Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.945455
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was given the chance to showcase my high school research over the years because of the tremendous work this group does to put on the Intel ISEF and Intel STS competitions. Because of my participation, I made new friends, helped pay for college, and ultimately decided my career goal and college major. After winning a few major scholarships from ISEF, I was brought into contact with the school I am currently attending, Drexel. This changed my entire plan for undergraduate study and also paid for my attendance. I would not be where I am today, with the friends I have, without the Society for Science and the Public.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

SSP understands the critical performance of getting young people involved in research. We are producing too many people with a superficial understanding of science, who ultimately find careers as bartenders etc. Research is the key to the new science that the USA needs and the world needs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get everyone to join

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Its life changing! I found that this really changed my high school experience and my scientific future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I was a participant in the Intel STS and I can honestly say I would not be where I am today had it not been for SSP.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was a participant in several programs run by the Society for Science & the Public, and I can honestly say that they were life changing. I had always been interested in science but always felt that I didn't have the skill or talent to pursue my dreams. SSP gave the opportunity to travel the world and meet other students with my similar interests. I was constantly finding role models and being motivated by the famous scientists I got to meet through SSP. ISEF and STS, the programs I was involved in, impressed upon me how important it was to pursue my science research dreams. I found the best community of scholars and thinkers I have ever met, and their recognition of me gave me the funds to attend college. Without the SSP, I would not be who I am today - a successful student and scientist, working at the best universities in the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't have any changes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I can honestly say that the programs that SSP provides to the community changed my life. As a student with a learning disability I had little hope of pursuing my dream of becoming a professional scientist. Even many of my teachers encouraged me to 'have more realistic career ideas'. Programs like the Science Fair and STS provided a much needed voice of encouragement in my life. SSP not only encouraged me to complete my own experiments but to present them to the scientific community are part of the competitions they hosted. Through the science fair I was able to meet up with scientists who were willing to look beyond the weakness of my learning disability to mentor the inquisitive youth. Through STS I was able to gain the funds to take my love of science to the next level and attend college. An opportunity that without this type of support would have been nearly impossible. Because of the SSP mission my life was changed. I am no longer the student that teachers didn't expect to graduate from middle school let alone high school. I am now considered one of the top graduate students at my university and my research is slowly changing the world for the better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've faithfully read Science News for almost 20 years now, and there's just no other magazine like it in the industry. It doesn't "dumb down" research summaries. At the same time, the language and explanation are very understandable even to a layperson. (I am a professional without a medical degree, but who works in the medical industry.)

I was so happy when the journal moved on-line. I hope this group continues to provide public information for many years to come!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase advertising or funding so more people are aware of what they do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

love SSP magazine and mission! first they run the big science fairs and motivate and support young scientist from around the world
then they publish their great magazine where ordinary people like me can learn what's new in different scientific fields

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them provide open access to all finalists to journal articles

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Provides clear elucidation of current topics in all branches of science.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make archives available w/o login

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 31, 2010

I work with rural students in one of the poorest counties in Missouri. Our school population (K-12)is around 290 students. The SSP provided training for me to start an independent science research pro... more

May 1, 2013

I cannot begin to share all the outcomes that the Society for Science and the Public has directly contribute to in our small rural school! Four years ago, I applied for the SSP Fellows Program and to my amazement, I was fortunate to be selected. I am a 36-year teaching veteran, and I can honestly say that this is the best program for advancing student research in rural and inner city schools in the country! The SSP gave me the training and the financial resources to develop a strong research program in my school. This was no easy undertaking, but the rewards have been many. The total student population is less than 250 students in kindergarten through 12th grade. We are not only one of the smallest districts in the state, we are one of the poorest districts in the state. After a four year investment in the program, you may ask what is there to show that the money was well spent? The students have been quite successful over the past four years. They have won top awards at the local, state, regional, national and international levels. Last year one student, Brittany King, was selected as one of the top four Agriscience Research students in the nation. Another student, Dylan Lyle, received a first place at the International Sustainable Environment, Energy and Engineering Olympiad(ISWEEEP) in Houston, Texas. This year we had the top two projects in the state of Missouri at the Missouri Junior Academy of Science, Tara Humphreys and Ashley Wyrick! In addition, two students have advanced to ISWEEEP in Houston (Ross Sparrow and Ashley Wyrick), and just yesterday another student, Sara Abbett, was notified that she was the state finalist for Missouri for the Stockholm Junior Water Prize and will be competing in Portland, Oregon in June. Next week, our students compete in the Missouri Agriscience Fair with their research, and we will then know who will be advancing to the National FFA Agriscience Fair. Last year four students from our program advanced. More important than doing well in the competitions is the confidence that the students have gained in the program. All of the students that have participated in the program have gone on to college and their success continues at that level. Several are in undergraduate research programs. One is already working part time in a federal research facility. All this would not have been possible without the support of the Society for Science and the Public. The fellowship grant ends this year, but the program will continue for many years to come. We are forever grateful!!!
Constance Wyrick
Tuscumbia High School
Tuscumbia, MO

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2010

I work with rural students in one of the poorest counties in Missouri. Our school population (K-12)is around 290 students. The SSP provided training for me to start an independent science research program for my students. In addition, as part of the SSP Fellows Program, my students had the funds to conduct authentic research. This past year one of my students competed at the National FFA Agriscience Fair and won top honors in the zoology category. We had never had that kind of success before. The same student is now employed at a national environmental science research laboratory while attending college this year. The support of the SSP has been invaluable and I am so grateful for the organization's involvement in underserved students!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Their educational, professional development and financial support has been incredible!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the support that has been provided

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

incredibly helpful

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers