Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
12.55263345
Write A Review
April 7, 2014

more

April 7, 2014

I raised over $6,000.00 for the Smile Train, and well over 30 plus donors to this awesome organziation. I did this fundraising effort in conjunction with my Ironman that I completed in Los Cabos Mexico on March 30, 2014. The money I raised will directly impact 24 children who will receive free surgery to fix thier cleft palet. That is 24 lives that are positively changed!!

This is an oranization that I am very passionate about, and how such a small amount of money can go such a long way. I am so happy that I was able to tie The Smile Train in directly with a huge event in my life. I am so excited about raising thousands of dollars more fro the Smile Train.

Please keep your donations comin to The Smile Train

Kelli M. Trudel
March 14, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

more

March 14, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

I have been a contributor in to Smile Train in the past but now before I write a check to any non-profit I go to http://www.tampabay.com/charitychecker/ and look up the organization. Great Nonprofits is just one of the organizations that they report the reviews from. I share other people's feelings about the top one percent getting fatter and fatter while most of us are struggling to get by. I feel especially strong about the heads of non-profits getting obscenely high compensation. If they believe in the cause they should be content with a good but reasonable salary. Think how many children could be helped with the money they pocket.
February 24, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

I've been giving at least enough for one and often 2 surgeries each year to Smile Train. I'm very disappointed that the CEO receives too generous a package. I care about the children and think the idea is incredible and worthwhile, but slick ad's and dozens of written requests upset me almost weekly in the mail. I also give to Operation Smile, which I am checking out today, before I write any more checks. If the charity checks out to my satisfaction, I won't stop donating, but it will go with a letter stating my preference for funds to truly go toward surgeries and that the executives earn a reasonable salary for their efforts, but not so much that they live in the 1% bracket. If you do charity work, we should consider our jobs part of our charitable actions.

I do believe that spending on marketing is important and so long as the amount spent brings in large contributions exceeding other methods, practical.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would more carefully limit my mailings to keep from over saturation and making donors feel angry instead of pleased at their own efforts. I would make certain that when I sold the information of a donor that I did so with care. When I get dozens of requests weekly, I tend to toss everything. A few get my attention when they are not constant mailings and in areas of concern to me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 12, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 12, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have a problem with them calling me all hours of the day and night. I have a caller ID, so I just don't answer the phone. They are very annoying. After reading the reviews, I won't donate to them anymore. I think it is so sad that they aren't using all of the money for the children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 31, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

December 31, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

All CEO's should not make more than our President. Talk about a hard job, a thankless job and a demeaning job, our U. S. President has it. Do a little research on the top 1% of our nation (which includes many of the leading CEO's, sports people, rock stars, ect. ) and you will find their investments increased by 17% where as the rest of us decreased in overall net worth in 2013. Anyone should be able to live on $400,000.00 a year don't you think? I have given faithfully to Smile Train for many years but with this new website and more information, my money goes to an organization that uses my gift for the people not the Staff.....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

decrease salaries and become more responsible with other peoples money. Use my donation for the surgeries you advertise....

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 27, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more

December 27, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

i contribute to approximately 30 different non-profit organizations on a regular basis, but before i sign up i investigated the efficiency of the organization and most of all the CEO or head administrator's compensation. In many cases as with Smile Train, the CEO makes more than the president of the United States. They would have to prove to me that they have more responsibilities than the president before i waste any of my hard earned money on them. Another indication of a wasteful organization is the amount of junk mail they send out. I receive 5 to 6 letters per month. Do not waste your contribution here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

lower the overhead by relocating and hiring people that care these kids more then their pockets

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

more

December 19, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

I am very disappointed in this organization. I understand that children have this and it can be pretty bad as my son was born with cleft lip and palate but I called to do the donation to give back to what I have paid so much in medical for and not just medical but it is all around for them with dental and all. I called and they told me that they don't make any contributions within the United States to the families that really need the help here. As when my son had his. We are still paying some of the medical bills for it and will until after he turns 18. He has had right now two surgeries and is turning around for a possible third reconstruction. It amazes me that we have so many children that need this in the states to know that they are not and will not even try to help with the surgeries here. I had these specific questions before I even would consider donating and was very disappointed. There is so much more that can be done here to help fellow Americans as well. I am disappointed that they are taking money from the all of us to send overseas to help children there when children as my son could have used the help for it as well. Very disappointed with this charity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring it also to the United States and help all those in need not just the children overseas. Expand the helping

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

Were solicited by mail to donate to this charity. We checked out what the board members make and this is what we found. The salary of Ms. Ma Director in 2010 was over $244,000.00 and her predecessor was over $1,500,000.00 in 2010 when he retired.

Way to much money in our estimation - do
not think children are getting enough of the pie!

This is a great chance for these young children but.....directors do not need this amount of compensation. I have been a volunteer to organizations for over 50 years - never took a dime!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Lower the directors and boards salary.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 3, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 3, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

I asked my name to be removed from the SmileTrain mailing list when it came to my attention that the SmileTrain pays its director an excessive salary, that it provides itself with lavish New York offices, and that a disproportionate amount of its income goes for marketing rather than for the good purpose it purports to serve. I want nothing further to do with an organization that exploits disfigured children for its own gain.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 28, 2013
44 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
44 people found this review helpful

Many years ago this was a good organization founded by a plastic surgeon who saw a need for his skill set and gave years of his life to give impoverished disfigured children a fighting chance at a normal life. THAT HAS NOT BEEN THE CASE FOR MANY YEARS. I don't believe anyone would fund what this "charity" has become. If you have any doubts about where their priorities are, take a look at their very fancy NYC offices, their payroll, the very limited information regarding the way they operate today, as well as the complaints about the inadaquate medical practices they have been accused of.

I took the time to write an email asking to be removed from all of their lists as I have been receiving up to three separate solicitations in any given week and if for no other reason feel the waste of paper and postage is a sin. No response from anyone in the organization, but now they are soliciting on every web page I visit that accepts advertising. This to me, borders on criminal and certainly is not how I want to see money I give to any charity used.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Turn the whole thing over to Doctors without Boarders and let them determine medical needs and procedures

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers