Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
123.7692345
Write A Review
June 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My placement with SDI started in March 2013 as the Nutrition Education Officer. I enjoyed teaching at the schools immensely however i did not enjoy working for SDI. I found Mr Turay to be extremely unprofessional and did not give me any support whatsoever while working for his organisation. He was extremely disorganised and did not care about the well being of the community. He never showed interest in any of the programs i was doing and did not attend any of my teaching sessions to see the progress. I don't believe SDI's best interest is to benefit the community and i felt that the manner in which Mr. Turay conducted himself was so appalling i would not advise any volunteer to consider working for his organisation. I was accused of betrayal when given the opportunity to work for another NGO which was more suited to my career and professional skills and was also accused of intentionally using the organisation to get a visa into the country. I was bad mouthed to other volunteers and forced to leave the house i was living in and find alternate accommodation with only 2 days notice. I felt that Mr. Turay was more concerned with collecting money rather than the transparency and sustainability of his organisation or the volunteers involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that SDI keep financial records on all money spent. There were no records of where any money was being invested. There was no financial records, receipts or reports or any information regarding grants or donations received. Whenever the question was raised as to where money was being invested, the information was defensively refused.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2012

more

October 14, 2012

I have work for many years with Mr Ture and I know for sure that he is very dedicated to the development cause. Ture has a drive and dream to reduce poverty through skills enhancement in rural areas. He deserve to be supported.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 14, 2012

more

October 14, 2012

my experience with SDI started in 2011, i had to research for some partners with my Boss , the way i did it with him was so professional that i could not image and since then i work for him .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

I have worked with Social Development International for many years as Volunteer and this organisation has helped many families in Cameroon. SDI and its partners have registered and sponsor many street children in school. The organisation has identified and help old people in rural communities. The organisation has as objective to fight for the vonurable population. I think at the end of every year, with the available resources they devote a lot of energy to assist the the population of Cameroon. Many youths in the regions have gained from its seminars and education programmes and this has brought changes to many people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

A good c ause to support anytime!This a life changing experience for the beneficiaries and I can only encourage my brother Sulayman.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

Learnt that this charitable organization is working with vulnerable communities that are striving to ensure they have access to basic and essential services such as education, water, health and sanitation to name but a few. It is but befitting if adequate support (financial and moral) are assured to this organization so as to ensure its sustainability in promoting the and transforming the living standards and livelihoods of the rural and marginally excluded communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 8, 2012

more

October 8, 2012

I have been mentoring SDI and know their director mr turay. he is a professional management consultant and has put his expertise to this group alot, his orphan project and women schemes are good tools to alleviate poverty which i admire alot.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2012

more

October 5, 2012

Am a lecturer in the University of Buea and I have been teaching in the univeristy in cameroon and Niageria since 1992.I equally worked in Niageria as a news producer for a private radio/television station.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

July 31, 2011

more

July 31, 2011

I have been working with SDI for nearly 3 years. It has been a wonderful experience. I have had the opportunity to develop projects, create proposals and learn how to fund-raise for a great cause.

My favorite thing about SDI is its culture. SDI promotes openness, communication, and
creativity and everyone's opinion matters as we all have the same goal and motivations. Being surrounding by like-minded people who are interested in serving poor communities and helping them to become self-sustaining is the most rewarding fulfilling feeling.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Each quarter the board gets together to review all of the progress that has been made. We look at the funding and talk about what we did with it. Hearing that 5 mothers were able to start businesses with our micro-credit, pay back the micro-credit and feed their families is more than enough to keep us motivated to continue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SDI is a new group and often times volunteers are engaged in their own personal work and family lives so I would say that we need more volunteers and more organization. Since our members live in various countries, organization and time management can be a challenge that can lead to slow progress.

March 4, 2011

more

March 4, 2011

I have served Social Development International (Sodeit) like online volunteer. My mission was writing a Proposal for this organization and I can say that I have appreciate my relations of work with the CEO, Mr Suleiman. I wish good luck to this organization and I know she will realize very good projects. GO SODEIT!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

good experience

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know because I have only work online

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers