Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.982765
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

Snowball Express is a wonderful organization that brings together the children, spouses and families of our fallen Military Heroes from all over the country for an annual, all-expense paid five day celebration. Last year, I had the honor and privilege of traveling to Dallas, Texas for this special event along with my employer, Green Beans Coffee, and volunteering in the adult lounge. I met so many amazing Moms who have lost their husbands and whose children have lost their fathers. Their strength was truly inspirational and my experience there was unforgettable.

For Mother’s Day, Green Beans Coffee and Snowball Express teamed up to honor these remarkable women by creating special Mother’s Day gift sets made up of coffee, a mug and chocolates. These gift sets were purchased anonymously by people who wanted to express their appreciation for their family’s sacrifice and wish these special Moms a Happy Mother’s Day. Gift sets were sent to Snowball Express Moms in all 50 states.

Here’s a letter from a Snowball Mom who received one of these gift sets:

What a surprise when my daughter went outside on our porch and brought this little brown box into our home. We both looked at it with quizzical looks on our face and double checked the name on the box to make sure it was for us. We eagerly opened the box and in there was such a warm surprise. My daughter took the note out and read it and said “Mom, somebody was thinking about us and they don’t even know us”… Yes, this brought a tear to my eye. Thank you for remembering, thank you for caring, thank you for bringing a warm hug and smile to our family with such a sweet gesture.
Sincerely,
Jennifer and Alyssa Germosen
Family of SSGT Scott Germosen USMC
“Operation Enduring Freedom”

Snowball Express provides such amazing support to these Moms and their children who have given so much to our nation by bringing them together for healing and bonding and letting them know that they are not forgotten and are not alone. I’m looking forward to attending the event again this year!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 6, 2013

more

February 6, 2013

Snowball Express since its inception in 2006 has had one mission, "provide hope and memories for the children of military fallen heroes". I can say unequivocally that since that first event in Orange County, CA to SBE VII Dec 2013 in Dallas, Texas, Snowball Express has not strayed from that mission.

I was the former President/Chairman of Snowball Express 2007-2009 so I know first hand the challenges any new non-profit must deal with...but regardless of those challenges, wonderful supporters in CA for three years poured their hearts out to these families and showed them that American had never forgotten. Donors found their contributions of hard cash were matched by donated goods and services worth nearly 10 times that amount!!! Truly amazing and all for the good of these children and surviving spouses.

With tears in their eyes, the CA volunteers passed the event to a group of dedicated volunteers who in traditional Texas style worked their tails off to make Snowball Express even better for the families. Since 2007 American Airlines and its employees have worked tirelessly year round to spread the word and bring more corporate support and awareness to America along with the help of hundreds of other corporations...large and small...to make the last four years in Dallas truly memorable for these families. With the addition of Gary Sinise on the Board of Directors, it is hard to imagine a stronger endorsement from a person with Gary's love of our military and country.

Some say the sign of a great non-profit is how it handles change in leadership and can it remain focus on its mission. The leaders who replaced me along with the current leadership, Buck Kern as Executive Director, and the very active and engaged Board of Director insures that donor's contributions are spent for their intended purpose....making sure these children get the happy memories they deserve when they attend the annual event and do it in a cost effective manner along with offering ever expanded "Snowflake" events around the country year round.

The testimonies from these families on the website just scratch the surface of what Snowball Express represents to these families. If you are considering donating to a military non-profit, you will be hard pressed to find one that does more good for a group that deserves this and much more for the loss of a parent while defending all of our freedoms. It has been a life-changing event to be around these families and the Snowball Express family of volunteers. Please consider getting involved if you are not already.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 5, 2012

