Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.94035
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

I have personally found the Society for Science and the Public to be an outstandingly impactful organization. As an alumnus of a variety of their student-oriented programs, I have first-hand experience of the extent to which the SSP has been able to promote the sciences in education and provide exceptional experiences for the students involved; it can and has been life-changing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

SSP provides outstanding independent research opportunities for students with a focus in the sciences. Over the years, I have witnessed students at the high school I teach at approach ISEF with a great deal of excitement, stating that it is the "single best opportunity afforded to students at our school" and it does please me that it is available for those top science students.

In recent years, I've become aware that ISEF is viewed in a similar manner by students, not only across the country, but throughout the World. It is the premier science competition for students and the event they talk about throughout the year.

Broadcom Masters is stimulating a similar interest in our younger students and, I hope, motivating them to pursue ISEF in their "later" years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

Hi. I'm from Colombia. The effort that you people do, is very helpful for all of us in a world without frontiers. The bet for the science is something that our society don't really appreciate in all their extents.
Thank you, for all the good work. I hope you can keep it that way !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If possible, try to implement some kind of method to make the contents accessible to people that cannot read english.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

I've read Science News since I was in High School. It was in our library but I decided to subscribe. When the first Mariner images came back from Mars I had them in my hands, via my S/N before it became big news in the genral media. I've been a member/subscriber off and on over the years as time and situations permitted. SSP is a gateway to the harder stuff - science of all disciplines. Checking in with S/N and SSP is a great way for me 50+ years from high school to keep my intellect alive and curious and informed. I'm sure it inspires young people now as it did when I was in HS.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their outreach.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

The Society For Science & The Public is performing yeoman service to the American (and probably non-American) public in covering, in a timely fashion, with brilliant journalism by experts in each area, scientific research in every field, as published in Science News. Given the sad state of science literacy in the US, it is nothing short of miraculous that an organization could successfully undertake to bring science to the populace in easily comprehensible form. We have a subscription & try to urge all our friends to subscribe as well, since a knowledge of science is essential to navigate a 21st-century world. Personally, I believe this magazine should be required reading in high schools. I suspect we'll see a lot more STEM candidates if young people have the kind of access to science that the Society provides.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

reorganize their layout, like every other person who has taken the helm. :) Actually, I can't think of any changes I'd want to make. It's a pretty efficient organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Society for Science provides excellent support for independent STEM research in the form of the International Science and Engineering Fair as well as the BROADCOM Masters program, to name just a few. Without the Society for Science, thousands of students each year would not be able to share their science research with the entire globe, thus promoting one of the few globally active student collaborations on the planet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Support and recognize the teachers. In today's society, our teachers feel as if they are islands of misery regarding current view of STEM education. The Society for Science understands that our nations STEM program is not only alive, but thriving! The teachers who inspire these students to excel should perhaps get more recognition? Just a thought!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In 1979, I was one of the top 40 winners in the Westinghouse competition, run by SSP. I had been motivated to enter when I learned that an earlier student of my mentor at University of Maryland had made the top 40. Participation in the competition changed my life.

Making the top 40 was
affirming, but what really made the big difference was being motivated to enter the competition in the first place. The research I did (in astronomy) gave me a direction and a chance to excel. My project probably got me into MIT and Caltech (I went to MIT).

My experience made me a life-long believer in engaging youngsters in science. I volunteer in local science fairs every year as a judge, and encouraged both of my children to enter (my youngest went to ISTEF). At MIT I routinely hired undergraduates with science fair backgrounds, because these were individuals who had the motivation to take a project from start to finish.

If you want to have hope for the future, all you have to do is go meet with the students participating in SSP events.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't imagine what I would change.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was a Broadcom Master which is a program run by SSP. It was really life-changing and I made a lot of new friends across the country. SSP has really inspired me to look forward to working in STEM related careers in the future. Thanks SSP for all you have done!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

SEriously !!!

Some usefull ideas...
for free ...
One should read, to see if a NON-Profit organization is working and building
.
.
in this way

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would add a smiley , and metaphors

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

When I was a student I studied seriously and my teachers taught me with great love and devotion responding positively to my curiosity. I became a teacher and they have given me the desire to work seriously and with love. I am grateful.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers