Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 3, 2013

more

November 3, 2013

As an update, I would like to share how SOAR has stepped in and supported several of our projects for specific needs of children we have identified as most vulnerable. Cannot thank them enough!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

I volunteer for this fantastic organization of committed individuals doing such important work.

I truly enjoy volunteering in this relaxed but professional environment, surrounded by enthusiastic and passionate individuals. All chapters are collectively working hard to make a significant
difference to the orphanages we serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

This is such a great organization and everyone involved is a volunteer. I feel very blessed to be a part of an organization that does such good for the children of Armenia. We are just getting started in Northern California but look forward to doing as much as we can to improve the lives of these children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I've known George for many years and have always appreciated his devotion to the children of Armenia. The work that is done through his organization is far reaching and serves Armenian children all over the world. As an NC Chapter board member, I look forward to making a larger contribution in supporting the mission of SOAR. As the Executive Director of Hopscotch Adoptions, Inc, our commonality in serving the children have brought our paths to cross for many years and more to come!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Impeccable. Beyond reproach in transparency. Beyond reproach in the effect on individual lives. An all-volunteer nonprofit organization dedicated to demonstrating love and providing relief for orphans and enabling them to become productive, influential and caring member of society. Without reservation I endorse SOAR wholeheartedly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I have volunteered for this organization for the past 2 years in the Chicagoland area. The sheer commitment of everyone involved is amazing! The monies donated are truely transparent. We know where every dollar goes. Each Chapter has the power to choose where the money they raise goes by receiving an up to date needs list of the Orphanages on a regular basis. This allows the opportunity to market the needs at our individual fundraisers and with that feel a true sense of accomplishment. This organization deserves to be recognized for what it is ...a "GREAT NONPROFIT Organization." George Yacoubian deserves a medal for his dedication and hard work to this cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

The Society for Orphaned Armenian Relief is a collection of tight knit networked worldwide chapters to help children in Armenian Orphanages who are less fortunate by raising money to directly benefit the kids living in these Orphanages. A truly wonderful cause for anyone wishing to help these forgotten children SOAR's efforts make sure that they have at least the basics of life need's met; Food, clothing, pillows, beds, shelter, toys etc...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

The Society for Orphaned Armenian Relief (SOAR) was launched in 2006 after their founders, George and Erica Yacoubian, adopted their oldest daughter from Armenia. SOAR, based in the suburbs of Philadelphia but with 28 Chapters worldwide, provides humanitarian relief to orphaned Armenian children in Armenia, Artsakh, Javakh, and Lebanon. SOAR's annual distributions have increased significantly over the past 7 years, from approximately $60,000 in 2006 to $345,000 in 2011.

Most importantly, however, is the dedication of their volunteers. SOAR has no paid staff – every contributor volunteers their time. SOAR has experienced significant growth during the past several years, both in terms of tangible distributions and geographic presence. Some volunteers are parents of adopted Armenian children; others simply recognize the significance of SOAR’s humanitarian contributions and want to help perpetuate its mission. The bond that exists among SOAR’s national and international volunteers is the recognition that orphaned children represent the most vulnerable population of Armenian society and the unwavering belief that concerted efforts can provide these children with the resources fundamental to their physical, emotional, and intellectual development.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join or start a SOAR Chapter worldwide! Volunteer