more

July 5, 2012

I have volunteered with Snowball Express for 6 years and work with the Organization Gold Star Wives of America (Military Widows/Widowers) providing support, friendship, information. I have seen this great organization grow and provide a wonderful event for our Children of Fallen Heroes. They truly care and it shows by the manner of respect they show the children and spouse, guardian, who attends the event and through out the year. Building memories and lifelong friendship and support is what a Gold Star Family truly needs. SBE is one of the many organizations who provides such. I am a Vietnam Widow and working with the recent widows/widowers, Board, volunteers, Patriot Guard and so many is both heartwarming and heart wretching thus a life changer to those who have walk the shoes before 9/11. This is so important for one who did not have the support of knowing another widow for many years this opportunity that SBE provides for the children to meet other children like them and it so benefits the spouse / guardian who also builds support and friendship. As a Military Widow one of the most important things in your life is to know you are not a lone in your grief nor our the children. Thus SBE fills this space for many.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 4, 2012

more

July 4, 2012

I have volunteered for the Snowball Express event for the last four years. This is a quality organization doing an excellent service for our families who have paid a crushingly high price for our freedoms. These families deserve all we can give them. This camaraderie and celebration among those who can understand and relate to the situations they are in is crucial in that support. Quality folks giving maximum effort for these deserving folks.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the faces and gratitude of the families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

it is very gratifying to serve this organization.

July 4, 2012

more

July 4, 2012

Aloha......today is Independence Day, our nation is 236 years old this July 4th. The ring of Freedom sounds true because of the service and sacrifice of our Veterans who have worn the uniform of this great nation. Snowball Express recognizes and acknowledges that service and sacrifice of our fallen by living the credo of Abraham Lincoln, "let us never forget he who hath borne the battle, his widow and his orphan." The past six year's Snowball Express has set aside a few days of Christmas joy for the children of our fallen.........fun memories and new friends made but more importantly to the widows and children, that the service and sacrifice of their loved one will never be forgotten. Unlike a yellow ribbon tied to a tree that soon fades with the sun as well as the memory, Snowball Express continues to reach out every day of the year to support and assit the families of our fallen through nationwide venues. It is a sad commentary that we require organizations such as this to exist when as a nation we should collectively be taking care of our own. God Bless our Volunteers and Supporters whose selfless contribution continues to bring joy, happiness and healing to so many families. We shall never forget and forever honor our "Band of Brothers and Sisters" who have paid the ultimate sacrifice and their families will forever be our own......Snowball Express. Love you and Ooorah and Semper Fi Monsoon

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 4, 2012

more

July 4, 2012

We volunteered as a family (six family members) for the transportation group. Our experience was fantastic! Meeting the families that have given so much to our nation and then watching them bond with each other and enjoying all the activities provided from the many other gratefull Americans was more than we had ever expected to experience. It was life changing for us and have now put it on our calendar as an annual event that our family will support. Our youngest son was so inspired by the military community that he is now seeking an appointment to the USAFA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 4, 2012

more

July 4, 2012

This will be our 3rd year to volunteer at Snowball Express. We can not express what a true honor it is to be there for the families of our fallen soldiers. We can't help but shed tears with the laughter when we see the children's faces light on arrival at DFW and throughout their 4 day stay in Dallas. This organization is outstanding and we can't wait to be there again this December. Matt and Kathy Vancouver,WA

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 3, 2012

more

July 3, 2012

Having been involved with Snowball for many years, it is a privilege to be associated with the these families who we serve . To be able to give back a little glimmer of hope to those that have sacrificed so much makes me look forward to every contact with them. As a result of my involvement, my life has been enriched by the many new friends I have made.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012

more

July 3, 2012

The best cause in the world. Serving the children of our fallen US military. No greater cause. The best charity in the world. AA has donated 34 charters and pilots and flight attendants have donated their personal time to work the charters since 2007. Absolutely amazing multi-million dollar charity events in 2006, 07 and 08 that were all-volunteer. Just one paid staff member in 2009, 10 and 11.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 3, 2012

more

July 3, 2012

As a grand daughter of a Fallen Soldier I now volunteer my time to families who have paid the ultimate price for my freedom. I know first hand that the pain of losing a parent, especially as a child, is a void that stays with you always. My time with this families is humbling, heartbreaking and pure joy all rolled into one. If you want a life changing experience, become part of the SBE family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers