Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
12.52703345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
April 24, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have given over a grand to what I had considered a worthy cause. Pres. Brian takes almost 700 thou. from this charity, a ludicrous amount. 2,800 cleft repairs are denied to push Brian into the enviable 1% of top takers. I was suspicious of his constant fundraising and his long standing at the helm of a charity. He should have moved on by now, so I did some digging and learned why he stayed, Smile Train is a pork train to anyone taking outrageous "compensation". I am sure Brian never left the office exhausted nor did anyone else. Why are they not part of Operation Smile????? I am a retired attorney and I shall follow through with the appropriate NY authorities. All compensation for staff at non profits should be spelled out prominently on their web site and not require an investigative journalist to seek out unconscionable gouging. Everyone opens their hearts and minds to these deserving children. Shame and more shame on profiteers!!!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have volunteer top managers from business and academia serve one year, unpaid terms and move on. No professional, non profit porkers need apply!!!!! Non profit salaries for top "executives" have become ludicrous almost without exception. The Salvation Army is almost without blemish and Jean Kroc rewarded their fine work with infrastructure bequests, not confiscatory salaries.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

#thepowerofasmile
Smile Train not only changes lives for people born with a cleft lip and palate it educates Dr.'s, Nurses, and the public on the stigma of being born with a cleft. Smile Train has created a model that gives back by empowering. I am honored to say that many of my family members
and friends give to this organization.
I myself was born with a cleft palate and enjoy seeing the SMILES that are created by such a wonderfully powerful organization!
#thepowerofasmile

Sandy Kreif

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I made a donation to Smile Train about 10 months ago. I have been bombarded with constant emails and mail requesting more donations. i took myself off of their email list but once in awhile still get an email but even worse is constant mail requests. I wrote them a letter asking them to take me off of their list and got another letter a couple of weeks later. This is a more than once a month, more like 3 times a month maybe 4 times request via mail for more donations. I wrote another letter to Smile Train asking that they take me off their list and hopefully this will work. I will never donate again to them fearing that this constant barrage will start all over again. I donated to St. Judes Children Hospital in Mephis and they are very respectful in sending me a once in awhile request for a donation. Smile Train would get a zero on the above rating if that was possible!
April 7, 2014

more

April 7, 2014

Smile Train is a charity near and dear to our hearts. They do tremendous work around the world saving lives by providing free surgeries to children and adults suffering from clefts. I was just in NYC and was able to visit the office and meet the people behind the scenes. I was impressed with everyone I met and feel like these people are dedicated to such a great cause. My family and I are very excited about continuing to fundraise for the Smile Train and hope to become even more involved in the future. I highly recommend this charity!
March 14, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 14, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I have been a contributor in to Smile Train in the past but now before I write a check to any non-profit I go to http://www.tampabay.com/charitychecker/ and look up the organization. Great Nonprofits is just one of the organizations that they report the reviews from. I share other people's feelings about the top one percent getting fatter and fatter while most of us are struggling to get by. I feel especially strong about the heads of non-profits getting obscenely high compensation. If they believe in the cause they should be content with a good but reasonable salary. Think how many children could be helped with the money they pocket.
February 24, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I've been giving at least enough for one and often 2 surgeries each year to Smile Train. I'm very disappointed that the CEO receives too generous a package. I care about the children and think the idea is incredible and worthwhile, but slick ad's and dozens of written requests upset me almost weekly in the mail. I also give to Operation Smile, which I am checking out today, before I write any more checks. If the charity checks out to my satisfaction, I won't stop donating, but it will go with a letter stating my preference for funds to truly go toward surgeries and that the executives earn a reasonable salary for their efforts, but not so much that they live in the 1% bracket. If you do charity work, we should consider our jobs part of our charitable actions.

I do believe that spending on marketing is important and so long as the amount spent brings in large contributions exceeding other methods, practical.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would more carefully limit my mailings to keep from over saturation and making donors feel angry instead of pleased at their own efforts. I would make certain that when I sold the information of a donor that I did so with care. When I get dozens of requests weekly, I tend to toss everything. A few get my attention when they are not constant mailings and in areas of concern to me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have a problem with them calling me all hours of the day and night. I have a caller ID, so I just don't answer the phone. They are very annoying. After reading the reviews, I won't donate to them anymore. I think it is so sad that they aren't using all of the money for the children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 31, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

December 31, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

All CEO's should not make more than our President. Talk about a hard job, a thankless job and a demeaning job, our U. S. President has it. Do a little research on the top 1% of our nation (which includes many of the leading CEO's, sports people, rock stars, ect. ) and you will find their investments increased by 17% where as the rest of us decreased in overall net worth in 2013. Anyone should be able to live on $400,000.00 a year don't you think? I have given faithfully to Smile Train for many years but with this new website and more information, my money goes to an organization that uses my gift for the people not the Staff.....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

decrease salaries and become more responsible with other peoples money. Use my donation for the surgeries you advertise....

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 27, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

December 27, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

i contribute to approximately 30 different non-profit organizations on a regular basis, but before i sign up i investigated the efficiency of the organization and most of all the CEO or head administrator's compensation. In many cases as with Smile Train, the CEO makes more than the president of the United States. They would have to prove to me that they have more responsibilities than the president before i waste any of my hard earned money on them. Another indication of a wasteful organization is the amount of junk mail they send out. I receive 5 to 6 letters per month. Do not waste your contribution here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

lower the overhead by relocating and hiring people that care these kids more then their pockets

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

Were solicited by mail to donate to this charity. We checked out what the board members make and this is what we found. The salary of Ms. Ma Director in 2010 was over $244,000.00 and her predecessor was over $1,500,000.00 in 2010 when he retired.

Way to much money in our estimation - do
not think children are getting enough of the pie!

This is a great chance for these young children but.....directors do not need this amount of compensation. I have been a volunteer to organizations for over 50 years - never took a dime!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Lower the directors and boards salary.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers