Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

This is an organization that truly makes the most of its donations, putting every dollar directly toward improving people's lives. Social Promise holds wonderful family events that will allow you and your children to learn about life in Uganda and support those in need while having a great time.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Social Promise is a ground-up organization with high goals of improving lives in need in Uganda. Their people are passionate and they are making an impact. In addition, they operate with very low overheads so the dollars are put to the actual cause not office supplies.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I believe we all struggle in life trying to justify where we fit in as individuals and as a species. What can we truly do to make a difference in such a vast and unforgiving world? What impact do our actions and decisions really have on the path our planet and its inhabitants travel down? These are questions that I constantly look to answer for myself as I try to find my place in our world. Despite the uncertainties I may have with my place in the world I know that the work Social Promise does to support the children of St. Jude and the community of Gulu is nothing short of miraculous. Social Promise connect people from across the United States and the world that feel a need to serve those that are currently in need of immense support. When I was in Gulu on behalf of Social Promise I shuttered to think where the children of St. Jude would be without the help of Social Promise and others like it. Social Promise provides hope to kids that otherwise would likely be deceased or worse. Social Promise was built on a foundation of love and caring and the desire to construct positive outcomes in a community that is in need of great support but that is full of extraordinary individuals. I still don’t know where I belong and what I should be doing to leave a positive impact on this world but I know that when I’m working towards supporting the people of Gulu, and especially the children of St. Jude, I know I’m headed in the right direction.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I couldn't feel more strongly about this charity. It is truly an organization that believes in getting its "hands dirty". They've made such great strides in improving the lives of the people in Gulu, and I am so proud to have been convinced to become a part.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Social Promise has recently held two events in New York to raise funds for health and educational needs in Uganda. The event held at Brooks Brothers at the Miracle Mile in Manhasset has generated an ardent group of supporters who are sincerely interested in engendering positive change. The African Adventure event in New York brings together families responsive to the needs in these Ugandan communities, and interested in giving their children a sense of life in Uganda. I have been very fortunate to have seen the hard work that the Social Promise volunteers have put into these events to make them so successful.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

This is a wonderful charitable organization. They are providing much needed help to Uganda.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became aware of Social Promise through my son, who traveled to Uganda to help the people that this charity supports. For the past year he has shared stories and pictures of the children and adults with desperate needs that are benefiting from the funds from Social Promise. While the stories shared are often heartbreaking, it is evident that many of these people have a much brighter future because of what Social Promise has been able to do for them. I love to follow this charity's Facebook page and read inspirational accounts and see beautiful pictures of those who are benefiting from Social Promise. It is clear that the Board is made up of dedicated and highly qualified people, who by virtue of their respective backgrounds, have a good understanding of the needs of the people in Northern Uganda, as well as a deep desire to support them and make a difference in their lives! I completely trust Social Promise to steward my funds honestly and well!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Social Promise is a relatively new nonprofit dedicated to assisting the poor and young children in Uganda, particularly in the city of Gulu. The donations are funneled directly to a hospital and school / orphanage in Gulu. There is very little overhead as the directors and other individuals helping with the fundraising serve without remuneration. The impact of the donations is very significant as a relatively few US dollars goes a long way in Gulu toward providing medicines, wheelchairs, books, educational facilities and scholarships for continued study. Donations are not used for salaries either in the US or in Uganda. I would strongly urge people to look at the great work this nonprofit has accomplished in a short time with relatively few dollars. If you can't contribute, perhaps you can contact the directors about other ways they can help these needy people, particularly the children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Social Promise makes a difference in the lives of children in Uganda and in the US. By organizing educational fundraisers, Social Promise helps American kids learn how children in Africa live. They learn about their struggles and their beautiful cultures. Social Promise raises money to send Ugandan girls to school, to help Ugandan people pay for healthcare, and to help support children with special needs. This nonprofit truly is a special organization with wonderful goals and a genuine mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Social Promise has helped open my eyes to true everyday struggles of children and families in Africa as well as the good that comes from those who really care. The dedicated drive of Social Promise inspires me and my family to help financially. Even though my children are young, I anticipate that they will grow to feel the connection as strongly as I do. I have witnessed the life long dedication of those behind the drive of Social Promise and am proud to help aid their momentum!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it grow bigger

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about our partners and tell a friend how to change the world! Volunteer