Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.833335
Write A Review
October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I was a Smart-Girl when I was in middle school, and then a guide in high school, and now a Masters student seeking a degree in public health because I want to bring programming like this to all girls. My experience as a Smart-Girl participant is almost wholly responsible for my successful navigation of what can be an impossible time of life, my confidence in making the decisions that were right for me, and the strength to support others and ask for help when I needed it. I think that this program's structure and its thoughtful curriculum gives young women a safe space to ask the questions that plague all of us growing up, and gives them the tools to answer those questions healthily and for themselves.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I love this program! I went through it twice as a camper and it was so amazing that I returned to volunteer as a junior guide. Smart-Girl really helped me and the girls I was with talk candidly about real issues that girls face and get real advice from young women. I feel so fortunate that I got to help other girls the way this program helped me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Smart-Girl is amazing. I worked for the program initially as a high school group leader and have stayed involved as a volunteer ever since. The organization's fundamental commitment to continued improved has allowed it to grow and thrive and to meet the ever changing needs of girls caught between childhood and adolescence.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Smart Girls is a fantastic program for helping young girls build self esteem and leadership skills. My daughter loved participating in the activities. She learned a lot of new skills and different ways to approach challenges. As both a mom and volunteer, I highly recommend this program!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

One of my dearest friends works for Smart-Girl, and her stories about working with the young girls in the program are incredible. She has so much enthusiasm for the programs and the benefits they provide the young girls involved--it's almost impossible not to get equally excited! I am inspired by how Smart-Girl works to create meaningful, positive relationships between young girls while simultaneously supporting the emotional, mental, and social well-being of each individual girl. The impact of teaching our young people about positive relationships, healthy self-esteem, and respect for one another certainly makes Smart-Girl's efforts reach far beyond the girls they serve and well into the communities we all live in. I could write an entire page (single spaced!) on why I believe in the Smart-Gril program!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

My daughter attended a Smart Girl summer camp. She LOVED it! The counselors were wonderful. She benefitted so much from the activities on self-confidence. She's just started middle school, which can be a tough transition. She's doing extremely well - making friends, excelling in her school work, getting involved in school activities. Smart Girl helped to get her on the right path.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think they're doing a terrific job just as they are.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

Great program for girls!! This helped my daughter boost her self-esteem and feel comfortable with other smart girls and learn that it's OK to be beautiful AND smart:)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enroll more girls:)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

Our daughter, who was going into 6th grade, was part of this past summer's Smart Girl camp. We don't do too many camps for our children because we often find them over-priced and don't deliver quite the experience they promise. After a week of Smart Girl camp, our daughter was so thrilled with her experience. The camp far exceeded our expectations and we can't wait for her to participate again. We have already put some of the tools that she learned about coping with peers in class, boy/girl middle school maturity differences, and self image tools to the test after just two weeks in middle school. This camp was priced very fairly and I only wish that every girl in her sixth grade class had attended the camp. It was a great week and the women that run it were full of personality and knowledge.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

My daughter did NOT want to go to this camp. She doesn't make friends easily and feels very self conscious in groups. By the end of the first day, she told me three friends she had made and three things she really likes about herself. The week just got better from there. By the graduation ceremony, she was already begging to come back next year, and could see herself as a counselor with the group when she's older.

I've been dreading her middle school experience for years -- apparently for naught. She is thriving, making friends and choosing friends who make her feel better, not just those who fit an image she thought she wanted. I credit SMART-Girl with that! See you next year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer the program year round.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013

more

August 26, 2013

My daughter attended Smart-Girl summer camp before she started middle school. Despite her challenges with social integration, Smart-Girl gave her great skills that really prepared her for the tough years ahead of her. Middle school was a success for her. Thanks Smart-Girl!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers