education projects for underserved and disadvantaged K-12 students. I can say with complete confidence that my life would have been quite different if not for the opportunities afforded me by the Westinghouse Science Talent Search and this nonprofit. I work to change the lives of other students because this nonprofit changed mine.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Involve the alumni with stories like mine in organized efforts to reach out to underserved and disadvantaged youth.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was given the chance to showcase my high school research over the years because of the tremendous work this group does to put on the Intel ISEF and Intel STS competitions. Because of my participation, I made new friends, helped pay for college, and ultimately decided my career goal and college major. After winning a few major scholarships from ISEF, I was brought into contact with the school I am currently attending, Drexel. This changed my entire plan for undergraduate study and also paid for my attendance. I would not be where I am today, with the friends I have, without the Society for Science and the Public.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

SSP understands the critical performance of getting young people involved in research. We are producing too many people with a superficial understanding of science, who ultimately find careers as bartenders etc. Research is the key to the new science that the USA needs and the world needs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get everyone to join

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers