Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
665 Reviews
1234.929325
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
February 11, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 11, 2011

I have been in the field of helping and teaching students for 13 years. I have been taking kids to Snowbird for 12 and the difference they make in the lives of young people as well as adults is astronomical in the least. Words can not describe how they affect students with their off the cuff, Christ driven antics. The staff at Snowbird has one goal...to lead folks to Christ by any, ANY means necessary.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My own life, witnessed it in others and have seen them grow as an organization from it's infancy to one of the biggest retreat centers in the South.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put more hours in the day so one could spend them learning at Snowbird.

February 10, 2011

more

February 10, 2011

Snowbird Wilderness Outfitters, Inc (SWO) is a multi-branch organization. Based in the Appalachian Mountains of western North Carolina, SWO has made a positive on communities locally, regionally, and internationally. I have personally witnessed this organization serving under-priveledged families by renovating their homes. I have seen their personnel grow relationships with orphans in Latin America just to let them know that they are loved. They reach out with wilderness/outdoor recreation programs to both complacent and at-risk youth. And, everywhere that SWO has been, it has left a message and a hope with the people it touches: that the God Who created this world loves them very much and wants to have a relationship with them through His Son, Jesus Christ.
SWO does not mince words, especially when confronting tough issues that face American teens. They have helped countless students fight addictions to substance abuse, self mutilation, pornography, racism, self-centered pride, and eating disorders.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

SWO has helped me realize that Jesus Christ is not my Get-Out-of-Hell-Free Card, but He is my reason for breathing. Through the teaching and ministry of SWO i have been freed from addiction and now i have the tools to help set others free.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would start with myself. I'm far from perfect. "Why do you see the speck that is in your brother's eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother's eye." (Matthew 7:3-5, ESV Bible)

February 10, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 10, 2011

Snowbird Wilderness Outfitters, Inc (SWO) is a multi-branch organization. Based in the Appalachian Mountains of western North Carolina, SWO has made a positive on communities locally, regionally, and internationally. I have personally witnessed this organization serving under-priveledged families by renovating their homes. I have seen their personnel grow relationships with orphans in Latin America just to let them know that they are loved. They reach out with wilderness/outdoor recreation programs to both complacent and at-risk youth. And, everywhere that SWO has been, it has left a message and a hope with the people it touches: that the God Who created this world loves them very much and wants to have a relationship with them through His Son, Jesus Christ.
SWO does not mince words, especially when confronting tough issues that face American teens. They have helped countless students fight addictions to substance abuse, self mutilation, pornography, racism, self-centered pride, and eating disorders.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

SWO has helped me realize that Jesus Christ is not my Get-Out-of-Hell-Free Card, but He is my reason for breathing. Through the teaching and ministry of SWO i have been freed from addiction and now i have the tools to help set others free.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would start with myself. I'm far from perfect. "Why do you see the speck that is in your brother's eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother's eye." (Matthew 7:3-5, ESV Bible)

February 10, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 10, 2011

As a youth pastor, I have taken several groups to Snowbird, both for summer camps as well as spring work trips. The number of activities, quality of facilities, and camp programs are among the best I've ever experienced, and you never know what they're going to come up with next!

The
biggest reason that we are continually drawn back to Snowbird is the staff. You will never find a staff more committed to their mission and purpose than at SWO. From their full-time year-round staff right down to the short-term volunteers, they are all well-trained, energetic, and ever-encouraging. They model what it is to follow Christ day after day, and all who experience Snowbird leave changed because of it.

I have never experienced a camp that is so effective at reaching youth and adults alike for Christ, while providing so thrilling activities and memories that last a lifetime!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen youth and adults alike changed forever through the clear message and loving acceptance of Snowbird. I myself have been changed and can't wait to take students again!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Duplicate it in several other spots in the country in order to increase their impact!

February 10, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 10, 2011

Snowbird Wilderness Outfitters is a high adventure youth camp in Andrews, NC. They have an outstanding role in their community that substantially benefits their neighbors. They offer extensive college and career opportunities for young adults seeking jobs in the realm of youth counseling. They provide specific internship opportunities, college course credits, life saving and medical certifications, and many more life skills the equip youth and young adults to be better contributors to their communities and society as a whole. Bottom line, they are good at what they do, and anyone that knows them benefits from them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My own career and life, as well as in the lives of my teenagers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

bring them closer to home.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

They operate from a community based staff that lives and works together, which fosters and solid unity among the staff members.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 10, 2011

more

February 10, 2011

I have over twenty-five years experience working with students. I have attended many youth camps. Most camps left our group wanting something more, that is until we visited Snowbird Wilderness Outfitters.

Snowbird far exceeded all our expectations and as we have continued to bring groups
to this camp, they have continued to raise the bar. I have never experienced a camp that honors and brings glory to God like Snowbird. The biblical teaching is scripturally sound. The godly leadership is evident the lives of the counselors who are well trained and discipled.

I would not even consider going to another camp. I have seen God use Snowbird to change the lives of the students that we have taken to camp.

Words cannot express the experience that you will have at Snowbird. You will have a tremendous amount of fun but more importantly you will be brought closer in your relationship with God.

Everyone that I have introduced to this camp has come back saying the same thing, "I did not think a camp could be a great as you said, but now I know that you did not even tell the half of it."

Go take the Snowbird Experience - you life will never be the same!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

God works through the lives of Steve Coleman and Brody Holloway in a miraculous way to change the hearts of students and their adult leaders. Snowbird is a tool in the hand of God that He uses to draw students to Himself.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would invest more of my personal finances to help this camp reach even more students with the Gospel of Christ - I totally believe in this ministry.

February 10, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 10, 2011

I have over twenty-five years experience working with students. I have attended many youth camps. Most camps left our group wanting something more, that is until we visited Snowbird Wilderness Outfitters.

Snowbird far exceeded all our expectations and as we have continued to bring groups
to this camp, they have continued to raise the bar. I have never experienced a camp that honors and brings glory to God like Snowbird. The biblical teaching is scripturally sound. The godly leadership is evident the lives of the counselors who are well trained and discipled.

I would not even consider going to another camp. I have seen God use Snowbird to change the lives of the students that we have taken to camp.

Words cannot express the experience that you will have at Snowbird. You will have a tremendous amount of fun but more importantly you will be brought closer in your relationship with God.

Everyone that I have introduced to this camp has come back saying the same thing, "I did not think a camp could be a great as you said, but now I know that you did not even tell the half of it."

Go take the Snowbird Experience - you life will never be the same!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

God works through the lives of Steve Coleman and Brody Holloway in a miraculous way to change the hearts of students and their adult leaders. Snowbird is a tool in the hand of God that He uses to draw students to Himself.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would invest more of my personal finances to help this camp reach even more students with the Gospel of Christ - I totally believe in this ministry.

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers