Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.982765
Write A Review
May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

Snowball Express is a wonderful organization that brings together the children, spouses and families of our fallen Military Heroes from all over the country for an annual, all-expense paid five day celebration. Last year, I had the honor and privilege of traveling to Dallas, Texas for this special event along with my employer, Green Beans Coffee, and volunteering in the adult lounge. I met so many amazing Moms who have lost their husbands and whose children have lost their fathers. Their strength was truly inspirational and my experience there was unforgettable.

For Mother’s Day, Green Beans Coffee and Snowball Express teamed up to honor these remarkable women by creating special Mother’s Day gift sets made up of coffee, a mug and chocolates. These gift sets were purchased anonymously by people who wanted to express their appreciation for their family’s sacrifice and wish these special Moms a Happy Mother’s Day. Gift sets were sent to Snowball Express Moms in all 50 states.

Here’s a letter from a Snowball Mom who received one of these gift sets:

What a surprise when my daughter went outside on our porch and brought this little brown box into our home. We both looked at it with quizzical looks on our face and double checked the name on the box to make sure it was for us. We eagerly opened the box and in there was such a warm surprise. My daughter took the note out and read it and said “Mom, somebody was thinking about us and they don’t even know us”… Yes, this brought a tear to my eye. Thank you for remembering, thank you for caring, thank you for bringing a warm hug and smile to our family with such a sweet gesture.
Sincerely,
Jennifer and Alyssa Germosen
Family of SSGT Scott Germosen USMC
“Operation Enduring Freedom”

Snowball Express provides such amazing support to these Moms and their children who have given so much to our nation by bringing them together for healing and bonding and letting them know that they are not forgotten and are not alone. I’m looking forward to attending the event again this year!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 6, 2013

more

February 6, 2013

Snowball Express since its inception in 2006 has had one mission, "provide hope and memories for the children of military fallen heroes". I can say unequivocally that since that first event in Orange County, CA to SBE VII Dec 2013 in Dallas, Texas, Snowball Express has not strayed from that mission.

I was the former President/Chairman of Snowball Express 2007-2009 so I know first hand the challenges any new non-profit must deal with...but regardless of those challenges, wonderful supporters in CA for three years poured their hearts out to these families and showed them that American had never forgotten. Donors found their contributions of hard cash were matched by donated goods and services worth nearly 10 times that amount!!! Truly amazing and all for the good of these children and surviving spouses.

With tears in their eyes, the CA volunteers passed the event to a group of dedicated volunteers who in traditional Texas style worked their tails off to make Snowball Express even better for the families. Since 2007 American Airlines and its employees have worked tirelessly year round to spread the word and bring more corporate support and awareness to America along with the help of hundreds of other corporations...large and small...to make the last four years in Dallas truly memorable for these families. With the addition of Gary Sinise on the Board of Directors, it is hard to imagine a stronger endorsement from a person with Gary's love of our military and country.

Some say the sign of a great non-profit is how it handles change in leadership and can it remain focus on its mission. The leaders who replaced me along with the current leadership, Buck Kern as Executive Director, and the very active and engaged Board of Director insures that donor's contributions are spent for their intended purpose....making sure these children get the happy memories they deserve when they attend the annual event and do it in a cost effective manner along with offering ever expanded "Snowflake" events around the country year round.

The testimonies from these families on the website just scratch the surface of what Snowball Express represents to these families. If you are considering donating to a military non-profit, you will be hard pressed to find one that does more good for a group that deserves this and much more for the loss of a parent while defending all of our freedoms. It has been a life-changing event to be around these families and the Snowball Express family of volunteers. Please consider getting involved if you are not already.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 23, 2013

more

January 23, 2013

What can I say besides that this is the most wonderful beyond words heartfelt filled with nothing but love and compassion place. Every year when I see all those SnowBall express volunteers I end up crying cause from the second we land to the second we leave its nothing but understanding and love. Snowball has forever changed my life every year that I go and for that Im trully thankful. No words can describe ALL the people who help and volunteer and just make it wonderful who say they can never repay us for what we have lost, this is the best way and just to know that You guys trully care and show it to us every year it... I cant even put into words. SnowBall Express goes above and beyond everything and for them Im trully thankful and grateful. I never want to leave for it seems that no matter what we will always have a shoulder to cry on when we're there from the friends Ive met to the Volunteers who will let soak there shirts with our tears to letting Us teenagers be as sill and crazy as we want to be in the teen room. There arent enough words for SnowBall But I hope Thank you is a starting point.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 15, 2013

more

January 15, 2013

There really aren't even words to express what Snowball Express means to my kids and I. We have attended every year and it just gets better. They have friends that are "just like them". Last year on the plane there my daughter said "I know we don't know everyone but it feels like we're one big family." It makes me tear up just writing that. For them to know that their sacrifice doesn't go unnoticed means so much to them. The friendships that these kids are making in the midst of it all are amazing. We are so blessed to be a part of Snowball.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 15, 2013

more

January 15, 2013

Snowball Express has been an amazing organization for my son and I. We have been attending since the first year (2006). The love, support and "family" that Snowball gives us, means the world to us. Most people can never understand how truly special we feel and how much Snowball helps us. I get tears in my eyes just thinking about how awesome our experiences have been. Looking forward to many more years to come! Thank you Snowball Express!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 15, 2013

more

January 15, 2013

This organization is amazing! the love shown to the children and family members cannot be compared to anything I've ever been to. I've been attending this event since 2007 with my son. When he decides he no longer wants to attend, I will attend by myself as a volunteer. Thank you Snowball Express!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

Last year was our family's first year for Snowball Express and it was definetly a memorable experience that my children and myself will never forget. The volunteers were especially helpful, we had a blast!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 6, 2012

more

July 6, 2012

2011 Was our first visit with the Snow Ball Express....it was overwelming in a positive way. My children had a wonderful time as well as myself. I was lost for words for the overwelming out pour of supporters and their patriotism and love for our Gold Star families. We plan to attend 2012 as well. Our hero was KIA June 4th 2009. I as a mother am in amazement of the support for our families. Snow Ball Express has shown us we wont be swepped under the rug. Thanks!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 5, 2012

more

July 5, 2012

I have volunteered with Snowball Express for 6 years and work with the Organization Gold Star Wives of America (Military Widows/Widowers) providing support, friendship, information. I have seen this great organization grow and provide a wonderful event for our Children of Fallen Heroes. They truly care and it shows by the manner of respect they show the children and spouse, guardian, who attends the event and through out the year. Building memories and lifelong friendship and support is what a Gold Star Family truly needs. SBE is one of the many organizations who provides such. I am a Vietnam Widow and working with the recent widows/widowers, Board, volunteers, Patriot Guard and so many is both heartwarming and heart wretching thus a life changer to those who have walk the shoes before 9/11. This is so important for one who did not have the support of knowing another widow for many years this opportunity that SBE provides for the children to meet other children like them and it so benefits the spouse / guardian who also builds support and friendship. As a Military Widow one of the most important things in your life is to know you are not a lone in your grief nor our the children. Thus SBE fills this space for many.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 4, 2012

more

July 4, 2012

I have volunteered for the Snowball Express event for the last four years. This is a quality organization doing an excellent service for our families who have paid a crushingly high price for our freedoms. These families deserve all we can give them. This camaraderie and celebration among those who can understand and relate to the situations they are in is crucial in that support. Quality folks giving maximum effort for these deserving folks.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the faces and gratitude of the families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

it is very gratifying to serve this organization.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers